旧约先知书引言

圣经注释 / 工作神学项目出品

先知是谁?

回到目录 回到目录

先知被神所召,充满神的灵,将神的话传给那些以某种形式远离神的人。从某种意义上说,先知也是传道人。但从通俗意义上说,先知经常是检举人,特别是在整个支派或国家离开神的时候。

以色列的历史中到处都有先知的身影。摩西是神的先知,神使用他拯救了被埃及奴役的希伯来民,带领他们到了神的应许之地。而他们一再转离神。摩西是神的第一个代言人,带他们恢复与神的关系。在旧约历史书(约书亚记,师士记,撒母耳记上下,列王纪上下,历代志上下,以斯拉记和尼希米记)中,诸如底波拉、撒母耳、拿但、以利亚、以利沙、户勒大等先知,起来向背逆的民说神的话。

以色列的宗教崇拜围绕着祭司的工作展开,刚开始是在会幕,后来在圣殿。祭司的日常工作包括宰杀、分割、焚烧崇拜者带来的祭牲。但祭司的职任远超处理数千祭牲的沉重体力劳动。祭司也要指导民众的属灵和道德规范。尽管通常祭司主要在圣殿祭祀中作民众与神的中间人,但他更大的职责是将神的律法教导民众( 利未记10:11 ; 申命记17:8-10 ; 33:10 ; 以斯拉记7:10 )。

然而,在以色列历史上,祭司们自己却常常腐败、转离神、引导民众敬拜偶像。当祭司们没有将上帝的律法教导人民、国王和士师不能公正治理国家时,先知就兴起了。从某种意义上说,当整个以色列家族处于自我毁灭的边缘时,上帝呼召并通过先知作为举报者向他们说话。

神的百姓的惊人悲剧之一,就是他们持续不断地崇拜他们的异教徒邻居的众神。这种偶像崇拜的常见方式包括把他们的孩子在火中献给摩洛,以及“在邱坛上、山冈上、各青翠树下”,以各种可以想象的猥亵行为参与祭祀淫乱( 历代志下28:4 )。但更大的、悖逆耶和华的罪体现在,他们作为独特的、神圣洁的百姓,违背了神所制定的社会生活结构。对全地的穷人、寡妇、孤儿和陌生人的关照,被压迫所取代。商业惯例推翻了上帝的标准,使勒索、贿赂和不诚实的收入变得司空见惯。领袖用权力摧毁生命,宗教领袖鄙视上帝的圣物。这些不道德的做法远远没有为国家带来富足,反而导致了国家的垮台。先知通常是这片土地上最后的声音,叫人们回转归向神、归向一个公正、健康的群体。

在大多数情况下,先知并不是他们的“职业”,他们不依靠先知活动谋生。在他们从事原本职业时,神点名呼召他们并赋予特殊责任。有些先知(例如耶利米和以西结)是带有上述先知职责的祭司。另一些人的是牧羊人,包括摩西和阿摩司。底波拉是一名士师,为以色列人裁决事务。户勒大可能在耶路撒冷学术界里作老师。但是,先知的职责盖过了其他工作。

以色列历史中的先知

回到目录 回到目录

最早关于先知的记录被穿插在从约书亚记到列王纪下的以色列的历史书中,而不是一个单独的书面记录。之后,先知的言行被保存在与旧约圣经最后十七本书(以赛亚书到玛拉基书)中,通常被称为“后期先知”,有时也被称为“文学先知”,因为他们每个人的话都被写成独立的文学作品,而不是像早期的先知那样通过历史书传播。

当统一王国分裂成两个时,十个北方支派(以色列)立即陷入偶像崇拜。以利亚和以利沙,早期先知中的最后两位,被神呼召、挑战这些偶像崇拜的以色列人来单单敬拜耶和华。第一批文学先知,阿摩司 and 何西阿 被呼召来挑战北部以色列叛教的国王——从耶罗波安二世到何细亚。因为国王和人民都拒绝归回耶和华,公元前722年,神允许强大的亚述帝国推翻北部以色列王国。亚述人残酷无情,不仅摧毁了这片土地的城镇,掳掠了财富,而且还把居民当作俘虏,分散在整个帝国,试图永远摧毁他们的民族意识(列王纪下17:1-23)。

随着以色列国接近毁灭,南方小国犹大在敬拜耶和华与敬拜外邦神之间摇摆。好的国王把人们从偶像崇拜和奸商行为中救拔出来,但坏国王又把人们带进去。在南方王国(犹大),第一批文学先知是俄巴底亚约珥. 。他们是国王约兰、亚哈谢、约阿施和亚他利雅女王的举报人。

以赛亚在犹大四位国王乌西雅、约坦、亚哈斯和希西家在位时为神说话,弥迦也在同时期预言。玛拿西继承了希西家的王位,圣经记载他在耶和华眼中比他所有的前辈行恶更甚(列王纪下21:2-16)。

