被掳之前的信仰与工作——何西阿书、阿摩司书、俄巴底亚书、约珥书、弥迦书

圣经注释 / 工作神学项目出品

何西阿、阿摩司、弥迦、俄巴底亚和约珥在主前八世纪时颇为活跃,那时,以色列发展很好,经济却在滑坡。权力和财富逐渐集中在上层人士的手中,而处于劣势的群体则逐年增大。为了满足逐步增长的城里人的食物需求,在乡村也明显出现了增加经济作物耕种的趋势。它取代了自给自足的耕种模式,遂也降低了那种耕种模式所固有的风险承担能力,形成了不稳定因素。[1] 农区的生计极易受到年产量起伏的影响,相应的,城里人也就在粮食供应方面不知如何是好了(阿摩司书4:6 – 9)。 在这个阶段,等到先知开始说话时,大兴土木、开疆扩土的荣耀岁月也就成了昔日黄花了。有人想要急切抓住权力和逐渐缩水的财富不放,贫富间的差距拉大。上述情况为有权有钱的人的腐败预备了土壤。于是,这个阶段的先知对于工作就有颇多讨论。

See the analysis of M.L. Chaney, ‘Bitter Bounty: The Dynamics of Political Economy Critiqued by the Eighth-Century Prophets,’ in The Bible and Liberation: Political and Social Hermeneutics (rev. ed.; eds. N.K. Gottwald and R.A. Horsley; Maryknoll: Orbis, 1993), 250-63.

上帝要求百姓改变(何西阿书 1:1-9, 弥迦书 2:1-5)

回到目录 回到目录

上帝把以色列的衰败归咎于所有的百姓。他们离弃了上帝的圣约,既切断了他们与上帝的联系,也打破了上帝律法所定规的公正的社会结构,直接导致了腐败和经济滑坡。先知经常用“行淫”这个词来描述以色列违反圣约(比如耶利米书3:2,以西结书23:7)。为了把这种情形戏剧化,上帝按这个隐喻的字面意思吩咐先知何西阿,“你去娶淫妇为妻,也收那从淫乱所生的儿女;因为这地大行淫乱,离弃耶和华”(何西阿书1:2)。何西阿遵从了上帝的吩咐,娶了一位符合要求的、名叫歌篾的女人为妻。何西阿和她生了三个孩子(何西阿书1:3)。和一位“淫妇”一起组成家庭,并且还养育了三个孩子,那该是种什么样的生活啊?我们只能想象了。

先知使用了狎妓和淫乱这样的意象,可上帝却在指斥以色列在经济和社会诸领域腐败了,而不是在性方面犯了淫乱。

祸哉,那些在床上图谋罪孽、造作奸诈!天一发亮,因有能力就行出来了。他们贪图田地就占据,贪图房屋便夺取;他们欺压人,霸占房屋和产业。(弥迦书2:1-2)

在这种背景下,何西阿的家庭状况就给当今那些在堕落或不完美的工作场所工作的人提供了一个引人注目的实例。上帝刻意把何西阿放在那样一个堕落、艰难的家庭处境里。如今,有人在堕落、艰难的工作场所中工作,是否也是上帝刻意安排的呢?我们或可找一份安逸的工作,雇主有好名声,职业也颇体面,焉知我们在道德低下的地方工作就不会为上帝的国做得更多呢?你若憎恨堕落,你在哪里工作才能在与它的争战中成就得更多呢?是在有声望的律师事务所里作律师吗?亦或是在由黑手党支配的城市里作建筑监理?这个问题不好回答,然而上帝对何西阿的呼召让我们看到:在上帝眼里,给世界带来改变要比洁身自爱更重要。正如迪特里希•朋霍费尔在纳粹统治德国的时代所说的那样:“负责之人最终要问的问题,不是如何在一个事件中像英雄一样独善其身,而是将来一代的人要如何生活。”[1]

Dietrich Bonhoeffer, Letters and Papers from Prison, Updated. (Touchstone, 1997), 7.

