在被掳期间的信心与工作 —— 那鸿书、哈巴谷书、西番雅书

圣经注释 / 工作神学项目出品

那鸿、哈巴谷和西番雅活跃的时候,正是南国开始开始迅速走向衰败的那段时间。犹大内无凝聚力,外受强敌的压迫,而巴比伦帝国却发展迅猛,结果,犹大成了巴比伦的藩属国。不久,犹大国反抗巴比伦人,这却是不明智之举。结果,巴比伦人大怒,于主前587年大举入侵犹大,犹大亡。犹大百姓中的精英被掳到巴比伦帝国的中心(王下24 – 25)。以色列的百姓在异国他乡没有关键的宗教系统、没有圣殿、没有祭司、也没有土地,在这种处境下如何向上帝忠心,成了他们不得不面对的问题。我们已经看到,此前的六卷小先知书讲的是百姓犯罪的结果,若如此,这三卷书——那鸿书、哈巴谷书和西番雅书就是在讨论犯罪所带来的惩罚。

 

上帝惩罚的手在行动(拿鸿书1:1-12;哈巴谷书3:1-19;西番雅书1:1-13)

回到目录 回到目录

那鸿书的主要贡献就在于,它清楚陈明了以色列的政治灾难和经济灾难是上帝对以色列的惩罚或管教。上帝宣告说:“我使你受苦”(那鸿书1:12)。哈巴谷和西番雅宣告说,上帝惩罚的关键部分是减少百姓挣得足够养生财富的能力。

无花果树不发旺,葡萄树不结果,橄榄树也不效力,田地不出粮食,圈中绝了羊,棚内也没有牛。(哈巴谷书3:17)

商民都灭亡了!凡搬运银子的都被剪除。(西番雅书1:11)

这不仅见于经济上的灾难,也见与环境问题(见哈该书的条目下的:工作,敬拜与环境)。

我们现今的政治、经济和自然灾难是上帝的惩罚吗?有人宣告说,某些具体的灾难是上帝震怒的征象,而且这样说的人还不少。2011年,日本发生了一次地震和海啸,随后东京市长[1]和微软全国有线广播电视公司的一位新闻节目主持人都把这场灾难说成是来自上天的惩罚。然而,我们若不在以色列十二位先知或其他先知之列,就应该小心翼翼,不要轻易宣告说在现今世界的重要事件中有上帝的震怒。莫非上帝把海啸的原因启示给这些时事评论员了吗?还是时事评论员凭自己得出的结论?莫非他像古时在以色列对先知所做的那样,事先很多年就把自己的目的启示给很多人了吗?或者只是事后来临到一两个人那里?现今那些宣告上帝惩罚的人是像古代以色列的耶利米、或十二位小先知或其他先知一样,和受苦之人一道受过多年的苦才被打磨成先知的吗?

 

Brad Hirshfield, “Where is God in Suffering?” Washington Post, 16 March 2011.

与拜偶像相关的工作(哈巴谷书2:1-20;西番雅书1:14-18)

回到目录 回到目录

惩罚是百姓自己造成的。百姓对上帝毫无忠心,蝇营狗苟,竟把石块、木材和金属这样上好的材料做成偶像。无论制作材料多么昂贵,也无论制作出的作品多么精美,制造偶像的工作没有价值。

工匠一旦把偶像制作出来,那偶像还有什么价值呢?用来占卜的工具,还是传讲谎言的师傅?工匠相信他手所造的,但这产品只不过是不能说话的偶像而已!(哈巴谷书2:18)

就像西番雅所说的那样:“他们的金银不能救他们”(番1:18)。

向上帝忠心不是做表面文章,不是在工作时向上帝发出赞美的声音就了事;而是在工作中把上帝看为优先的事情。哈巴谷提醒我们说:“惟耶和华在他的圣殿中;全地的人都当在他面前肃静静默!”(哈2:20)。这个静默不只是遵循宗教仪轨而已,而是让我们破碎的追求、恐惧、动机等等全然安静下来,乃至最重要的圣约,成为我们的优先。想想如今那些在银行和金融业务中榨取钱财的人。