玛拿西之后是好国王约西亚,他对圣殿进行了一次彻底的洁净,消除了许多异教崇拜。洁净圣殿的人们发现了一个述说此地受审判的古老经卷,因此引发了犹大国内耶和华敬拜的最后一次复兴。在这个时期耶路撒冷的先知包括拿鸿,  耶利米西番雅,(尽管当权的大祭司是女先知户勒大,向国王解释经卷)。约西亚的继任国王们灾难性的政治决定,最终使巴比伦征服者尼布甲尼撒二世攻占了耶路撒冷(列王纪下23:31-24:17)。公元前605年,尼布甲尼撒把一万名犹太人掳到巴比伦。先知以西结就是俘虏之一, 而哈巴谷和耶利米、西番雅一起,继续他们在耶路撒冷的先知工作。当西底家王在589年与邻国联合抵抗巴比伦时,尼布甲尼撒围困了耶路撒冷两年以上(列王纪下24:18-25:21 ;历代志下36)。这座城市在586年主要因饥荒投降,且被夷为平地,圣殿和王宫完全被毁。耶利米留在耶路撒冷,继续在犹大的贫穷余民中做先知工作,直到他被带到埃及。与此同时,以西结继续在巴比伦被掳的犹太人中说预言。

第一批(公元前605年)被掳的犹太俘虏中有年轻人但以理,他在所有巴比伦皇帝的宫廷中被神使用。当巴比伦在公元前539年被波斯人推翻后,新的玛代-波斯国王居鲁士允许犹太人回到犹大,重建他们的城市和圣殿,首先是由所罗巴伯领导,然后是尼希米。但以理的预言跨越了巴比伦被掳时期(但1:1),直到居鲁士的谕令结束被掳(但10:1)。

波斯国王们对犹太人的态度各不相同。在冈比西斯(530-522)统治下,耶路撒冷的重建工作被停止了(以斯拉记4),但在大流士一世(522-486)当政下,第二圣殿完工(见以斯拉记5-6)。这一时期,流放后先知撒迦利亚 和 哈该 挑战犹太人:“你住在天花板的房屋里,而神的圣殿却还在废墟中。有所作为!”大流士之后是亚哈随鲁王(486-464),其统治被记录在以斯帖记1-9。亚哈随鲁王之后是亚达薛西王(464-423),他在位时以斯拉于公元前458年返回耶路撒冷(以斯拉记7-10),尼希米也在公元前445年回归(尼希米1-2)。正是在这个时期,最后的被掳归回时期先知玛拉基写了同名的先知书。

约拿书的故事不在以色列发生,而且书中没有指明创作时期。亚述人是以色列的敌人,尽管如此,神的意思是要祝福他们,这也符合神的应许:亚伯拉罕的后裔将成为万国祝福(创22:18)。

先知时间表

回到目录 回到目录

下面的表格显示了先知在北国以色列和南国犹大纪年中的位置。

时期

北国国王

北国先知

南国国王

南国先知

扫罗、大卫和所罗门联合王国时期(约1030-931BC)​

分裂王国​

耶罗波安​ (931-910)

拿答​ (910-909)

巴沙 (909-886)

以拉 (886)

心利​ (885)

暗利 (885-874)

亚哈​ (874-853)

约兰​ (852-841)

耶户 (841-814)

约哈斯​ (814-798)

约阿施​ (798-782)

耶罗波安二世​ (793-753)

撒迦利亚 (753-752)

沙龙​ (752)

米拿现​ 752-742)

比加辖​ (742-740)

比加​ (752-732)

何细亚​ (732-722)

 

 

 

 

 

 

以利亚

 

以利沙

 

 

阿摩斯

约拿

 

 

 

 

何西阿

罗波安​ (931-913)

亚比央​ (913)

亚撒​ (911-870)

 

 

 

约沙法​ (873-848)

约兰​ (853-841)

亚他利雅女王​ (841-835)

约阿施​ (835-796)

亚玛谢​ (796-767)

乌西雅​ (790-740)

约坦​ (750-731)

 

 

 

 

亚哈斯​ (735-715)

希西家​ (715-686)

玛拿西​ (695-642)

亚们​ (642-640)

约西亚​ (640-609)

约哈斯​ (609)

约雅敬​ (609-597)

约雅斤​ (597)

西底家​ (597-586)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

俄巴底亚

约珥

 

以赛亚

 

 

 

 

弥迦

 

 

 

耶利米

西番雅
户勒大
拿鸿

哈巴谷

巴比伦被掳时期​

 

 

 

以西结

但以理

被掳归回时期先知​

 

 

所罗巴伯,总督​

 

尼西米, 总督​

哈该

撒迦利亚

玛拉基

Introduction to the Prophets

Bible Commentary / Produced by TOW Project

Who Were the Prophets?