上帝使改变成为可能(何西阿14:1-9,阿摩斯9:11-15,弥迦书4:1-5,俄巴底亚21)

回到目录 回到目录

要求改变的这一位上帝,也使改变成为可能。“我使被掳之民归回的时候,必有为你所命定的收场。我想医治以色列的时候……”(何西阿6:11–7:1)。这十二位先知都有着一种基本的乐观主义,他们坚信,上帝在积极主动地改变世界,让它更好。邪恶之人看似得胜,掌管万事的终是上帝,“国度就归耶和华了”(俄巴底亚书21)。百姓为他们自己招致了这样的灾难,可上帝却动工,要恢复他从一开始就打算赐给他们的生命和工作的福分。“他有恩典,有怜悯,不轻易发怒,有丰盛的慈爱”(约珥书2:13)。约珥书、何西阿书以及阿摩司书在行将结束时的启示(何14;摩9:11-15)都是以经济上的示例,来说明这一点。

禾场必满了麦子;酒醡与油醡必有新酒和油盈溢。……你们必多吃而得饱足就赞美为你们行奇妙事之耶和华你们上帝的名。我的百姓必永远不至羞愧。(约珥书2:24,26)

【以色列】必再住我的荫影下,使五谷生长;他们必发旺像葡萄树,他的名声必像利巴嫩的酒。(何西阿书14:7)

我必恢复我人民以色列的故业;他们必重新建造荒凉的城市去居住;必栽种葡萄园,而喝其所出的酒;他们必修造果木园,而吃其果子。(阿摩司书9:14)

在经济和社会生活艰难时,上帝给他百姓的信息是:百姓若凭圣约的规则生活,上帝就会为他们恢复和平、公正和富庶,这原本是他的旨意。而他要使用他百姓的工作来成就这一点。

个人与社会对不义的工作所负的责任(弥迦书1:1-7;3:1-2;5:10-15)

回到目录 回到目录

尽管有上帝的旨意,工作仍受罪的辖制。最不寻常的个案就是本身就是犯罪的工作。弥迦提到了妓女的行业,他所说的或许是那种与某种宗教有关的妓女。但他确实地说,她所得的财物必被火烧(弥迦书1:7)。这一经节最直接的应用就是宣布,作妓女不是合理的职业。有人或许没有别的办法为自己或为家人提供生活所需,就算这样的人选择作妓女,只能说可以理解,但作妓女仍不是合理的职业。还有其它工作让人生出同样的问题:人们到底该不该做这样的工作?无疑,我们还能想到各种别的实例。基督徒只要去找能让别人受益、让整个社会受益的工作,就很好了。

可弥迦不只是对某些个人说话,而是在对整个以色列说话。他是在批判一个容许妓女行业存在的社会、经济和宗教环境。问题不是:“作妓女谋生是可以接受的吗?”而是:“社会如何改变才能让人不需要去做有辱人格的或有害的工作?”弥迦是在责问那些感觉是被逼去做坏工作的人,但更是在责问那些没能改良社会的领导者。他的言辞是尖刻的。“雅各的首领,以色列家的官长啊,你们要听!你们不当知道公平吗?——你们恶善好恶,从人身上剥皮,从人骨上剔肉”(弥迦书3:1-2)。

我们现今的社会和弥迦时代的社会是不一样的,上帝应许给古代以色列的那些具体救治方法也不一定就是他现今给我们的。弥迦的预言性话语,反应了在他那个时代作妓女与拜偶像的邪教之间的关联。上帝应许说,他要结束以邪教祭坛为核心的社会弊端。“我必从你中间除灭雕刻的偶像和柱像,你就不再跪拜自己手所造的。我必从你中间拔出木偶,又毁灭你的城邑”(弥迦书5:13-14)。我们如今也有许多社会因素导致人们去做有罪的、压迫人的工作,为此,我们需要上帝的智慧才能找到有效的解决办法。同时,对于那些刻意参与罪恶工作之人,我们也要像以色列的先知一样呼吁他们悔改。“你们要求善,不要求恶,就必存活。这样,耶和华万军之上帝必照你们所说的与你们同在”(阿摩司书5:14)。

不义地工作(何西阿书4:1-10;约珥书2:28-29)