“你们大祸临头了!你们吞没别人的财产,以贷款取高利自肥,要到什么时候才肯罢休呢?那些向你们借债的人,会在你们意想不到的时候突然起来反抗。这样,你们就成为他们的俘虏了。(哈2:6-7)

在不动产行业中为自己积攒不义之财的人同样也在为自己挖陷阱,这样的现象似乎历世历代都有。

“为本家积蓄不义之财、在高处搭窝、指望免灾的有祸了!你图谋剪除多国的民,犯了罪,使你的家蒙羞,自害己命。墙里的石头必呼叫;房内的栋梁必应声。(哈2:9-11)

那些盘剥弱者的人必为自己招致审判。

“给人酒喝、又加上毒物、使他喝醉、好看见他下体的有祸了!你满受羞辱,不得荣耀。你也喝吧,显出是未受割礼的(或译作:跌跌撞撞)!耶和华右手的杯必传到你那里;你的荣耀就变为大大的羞辱。”(哈2:15-16)

压迫或利用别人的工作,至终会给自己带来没落。

如今我们不会用贵重材料雕琢偶像,然后在偶像前下拜。但我们若想像我们有能力拯救我们自己,那工作也可能成为偶像。因为拜偶像的实质是“制造者倚靠他自己做出来的神像”(哈2:18),而不是倚靠那创造我们、带领我们并赐我们工作能力的上帝。我们若以为离了我们的智慧、才能和领导力,我们的工作组、公司、组织或国家就注定灭亡,并因此而想要获得权力,那我们的雄心就是一种偶像崇拜。对比之下,若我们想要获得权力和影响力,是为了吸引别人来到服事的网络中,每个人在其中都把上帝的恩赐带给世人,那么这样的雄心就是一种忠心。我们成功了,就洋洋自得,我们就是在拜偶像。我们成功了,就向上帝感恩,我们就是在敬拜上帝。我们失败了,就绝望,我们就是感觉到偶像打破之后的空洞。我们失败了,就坚韧,那么我们就是在经历上帝拯救的大能。

在劳苦中忠心(哈巴谷书2:1;西番雅书2:1-4)

回到目录 回到目录

百姓在异邦时还有另一种工作动力。尽管那鸿、哈巴谷和西番雅强调惩罚,百姓在这段期间也开始再次学习如何忠心工作,服侍上帝。这个主题在工作神学(TOW)项目的文章中得到完全的探索,比如《耶利米书和耶利米哀歌与工作 、《但以理书和工作》等文中,但也在《十二小先知书》中有所暗示。这个主题的关键在于,就算是在被掳异邦的恶劣处境中,仍然有可能向上帝忠心。哈巴谷站在望楼上观看百姓被屠杀的惨象,他此时无疑更想呆在别处。但他仍决定留在自己的岗位上,等候上帝对他说话(哈2:1)。留在岗位上固然可贵,但比这更进一步也是可能的。我们也可以找到一种门路,作公义谦卑之人

世上遵守耶和华典章的谦卑人哪,你们都当寻求耶和华!当寻求公义谦卑,或者在耶和华发怒的日子可以隐藏起来。(西番雅书2:3)

世上没有理想的工作场所。有些地方对于上帝的百姓极具挑战,在诸多方面都不合乎原则,还有些地方看似平常,却也有瑕疵。哪怕是在艰难的工作场所,我们仍然能够在为人和工作的质量上作上帝旨意的忠心见证人。哈巴谷提醒我们说,无论我们的工作多么没有果效,上帝仍在工作中与我们同在,他赐我们喜乐,就是最恶劣的工作环境都丝毫影响不了那种喜乐。

虽然无花果树不发旺,葡萄树不结果,橄榄树也不效力,田地不出粮食,圈中绝了羊,棚内也没有牛;然而,我要因耶和华欢欣,因救我的上帝喜乐。主耶和华是我的力量;他使我的脚快如母鹿的蹄,又使我稳行在高处。(哈巴谷书3:17-19)

或者如泰里•巴凌格所演绎的那样:

虽然合同结束了,我也没有工作;虽然没人需要我的技能,也没有人出版我的作品。虽然积蓄花完了,退休金也不够生活所需;然而,我要因耶和华欢欣,因救我的上帝喜乐。[1]

正如19节所暗示的那样,就是在艰难的处境中,我们也有可能做好工作,因为“主耶和华是我的力量。”向上帝忠心并不只是忍受艰难,而是竭尽我们所能把最坏的处境变好。

Cited in Gordon Preece and Simon Carey Holt, eds., The Bible and the Business of Life (Adelaide: ATF, 2004), 215.