Back to Table of Contents

Called by God and filled with God’s Spirit, a prophet spoke God’s word to people who had in one way or another distanced themselves from God. In one sense, a prophet is a preacher. But in marketplace terms, a prophet is often a whistle-blower, particularly when an entire tribe or nation has turned away from God.

The prophets peopled the pages of Israel’s history. Moses was God’s prophet, used to rescue the Hebrew people from slavery in Egypt and then to lead them to the land God had promised them. Again and again, these people turned away from God. Moses was God’s first mouthpiece to bring them back into a relationship with God. In the Old Testament history books (Joshua, Judges, 1 & 2 Samuel, 1 & 2 Kings, 1 & 2 Chronicles, Ezra, and Nehemiah), prophets such as Deborah, Samuel, Nathan, Elijah, Elisha, Huldah, and others came forward to speak God’s word to a rebellious people.

Israel’s religious worship was organized around the labor of priests, first in the tabernacle and later in the temple. The day-to-day job description of priests lay in slaughtering, butchering, and roasting the sacrificial animals brought by worshipers. But a priest’s tasks went beyond the heavy physical work of dealing with thousands of animal sacrifices. A priest was also responsible to be a spiritual and moral guide to the people. While the priest was often seen primarily as the mediator between the people and God in the temple sacrifices, his larger duty was to teach God’s law to the people (Lev. 10:11; Deut.17:8-10; 33:10; Ezra 7:10).

In Israel’s history, however, the priests themselves often became corrupt and turned away from God, leading the people in the worship of idols. Prophets arose when the priests failed to teach God’s law to the people, and kings and judges failed to govern the country justly. In a sense, God called and spoke through prophets as whistle-blowers when the whole Israelite enterprise was on the brink of self-destruction.

One of the stunning tragedies of the people of God was their persistence in pursuing the worship of the many gods of their pagan neighbors. The common practices of this idolatrous worship included offering their children in the fires of Moloch and ritual prostitution with every imaginable lewd practice “on the high places, on the hills, and under every green tree” (2 Chr. 28:4). But an even greater evil in forsaking Yahweh came in forsaking God’s structure for living in community as a distinct and holy people of God. Concern for the poor, the widow, the orphan, and the stranger in the land was replaced by oppression. Business practices overturned God’s standard so that extortion, taking bribes, and dishonest gain became commonplace. Leaders used power to destroy lives, and religious leaders despised God’s holy things. Far from enriching the nation, these ungodly practices led to the downfall of the nation. The prophets were often the last voices in the land, calling people back to God and to a just and healthy community.

In most cases, the prophets were not “professional” in the sense of earning a living from their prophetic activities. God tapped them for special duty while in the midst of other professions. Some prophets (e.g., Jeremiah and Ezekiel) were priests with the duties described above. Others were shepherds, including Moses and Amos. Deborah was a judge adjudicating issues for the Israelites. Huldah was probably a teacher in the scholarly sector of Jerusalem. The task of a prophet overlaid other jobs.

Situating the Prophets in Israel’s History

Back to Table of Contents

The records of the earliest prophets are woven into the history of Israel in the books of Joshua through 2 Kings, rather than in a separate written record. Afterwards, the words and deeds of the prophets were preserved in separate collections corresponding to the final seventeen books of the Old Testament, Isaiah through Malachi, often called the “latter prophets” or, sometimes the “literary prophets” because their words of each were written down as separate pieces of literature, rather than being spread through books of history as the earlier prophets were.

When the unified kingdom split in two, the ten northern tribes (Israel) plunged immediately into idol worship. Elijah and Elisha, the last among the former prophets, were called by God to challenge these idolatrous Israelites to worship Yahweh alone. The first of the literary prophets, Amos and Hosea, were called to challenge the apostate northern kings of Israel from Jeroboam II through Hoshea. Because kings and people alike refused to return to Yahweh, in 722 BC God allowed the powerful empire of Assyria to overthrow the northern kingdom of Israel. The Assyrians, cruel and merciless, not only destroyed the cities and towns of the land, taking its wealth as booty, but they also took the people captive and dispersed them throughout the empire in an attempt to destroy forever all sense of nationhood (2 Kgs. 17:1-23).

As Israel neared its destruction, the small nation of Judah in the south flip-flopped between the worship of Yahweh and the worship of foreign gods. Good kings pulled the people back from idol worship and bad business practices, but bad kings reversed that. In the southern kingdom (Judah), the first literary prophets were Obadiah and Joel. They were whistle-blowers under kings Jehoram, Ahaziah, Joash, and Queen Athaliah.

Isaiah spoke for God in Judah under four kings—Uzziah, Jotham, Ahaz, and Hezekiah—with Micah also prophesying during that period. Hezekiah was followed on the throne by Manasseh, of whom Scripture records that he did more evil in the sight of the Lord than all his predecessors (2 Kgs. 21:2-16).