回到目录 回到目录

当先知谈到妓女的时候,他们很少单单只关注这一个具体的行当。他们通常把它当作一个隐喻,表示百姓对上帝的圣约不忠(何西阿书4:7-10)。从广义上来讲,他们也提醒人们知道有人用不义的方法获取利益。阿摩司控告说有商人使用劣质产品、缺斤少两等欺骗手段从消费者那里获取利润,而消费者却只能任其宰割。他们心里盘算:“我们卖出用小升斗,收银用大戥子,用诡诈的天平欺哄人,好用银子买贫寒人,用一双鞋子换穷乏人,将坏了的麦子卖给人”(阿摩司书8:5-6)。

还有许多职业本是合法的谋生手段,但若做得不合宜,也就成了不义的工作。比如作摄影师的,是顾客让他拍什么他就拍什么吗?假如会对拍摄对象和阅览的人有不良效果呢?比如作外科医生的,是病人按其财力想做什么手术就给他作什么手术吗?还比如作抵押贷款经纪商的,他难道就没有责任弄清借贷人的还贷能力以免他过分艰难吗?我们的工作若是在上帝面前的一种服侍,那我们就不该忽视这类问题。然而,我们也需要谨慎,不要把工作分成高低贵贱来。先知不是宣告说,某种工作比其他工作更为神圣,而是说把各种工作都当作是上帝在世界上的工作之一部分来做。上帝应许说:“在那些日子,我要将我的灵浇灌我的仆人和使女”(珥2:29)。

上帝的公正也包括工作和经济上的公正(阿摩司书8:1-6,弥迦书6:1-16)

回到目录 回到目录

工作中的公正并不仅仅是个人的事。人们有责任保证社会中的每个人都能够获得谋生所需的资源。阿摩司恰是在这一方面以拾庄稼的律法为典故,极为生动地批评以色列不公正。收割的人在一片农田中收割过后,会有一些零散的庄稼遗漏下来,需要有人来拾取。依照上帝与以色列所立的约,农民不能到自己的田间去拾庄稼,而要让贫穷的人(字面意思是“寡妇和孤儿”)来拾取,让他们以这种方式养活自己(申命记24:19)。这是一种最原始的社会福利发放形式,为穷人创造工作机会(去田间拾庄稼)让他们养活自己,免得让他们落入乞讨、偷窃或挨饿的地步。有人由于缺少资源、社会经济上的错位、受歧视、失去工作能力等因素无法进入劳动力市场,那么拾庄稼就不失为让他们也享有劳动尊严的一种做法。上帝不只要让每个人的需要得到满足,他也要让每个人都享有通过劳动来满足自己和他人需要的尊严。

阿摩司控诉说在犹大有人违反了这个规定。农夫把自己田间的庄稼捡得干干净净,让贫穷人没庄稼可拾(弥迦书7:1-2)。他们随后以荒谬的价钱把扬场过后留下的干瘪谷粒卖给穷人。阿摩司指责他们说:“你们要吞吃穷乏人,使困苦人衰败”, 并且“……将坏了的麦子卖给人”(阿摩司书8:4,6)。阿摩司指责他们,说他们焦躁不安地等待安息日结束,好去把这种低劣的、掺假的粮食卖给那些别无选择的人(阿摩司书8:5)。此外,他们还欺骗那些能买得起上好粮食的人,市场上的那些被做了手脚的天平就说明了这一点。他们夸口说:“我们卖出【麦子】用小升斗,收银【价银】用大戥子。”弥迦宣告说,上帝要审判那些不公正的商家。主说:“用不公道的天平、口袋中用诡诈砝码的,我哪能算他为纯洁呢?”(弥迦书6:11)。这就告诉我们说,公正并不只是刑事法律的事,也不仅是政治上的表达,也是经济上的公平机会。为满足自己和家人的需要而获得的工作机会,对于圣约里的个人角色是不可或缺的。弥迦在此前三节写出了那句著名的、振聋发聩的宣告:“他向你所要的是什么呢?只要你行公义,好怜悯,存谦卑的心,与你的上帝同行。”这句话的要点也是经济上的公正。(弥6:8)。上帝要他的百姓在工作和经济生活的方方面面每天与他的同行,好怜悯、对个人和社会都要行公义。

工作与敬拜(弥迦书6:6-8;阿摩斯书5:21-24;何西阿4:1-10)

回到目录 回到目录

在先知看来,公正并不只是世俗的问题。弥迦观察到,公正要比奢华的宗教献祭更好,于是才在6:8中呼吁公正。(弥6:6-7)。何西阿和阿摩司又扩展了这个要点。阿摩司反对把遵守宗教仪式和伦理行为割裂开来。