Faith and Work During the Exile—Nahum, Habakkuk, Zephaniah

Bible Commentary / Produced by TOW Project

Nahum, Habakkuk and Zephaniah were active during the period when the southern kingdom began a rapid decline. Internal incoherence and external pressure from the burgeoning Babylonian empire resulted in Judah becoming a vassal state to Babylon. Shortly afterwards, an ill-advised rebellion brought down the wrath of the Babylonians in 587 BC, leading to the collapse of the state of Judah and the deportation of the elites to the centre of the Babylonian empire (2 Kings 24-25). In exile, the people of Israel had to work out how to be faithful while separated from their key religious institutions, the temple, the priesthood, even the land. If, as we have seen, the first six books are about the effect of the people’s sin, these three—Nahum, Habakkuk and Zephaniah—are about the resultant punishment during this period.

God’s Punishing Hand at Work (Nahum 1:1-12; Habakkuk 3:1-19; Zephaniah 1:1-13)

Back to Table of Contents

Nahum’s chief contribution is to make it clear that the political and economic disaster is God’s punishment or disciplining of Israel. “I have afflicted you,” God declares (Nahum 1:12). Habakkuk and Zephaniah declare that an essential part of God’s punishment is that the people’s ability to make an adequate living is diminished.

The fig tree does not blossom, and no fruit is on the vines; though the produce of the olive fails and the fields yield no food; though the flock is cut off from the fold and there is no herd in the stalls. (Habakkuk 3:17)

All the traders have perished; all who weigh out silver are cut off. (Zephaniah 1:11)

This is seen not only in economic woes, but also in environmental problems (see below under Haggai: Work, Worship and the Environment).

Are contemporary political, economic, and natural disasters punishments from God? There is no shortage of people willing to declare that particular disasters are signs of God’s wrath. The 2011 earthquake and tsunami in Japan were attributed to divine punishment by both the Governor of Tokyo[1]and the host of an MSNBC television news show. But unless we have joined the ranks of the Twelve or the other prophets of Israel, we should be very reluctant to declare God’s wrath in the events of the world. Did God himself reveal the reasons for the tsunami to these commentators, or did they draw conclusions on their own? Did he reveal his intent to a substantial number of people, well in advance, over many years, as he did with the prophets of Israel, or did it come to one or two people the day after? Were the modern-day declarers of God’s punishment forged as prophets by years of suffering alongside those afflicted, as Jeremiah, the Twelve and the other prophets of ancient Israel?

Brad Hirshfield, “Where is God in Suffering?” Washington Post, 16 March 2011.

Idolatrous Work (Habakkuk 2:1-20; Zephaniah 1:14-18)

Back to Table of Contents

The punishment is of the people’s own making. The people have been working faithlessly, turning good materials of stone, wood and metal into idols. Work that creates idols has no value, no matter how expensive the materials or well-crafted the results are.

What use is an idol once its maker has shaped it—a cast image, a teacher of lies? For its maker trusts in what has been made, though the product is only an idol that cannot speak! (Habakkuk 2:18)

As Zephaniah puts it, “neither their silver nor their gold will be able to deliver them” (Zeph. 1:18).

Faithfulness is not a superficial matter of uttering praises to God while we work. It is the act of putting God’s priorities first in our work. Habakkuk reminds that “the Lord is in his holy temple; let all the earth keep silence before him!” (Hab. 2:20). This silence is not merely a religious observation, but a silencing of our own broken ambitions, fears, and motivations, so that the priorities of God’s covenant can become our priorities. Consider what awaits those who defraud others in banking and finance.

“Alas for you who heap up what is not your own!” How long will you load yourselves with goods taken in pledge? Will not your own creditors suddenly rise, and those who make you tremble wake up? Then you will be booty for them. (Hab. 2:6–7)

Those who accumulate their ill-gotten gain in real estate—a phenomenon that seems constant throughout all the ages—are similarly traps for themselves.

