当纪念安息日,守为圣日。 六日要劳碌做你一切的工(出埃及记20:8-11)

圣经注释 / 工作神学项目出品

安息日涉及的问题很复杂,不仅在出埃及记和旧约中如此,在基督教神学和实践中也同样如此。诫命的第一部分要求每七天中的一天停止工作。出埃及记中其他提到安息日的地方还有第16章(关于收集吗哪),出埃及记23:10-12(每七年一个安息年以及每周休息的目的),出埃及记31:12-17(违反的惩罚),以及出埃及记34:21和出埃及记35:1-3。在古代世界中,只有以色列人守安息日。一方面,这对以色列人来说是一个无以伦比的礼物。古代世界没有别的民族享有七天中休息一天的特权。另一方面,它要求对神的供给有非常的信心;因为人们要在六日中完成种庄稼,收获,提水,洗衣服等工作,依靠神的造物谋生。当以色列人一周休息一天时,周围的国家会持续地锻造利剑,羽箭,训练士兵。以色列必须信靠神,不让这一天的休息成为经济和军事上的大灾祸。

基督徒把休息的那一天改变为主日(礼拜日,基督复活的那一日),但安息日的精髓不是从一周中选出某个特殊的日子(罗14:5-6)。支持安息日的两极实际上是工作休息的平衡。工作和休息都包含在第四条诫命中。六天的工作和一天的休息一样都是诫命的一部分。虽然很多基督徒都存在让工作侵犯安息日的危险,但也有其他人面临相反的危险,他们逃避工作并且想要过闲散浪费时间的生活。这甚至比忽视安息日更差,因为“人若不看顾亲属,就是背了真道,比不信的人还不好,不看顾自己家里的人,更是如此”(提前5:8)。我们需要的是工作和休息的适当节奏,二者加在一起对我们自己、家庭、工人和客人都是好的。这个节奏可以也可以不包括在周日(或周六)的、连续24小时的休息。工作和休息的比例可以根据临时的需要来调整(当今的应用等同于在安息日把牛从井中救出来,参见路加福音14:5),或根据季节来改变休息时间。今天我们在信靠神上也面临相同的问题。如果我们听从神的诫命,按照神规定的周期来工作和休息,那我们在当今的经济中能够保持竞争力吗?要保住一份工作(或者两份或者三份工作),还要清洁家里,准备饮食,割草坪,洗车,付账单,完成作业,买衣服,难道不需要七天才够吗?或者我们可以信靠神的供应,每七天就休息一天?我们可以花时间去敬拜神、祷告以及和他人聚在一起学习和互相鼓励吗?如果我们这样做,我们总体上会更多产还是减产呢?第四条诫命没有解释神如何可以让我们能够完成这一切。它只是简单的告诉我们七天中要休息一天。

如果过量工作是我们的主要危险,我们需要找到一个方法来遵守第四条诫命而不建立一个新的假律法来区分属灵(在主日敬拜)和属世(从周一到周六工作)。如果逃避工作是我们的危险,我们需要学习如何把工作当做服侍神和周围的人的方式,并在工作中找到喜乐和意义(弗4:28)。

Remember the Sabbath Day and Keep It Holy. Six Days You Shall Labor (Exodus 20:8-11)

Bible Commentary / Produced by TOW Project

The issue of the Sabbath is complex, not only in the book of Exodus and the Old Testament, but also in Christian theology and practice. The first part of the command calls for ceasing labor one day in seven. The other references in Exodus to the Sabbath are in chapter 16 (about gathering manna), Exodus 23:10-12 (the seventh year and the goal of weekly rest), Exodus 31:12-17 (penalty for violation), Exodus 34:21, and Exodus 35:1-3. In the context of the ancient world, the Sabbath was unique to Israel. On the one hand, this was an incomparable gift to the people of Israel. No other ancient people had the privilege of resting one day in seven. On the other hand, it required an extraordinary trust in God’s provision. Six days of work had to be enough to plant crops, gather the harvest, carry water, spin cloth, and draw sustenance from creation. While Israel rested one day every week, the encircling nations continued to forge swords, feather arrows, and train soldiers. Israel had to trust God not to let a day of rest lead to economic and military catastrophe.

Making time off predictable and required

Read more here about a new study regarding rhythms of rest and work done at the Boston Consulting Group by two professors from Harvard Business School. It showed that when the assumption that everyone needs to be always available was collectively challenged, not only could individuals take time off, but their work actually benefited. (Harvard Business Review may show an ad and require registration in order to view the article.) Mark Roberts also discusses this topic in his Life for Leaders devotional "Won't Keeping the Sabbath Make Me Less Productive?"

We face the same issue of trust in God’s provision today. If we heed God’s commandment to observe God’s own cycle of work and rest, will we be able to compete in the modern economy? Does it take seven days of work to hold a job (or two or three jobs), clean the house, prepare the meals, mow the lawn, wash the car, pay the bills, finish the school work, and shop for the clothes, or can we trust God to provide for us even if we take a day off during the course of every week? Can we take time to worship God, to pray and to gather with others for study and encouragement, and, if we do, will it make us more or less productive overall? The fourth commandment does not explain how God will make it all work out for us. It simply tells us to rest one day every seven.

Christians have translated the day of rest to the Lord’s Day (Sunday, the day of Christ’s resurrection), but the essence of the Sabbath is not choosing one particular day of the week over another (Rom. 14:5-6). The polarity that actually undergirds the Sabbath is work and rest. Both work and rest are included in the fourth commandment. The six days of work are as much a part of the commandment as the one day of rest. Although many Christians are in danger of allowing work to squeeze the time set aside for rest, others are in danger of the opposite, of shirking work and trying to live a life of leisure and dissipation. This is even worse than neglecting the Sabbath, for “whoever does not provide for relatives, and especially for family members, has denied the faith and is worse than an unbeliever” (1 Tim. 5:8).  What we need is a proper rhythm of work and rest, which together are good for us, our family, workers, and guests. The rhythm may or may not include twenty-four continuous hours of rest falling on Sunday (or Saturday). The proportions may change due to temporary necessities (the modern equivalent of pulling an ox out of the well on the Sabbath, see Luke 14:5) or the changing needs of the seasons of life.

If overwork is our main danger, we need to find a way to honor the fourth commandment without instituting a false, new legalism pitting the spiritual (worship on Sunday worship) against the secular (work on Monday through Saturday). If avoiding work is our danger, we need to learn how to find joy and meaning in working as a service to God and our neighbors (Eph. 4:28). 



    Our free online resources depend on your support! For a limited time, all donations will be matched dollar-for-dollar, up to $100,000. Don't miss this opportunity to help Christians connect the Bible to everyday work.

    Donate