我厌恶你们的节期,也不喜悦你们的严肃会。你们虽然向我献燔祭和素祭,我却不悦纳,也不顾你们用肥畜献的平安祭;要使你们歌唱的声音远离我,因为我不听你们弹琴的响声。惟愿公平如大水滚滚,使公义如江河滔滔。(阿摩司书5:21-24)

何西阿更为深入地把我们带入到建立在善行基础上的灵性上。善工是直接从忠于上帝的圣约生发出来的,反过来说,邪恶的工作带我们远离上帝的同在。

以色列人哪,你们当听耶和华的话。耶和华与这地的居民争辩。因这地上无诚实,无良善,无人认识上帝。但起假誓,不践前言,杀害,偷盗,奸淫,行强暴,杀人流血,接连不断。因此,这地悲哀,其上的民、田野的兽、空中的鸟必都衰微,海中的鱼也必消灭……。我的民因无知识而灭亡。你弃掉知识,我也必弃掉你,使你不再给我作祭司。你既忘了你上帝的律法,我也必忘记你的儿女。(何西阿4:1-3,6)

这些经文在在提醒我们,工作的世界不是真空,而是与生命的其他领域连在一起的。我们若不把我们的价值观和优先次序建立在上帝的圣约之上,那么我们的生命和工作就会在伦理上和属灵上杂乱无章。我们若没有在工作上让上帝喜悦,我们就不能在敬拜中让上帝喜悦。

因财富而变得冷漠(阿摩司书3:9-15,6:1-7)

回到目录 回到目录

有人有了财富,就不再为公共福祉工作了,他们也不再对邻舍有任何责任感;先知批评了这样的人。阿摩司批判了懒散的富人做坏事、以强暴抢夺财物,他这样做也就是把拥有财富者的懒惰和压迫联系起来(阿摩司书3:10)。上帝会让这些人的财富顷刻化为乌有。上帝会“拆毁过冬和过夏的房屋。象牙的房屋也必毁灭”(阿摩司书3:15)。阿摩司向那些“在锡安安逸无虑的”吹响了刺耳的号角(阿摩司书6:1)。他观察到,正当他们“舒身在榻上”(阿摩司书6:4),弹琴鼓瑟,唱着消闲的歌曲时,(阿摩司书6:5),败亡就临到了,他们会首先消灭。上帝惩罚以色列时,他们“必在被掳的人中首先被掳”(阿摩司书6:7)。

如今,也有富人没有为着良善的目的来使用他们的财富,我们也听得到有人用同样的言辞来控诉他们,令人颇感意外。既有个人是这样的,也有公司、政府和其它机构是这样的。他们没有使用自己的财富来创造相应的东西以造福别人,而是利用别人的弱点。有许多基督徒——在西方或许是大多数基督徒——有能力改变这样的事,至少在他们触手可及的工作环境中。先知的话一直是我们的挑战,也是对我们的激励,激励我们深思:工作和财富如何能服事到我们周围的人——或者怎样就不能服事到他们。

Faith and Work Before the Exile—Hosea, Amos, Obadiah, Joel, Micah

Bible Commentary / Produced by TOW Project

Hosea, Amos, Micah, Obadiah and Joel were active in the eighth century when the state was well developed, but the economy was declining. Power and wealth accreted to the upper strata and left a growing disadvantaged class. There is some evidence of a trend towards cash cropping as a way of meeting the growing urban demand for food. This had the destabilising effect of reducing the risk spreading inherent in the subsistence farming it supplanted.[1] Farming communities became vulnerable to annual variations in production, and the cities were correspondingly subject to vagaries in their food supply (Amos 4:6-9). As the prophets from this period begin to speak, the glory days of opulent building projects and territorial expansion are well past. Such circumstances provide the soil for corruption on the part of those desperate to hold on to their power and diminishing wealth, and a widening gap between the rich and the poor. As a result, God’s prophets from this period have much to say to the world of work.

See the analysis of M.L. Chaney, ‘Bitter Bounty: The Dynamics of Political Economy Critiqued by the Eighth-Century Prophets,’ in The Bible and Liberation: Political and Social Hermeneutics (rev. ed.; eds. N.K. Gottwald and R.A. Horsley; Maryknoll: Orbis, 1993), 250-63.

