Andy Roddick

Audio / Produced by The High Calling


In a second set during the Rome Masters clay court tennis tournament, Andy Roddick led 5-3. He had triple match point when Fernando Verdasco appeared to hit a double fault. The line judge called the ball out. But Roddick declared, "No, the ball was in."

Roddick could have accepted the official's decision and won the game. Instead, he insisted on a correct call. It cost him the match as Verdasco rallied for the victory.

Later Roddick said, "I didn't think it was anything extraordinary. The umpire would have done the same thing if he came down and looked. I just saved him the trip."

This is Howard Butt, Jr., of Laity Lodge. A true sportsman would rather live with himself than the trophy he didn't earn—in the high calling of our daily work.

He has showed you, O man, what is good. And what does the LORD require of you? To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God.

(Mic. 6:8)