“Alas for you who get evil gain for your houses, setting your nest on high to be safe from the reach of harm!” You have devised shame for your house by cutting off many peoples; you have forfeited your life. The very stones will cry out from the wall, and the plaster will respond from the woodwork. (Hab. 2:9–11)

Those who exploit others’ vulnerabilities also bring judgment on themselves.

“Alas for you who make your neighbors drink, pouring out your wrath until they are drunk, in order to gaze on their nakedness!” You will be sated with contempt instead of glory. Drink, you yourself, and stagger! The cup in the Lord’s right hand will come around to you, and shame will come upon your glory. (Hab. 2:15–16)

Work that oppresses or takes advantage of others ultimately brings about its own downfall.

Today we may not be literally crafting idols of precious materials before which we bow down. But work also may be idolatrous if we imagine that we are capable of producing our own salvation. For the essence of idolatry is that “its maker trusts in his own handiwork” (Hab. 2:18, NASB, cf. NRSV above), rather than trusting in the God by whose guidance and power we are created to work. If we are ambitious for power and influence because we think without our wisdom, skill and leadership, or work group, company, organization, or nation is doomed, then our ambition is a form of idolatry. In contrast, if we are ambitious for power and influence so that we can draw others into a network of service in which everyone brings forth God’s gifts for the world, then our ambition is a form of faithfulness. If our response to success is self-congratulation, we are practicing idolatry. If our response is thankfulness, then we are worshiping God. If our reaction to failure is despair, then we are feeling the hollowness of a broken idol, but if our reaction is perseverance, then we are experiencing the saving power of God.

Faithfulness in the Midst of Toil (Habakkuk 2:1; Zephaniah 2:1-4)

Back to Table of Contents

There is another dynamic at work in the exile. Notwithstanding the emphasis of Nahum, Habakkuk and Zephaniah on punishment, people also begin to re-learn how to work in faithful service to God during this period. This is fully explored in Theology of Work Project articles such as Jeremiah & Lamentations and Work and Daniel and Work, but is also hinted at here in the Book of the Twelve. The key point of this is that even in the wretched circumstances of the exile, it is still possible to be faithful. As he watched the carnage around him, no doubt wishing he could be somewhere else, Habakkuk determined to stay at his post and listen for the Word of God there (Hab. 2:1). But more is possible than simply staying at one’s post, valuable as that may be. We may also find a way to be righteous and humble.

Seek the Lord, all you humble of the land, who do his commands; seek righteousness, seek humility; perhaps you may be hidden on the day of the Lord’s wrath. (Zephaniah 2:3)

There are no ideal places of work. Some are deeply challenging to people of God, compromised in all sorts of ways, while others are flawed in more mundane ways. But even in difficult work places, we may still be faithful witnesses to God’s purposes, both in the quality of our presence and the quality of our work. Habakkuk reminds us that no matter how fruitless our work seems, God is present with us in our work, giving us a joy that even the worst conditions of labour cannot completely overcome.

Though the fig tree does not blossom, and no fruit is on the vines;
though the produce of the olive fails and the fields yield no food;
though the flock is cut off from the fold and there is no herd in the stalls,
yet I will rejoice in the Lord; I will exult in the God of my salvation.
God, the Lord, is my strength; he makes my feet like the feet of a deer,
and makes me tread upon the heights. (Habakkuk 3:17–19)

Or, as the paraphrase by Terry Barringer puts it,

Though the contract finishes, And there is no work to be had;
Though there is no demand for my skills, And no one publishes my work.
Though the savings run out, And the pension is not enough to live on;
Yet will I rejoice in the Lord, I will rejoice in God my Saviour.[1]

As verse 19 suggests, good work is possible even in the midst of difficult circumstances, for “the Lord is my strength.” Faithfulness is not only a matter of enduring hardship, but of making even the worst situation better in whatever ways we can.

Cited in Gordon Preece and Simon Carey Holt, eds., The Bible and the Business of Life (Adelaide: ATF, 2004), 215.