God Demands Change (Hosea 1:1-9, Micah 2:1-5)

Back to Table of Contents

God puts the blame for Israel’s corruption on the people as a whole. They have abandoned God’s covenant, which both breaks their connection with God and breaks the just social structures of God’s law, leading directly to corruption and economic decline. “Whoredom” is the term the prophets often used to describe Israel’s breaking of the covenant (e.g., Jeremiah 3:2, Ezekiel 23:7). To dramatize the situation, God takes the metaphor literally and commands the prophet Hosea to “take for yourself a wife of whoredom and have children of whoredom, for the land commits great whoredom by forsaking the Lord” (Hosea 1:2). Hosea obeys God’s command, marries a woman named Gomer, who apparently fit the requirement, and has three children with her (Hosea 1:3). We are left to imagine what making a household and raising children with a “wife of whoredom” must have been like.

Although the prophets use the imagery of prostitution and adultery, God is accusing Israel of economic and social corruption, not sexual immorality.

Alas for those who devise wickedness and evil deeds on their beds! When the morning dawns, they perform it, because it is in their power. They covet fields, and seize them; houses, and take them away; they oppress householder and house, people and their inheritance. (Micah 2:1–2)

This makes Hosea’s family situation a dramatic example for those who work in corrupt or imperfect workplaces today. God deliberately put Hosea in a corrupt and difficult family situation. Could it be that God deliberately puts people in corrupt and difficult workplaces today? While we may seek a comfortable job with a reputable employer in a respectable profession, perhaps we can accomplish far more for God’s kingdom by working in morally compromised places. If you abhor corruption, can you do more to fight it by working as a lawyer in a prestigious firm or as a building inspector in a mafia-dominated city? There are no easy answers, but God’s call to Hosea suggests that making a difference in the world is more important to God than keeping our hands clean. As Dietrich Bonhoeffer put it in the midst of Nazi control of Germany, “The ultimate question for a responsible man to ask, is not how to extricate himself heroically from the affair, but how the coming generation is to live."[1]

Dietrich Bonhoeffer, Letters and Papers from Prison, Updated. (Touchstone, 1997), 7.

God Makes Change Possible (Hosea 14:1-9, Amos 9:11-15, Micah 4:1-5, Obadiah 21)

Back to Table of Contents

The same God who demands change also promises to make change possible. “A harvest is appointed when I would restore the fortunes of my people, when I would heal Israel” (Hosea 6:11–7:1). The Twelve Prophets carry a fundamental optimism that God is active in the world to change it for the better. Despite the apparent triumph of the wicked, God is ultimately in charge, and “the kingdom shall be the Lord’s” (Obadiah 21). Despite the calamity the people are bringing upon themselves, God is at work to restore the goodness of life and work that he intended from the beginning. “He is gracious and merciful, slow to anger, and abounding in steadfast love” (Joel 2:13). The closing oracles of Joel, Hosea and Amos (Hos. 14; Amos 9:11-15) illustrate this in explicitly economic terms.

The threshing floors shall be full of grain, the vats shall overflow with wine and oil….You shall eat in plenty and be satisfied, and praise the name of the Lord your God, who has dealt wondrously with you. And my people shall never again be put to shame. (Joel 2:24, 26)

[Israel] shall again live beneath my shadow, they shall flourish as a garden; they shall blossom like the vine, their fragrance shall be like the wine of Lebanon. (Hosea 14:7)

I will restore the fortunes of my people Israel, and they shall rebuild the ruined cities and inhabit them; they shall plant vineyards and drink their wine, and they shall make gardens and eat their fruit. (Amos 9:14)

God’s word to his people in times of economic and social hardship is that God’s intent is to restore peace, justice, and prosperity, if the people will live by the precepts of his covenant. The means he will use is the work of his people.

Unjust Work (Micah 1:1-7; 3:1-2; 5:10-15)

Back to Table of Contents

A compelling discussion on God's view of work (Click to listen)

Despite God’s intentions, work is subjected to human sin. The most egregious case is work that is inherently sinful. Micah mentions prostitution, probably in this case cult prostitution, and he promises that the wages from it would be burned (Micah 1:7). A straightforward application of this would be to rule out prostitution as a legitimate occupation, even it if might be an understandable choice for those who have no other way to provide for themselves or their families. There are other jobs that also raise the question, should this job be done at all? We can all think of various examples, no doubt, and Christians would do well to seek work that benefits others and society as a whole.