Manasseh was followed by good king Josiah who instituted a thorough cleansing of the temple, ridding it of much pagan worship. The people cleaning the temple found an ancient scroll that spelled judgment on the land, which led to the last revival of Yahweh worship in Judah. The prophets in Jerusalem at this time included  Nahum,  Jeremiah  and  Zephaniah (though the high priest turned to a woman prophet, Huldah, to interpret the scroll for the king). Josiah was followed by kings whose disastrous political decisions eventually brought the Babylonian conqueror Nebuchadnezzar II against Jerusalem (2 Kgs. 23:31-24:17). In 605 BC, Nebuchadnezzar took 10,000 Jews into exile in Babylon. The prophet Ezekiel was among those captives, while Habakkuk joined Jeramiah and Zephaniah, continuing their prophetic work in Jerusalem. When King Zedekiah allied himself with neighbor nations to fight off Babylon in 589, Nebuchadnezzar laid siege to Jerusalem that lasted more than two years (2 Kgs. 24:18-25:21; 2 Chr. 36). The city capitulated in 586, mainly because of famine, and was razed to the ground with its temple and palaces totally destroyed. Jeremiah remained in Jerusalem, continuing his prophetic work among the impoverished remnant in Judah, until he was carted off to Egypt. Meanwhile, Ezekiel continued to prophesy in Babylon to the exiled Jews living there.

Among the Jewish captives in the first deportation (605 BC) was the young man Daniel, whom God used in Babylon in the court of all the Babylonian emperors. When Babylon was overthrown by the Persians in 539 BC, the new Medo-Persian king Cyrus allowed the Jews to return to Judah and rebuild their city and its temple, first under Zerubbabel and then under Nehemiah. Daniel’s prophecies span the Babylonian exile (Dan. 1:1) through Cyrus’s decree ending the exile (Dan. 10:1).

Persian kings varied in their attitude toward the Jews. Under Cambyses (530-522) the rebuilding of Jerusalem was stopped (Ezra 4), but under Darius I (522-486) the second temple was completed (see Ezra 5-6). Here the post-exilic prophets Zechariah and Haggai   challenged the Jews: “You live in paneled houses while God’s house lies in ruins. Do something about it!” Darius was followed by Xerxes (486-464), whose reign is recorded in Esther 1-9. Following Xerxes came Artaxerxes (464-423), in whose reign Ezra returned to Jerusalem in 458 BC (Ezra 7-10), and Nehemiah followed in 445 BC (Neh. 1-2). It was in this period that the final post-exilic prophet Malachi wrote.

The book of Jonah does not take place in Israel, and the text gives no indication of its date. God gave Jonah a mission to Nineveh, the Assyrian capital, calling the Assyrian people to repentance. The Assyrians were enemies of Israel, but God’s intent was to bless them nonetheless, consistent with God’s promise that Abraham’s people would be a blessing to all nations (Gen. 22:18).

Timeline of the Prophets

Back to Table of Contents

The table below shows where in time the prophets fit within the northern kingdom of Israel and the southern kingdom of Judah. 

Period

Northern Kings

Northern Prophets

Southern Kings

Southern Prophets

United kingdom under Saul, David, Solomon, c. 1030 - 931

Divided kingdom

Jeroboam (931-910)

Nadab (910-909)

Baasha (909-886)

Elah (886)

Zimri (885)

Omri (885-874)

Ahab (874-853)

Jehoram (852-841)

Jehu (841-814)

Jehoahaz (814-798)

Jehoash (798-782)

Jeroboam II (793-753)

Zechariah (753-752)

Shallum (752)

Menahem 752-742)

Pekahiah (742-740)

Pekah (752-732)

Hoshea (732-722)

 

 

 

 

 

 

Elijah

 

Elisha

 

 

Amos

Jonah

 

 

 

 

Hosea

Rehoboam (931-913)

Abijah (913)

Asa (911-870)

 

 

 

Jehoshaphat (873-848)

Jehoram (853-841)

Queen Athaliah (841-835)

Joash (835-796)

Amaziah (796-767)

Uzziah (790-740)

Jotham (750-731)

 

 

 

 

Ahaz (735-715)

Hezekiah (715-686)

Manasseh (695-642)

Amon (642-640)

Josiah (640-609)

Jehoahaz (609)

Jehoiakim (609-597)

Jehoiachin (597)

Zedekiah (597-586)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Obadiah

Joel

 

Isaiah

 

 

 

 

Micah

 

 

 

Jeremiah

Zephaniah
Huldah
Nahum

Habakkuk

Babylonian exile

 

 

 

Ezekiel

Daniel

Post-exilic prophets

 

 

Zerubbabel, governor

 

Nehemiah, governor

Haggai

Zechariah

Malachi