But Micah is speaking to Israel as a whole, not only to individuals. He is critiquing a society in which social, economic, and religious conditions make prostitution viable. The question is not, “Is it acceptable to earn a living as a prostitute,” but “How must society change to eliminate the need for anyone to do degrading or harmful work?” Micah calls to account not so much those who feel forced into doing bad work, but the leaders who fail to reform society. His words are scathing. “Listen, you heads of Jacob and rulers of the house of Israel! Should you not know justice?—you who hate the good and love the evil, who tear the skin off my people, and the flesh off their bones” (Micah 3:1–2).

Our society is different from Micah’s, and the specific remedies God promises to ancient Israel are not necessarily what God intends today. Micah’s prophetic words reflect the connection between ritual prostitution and idolatrous cults in his day. God promises to end the social abuses centered at the cultic shrines. “I will cut off your images and your pillars from among you, and you shall bow down no more to the work of your hands; and I will uproot your sacred poles from among you and destroy your towns” (Micah 5:13–14). In our day, we need God’s wisdom to find effective solutions to current social factors leading to sinful and oppressive work. At the same time, like the prophets of Israel, we need to call individuals to repent of wilfully engaging in sinful labour. “Seek good and not evil, that you may live, and so the Lord, the God of hosts will be with you” (Amos 5:14).

Working Unjustly (Hosea 4:1-10; Joel 2:28-29)

Back to Table of Contents

When the prophets speak of prostitution they are seldom concerned merely with that particular line of work. Typically they are also using it as a metaphor of injustice, which by definition is unfaithfulness to God’s covenant (Hosea 4:7-10). In a broad reminder that wages may be unjustly earned, Amos indicts the merchants who use inferior products, false weights, and other deceptions to reap a profit at the expense of vulnerable consumers. They say to themselves, “We will make the ephah small and the shekel great, and practice deceit with false balances, buying the poor for silver and the needy for a pair of sandals, and selling the sweepings of the wheat” (Amos 8:5–6).

Many otherwise-legitimate ways of making a living may become unjust by the way they are performed. Should a photographer takes pictures of anything a client asks, without regard for its effect on its subject and viewers? Should a surgeon perform any kind of elective surgery a patient might be willing to pay for? Is a mortgage broker responsible to ensure the ability of a borrower to repay the loan without undue hardship? If our work is a form of service under God, we cannot ignore such questions. We need to be careful not to imagine a hierarchy of work, however. The prophets’ claim is not that some types of work are more godly than others, but that all types of work must be done as contributions to God’s work in the world. “Even on the male and female slaves, in those days, I will pour out my spirit,” God promises (Joel 2:29).

God’s Justice Includes Work and Economic Justice (Amos 8:1-6, Micah 6:1-16)

Back to Table of Contents

Justice in work is not only an individual matter. People have a responsibility to make sure that everyone in society has access to the resources needed to make a living. Amos criticizes Israel for injustice in this respect, most vividly in an allusion to the law of gleaning. Gleaning is the process of picking up the stray heads of grain that remain in a field after the harvesters have passed through. According to God’s covenant with Israel, farmers were not allowed to glean their own fields, but were to allow poor people (literally “widows and orphans”) to glean them as a way of supporting themselves (Deuteronomy 24:19). This created a rudimentary form of social welfare, based on creating an opportunity for the poor to work (by gleaning the fields) rather than having to beg, steal or starve. Gleaning is a way to participate in the dignity of work, even for those who are unable to participate in the labor market due to lack of resources, socio-economic dislocation, discrimination, disability, or other factors. God not only wants everyone’s needs to be met, he wants to offer everyone the dignity of working to meet their needs and the needs of others.

Amos complains that this provision is being violated. Farmers are not leaving the stray grain in their fields for the poor to glean (Micah 7:1-2). Instead they offer to sell chaff—the waste left after threshing—to the poor at a ruinous price. “You trample on the needy, and bring ruin to the poor,” Amos accuses them, “…selling the sweepings of the wheat” (Amos 8:4, 6). Amos accuses them of waiting restlessly for the end of Sabbath so they can carry on selling this cheap, adulterated food product to those who have no other choice (Amos 8:5). Moreover, they are cheating even those who can afford to buy pure grain, as is evident in rigged balances in the marketplace. “We will make the ephah [of wheat being sold] small and the shekel [selling price] great,” they boast. Micah proclaims God’s judgment against unjust commerce. “Can I tolerate wicked scales and a bag of dishonest weights?” says the Lord (Micah 6:11). This tells us clearly that justice is not only a matter of criminal law and political expression, but also of economic opportunity. The opportunity to work to meet individual and family needs is essential to the role of the individual within the covenant. Economic justice is an essential component of Micah’s famous, ringing proclamation only 3 verses earlier, “What does the Lord require of you but to do justice, and to love kindness, and to walk humbly with your God?” (Mic. 6:8). God requires his people—as a daily matter of their walk with him—to love kindness and do justice individually and socially, in every aspect of work and economic life.

Work and Worship (Micah 6:6-8; Amos 5:21-24; Hosea 4:1-10)

Back to Table of Contents

Justice is not merely a secular issue, as the prophets see it. Micah’s call for justice in 6:8 follows from an observation that justice is better than extravagant religious sacrifices (Mic. 6:6-7). Hosea and Amos expand this point. Amos objects to the disconnect between the religious observance and ethical action.

I hate, I despise your festivals, and I take no delight in your solemn assemblies. Even though you offer me your burnt offerings and grain offerings, I will not accept them; and the offerings of well-being of your fatted animals I will not look upon. Take away from me the noise of your songs; I will not listen to the melody of your harps. But let justice roll down like waters, and righteousness like an ever-flowing stream. (Amos 5:21–24)

Hosea takes us deeper into the connection between being spiritually grounded doing good work. Good work arises directly from faithfulness to God’s covenant, and conversely, evil work takes us away from the presence of God.

Hear the word of the Lord, O people of Israel; for the Lord has an indictment against the inhabitants of the land. There is no faithfulness or loyalty, and no knowledge of God in the land. Swearing, lying, and murder, and stealing and adultery break out; bloodshed follows bloodshed. Therefore the land mourns, and all who live in it languish; together with the wild animals and the birds of the air, even the fish of the sea are perishing…. My people are destroyed for lack of knowledge; because you have rejected knowledge, I reject you from being a priest to me. And since you have forgotten the law of your God, I also will forget your children. (Hosea 4:1-3, 6)

This is a reminder that the world of work does not exist in a vacuum, separated from the rest of life. If we do not ground our values and priorities in God’s covenant, then our lives and work will be ethically and spiritually incoherent. If we do not please God in our work, we cannot please him in our worship.

Apathy Due to Wealth (Amos 3:9-15, 6:1-7)

Back to Table of Contents

The prophets criticize those whose wealth leads them to abandon working for the common good and who give up any sense of responsibility for their neighbours. Amos connects indolent wealth with oppression when he accuses the idle rich of wrongdoing, violence and robbery (Amos 3:10). God will bring a swift end to the wealth of such people. God will “tear down the winter house as well as the summer house and the houses of ivory” (Amos 3:15). Amos levels an excoriating blast against the luxuries of “those who are at ease in Zion” (Amos 6:1). They are first in dissolution, he observes, as they, “lounge on their couches” (Amos 6:4) and “sing idle songs to the sound of the harp” (Amos 6:5). When God punishes Israel, they will be “first to go into exile” (Amos 6:7).

Surprisingly similar complaints can be heard today against those who have wealth, but do not employ it towards any good purpose. This applies to individuals and also to corporations, governments and other institutions that use their wealth to exploit others’ vulnerabilities, rather than to create anything useful in proportion to their wealth. Many Christians—perhaps the majority in the West—have some ability to change these things, at least in their immediate working environments. The prophets’ words serve as a continual challenge and encouragement to care deeply about how work and wealth serve—or fail to serve—the people around us.



Our free online resources depend on your support! For a limited time, all donations will be matched dollar-for-dollar, up to $100,000. Don't miss this opportunity to help Christians connect the Bible to everyday work.

Donate