约拿书与上帝对各国的祝福

圣经注释 / 工作神学项目出品

正如 引言,中所说,约拿书在十二小先知书里是个“异类” 。书中所讲的故事不是发生在以色列。文中也没有时间线索。该书没有先知的神谕,焦点也不是先知服侍的群体,而是先知本人的亲身经历。[1] 尽管如此,它分享了其他先知的观点,表明上帝活跃于世界之中(拿1:2,1:17 ; 2:10),并且对上帝的信心(或不信)构成一个三重链接:敬拜、社会经济健康以及环境。当船员向耶和华祷告,遵守祂的吩咐,海就平静了,而上帝保守船员和约拿的安康(拿1:14-17)。当约拿回归到合宜的敬拜之中,上帝就让环境恢复到原来合宜的秩序里面:大鱼在海中,人在干地(拿2:7-10)。当尼尼微人回转归向上帝,动物和人类和谐地相处,社会经济的扰乱也止息了(拿3:4-10)。 约拿的处境和其他十二位先知不同,但他的神学却不是。约拿书的独特贡献是:1)关注先知的呼召和回应;2)承认上帝不是透过祝福以色列来攻击其他国家,而是透过以色列来祝福其他国家。[2]

Douglas Stuart, vol. 31, Word Biblical Commentary: Hosea-Jonah (Dallas: Word, Inc., 2002), 431.

Stuart, Hosea-Jonah, 434.

约拿的呼召和回应(拿1:1-17)

回到目录 回到目录

和十二小先知书一样,约拿书以上帝对先知的呼召开篇(拿1:1-2)。但是,和其他书卷不一样的是,约拿抗拒上帝的呼召。他愚蠢地试图躲避上帝的面,乘船到外国的海岸(拿1:3)。这样做不仅仅给他自己,也给同船的人带来了危害,因为正如我们在十二小先知书中所看到的,不守上帝的约带来真实可见的后果,而个人的行动总是会影响众人的。上帝差来了狂风暴雨。首先,狂风暴雨毁坏了水手们的商业前途,因为他们被迫丢弃了所有的货物,以便让船身更轻省(拿1:5)。接下来,狂风暴雨威胁到他们的生命(拿1:11)。只有当约拿提出要把他投入海中——海员们不情愿地接受了——才最终平息了风浪,消除了对众人的危险(拿1:12-15)。

上帝呼召我们的目的是服侍他人。呼召约拿是为了尼尼微人的益处。当他抗拒上帝的带领时,不仅仅他受召要去服侍的人受苦,他身边的人也遭殃。当我们承认所有人都受召在工作中服侍上帝时——我们的工作可能和约拿不一样,但对上帝而言同样重要(参考工作神学计划文章,《职业概述》)——那么我们会认识到,我们没有在工作中服侍上帝也会导致社区的衰弱。我们的恩赐和才干越强,假如我们在工作中拒绝上帝的带领,我们可能带来的伤害就越大。毫无疑问,我们可以想到很多人,他们的旷世奇才让他们有能力在商业、政府、社会、科学、宗教和其他所有的领域当中带来了巨大的伤害。假如他们能够将他们的技能首先委身于对上帝的敬拜和服侍,想象一下他们所能带来的好处,以及他们本来能避免的罪恶。相比而言,我们的恩赐可能看起来是微弱的;但是想象一下,如果我们在一生当中为服侍上帝而工作,我们将能做怎样的善事,将能避免怎样的罪恶。

上帝对各国的祝福(拿1:16,3:1-4:2)

回到目录 回到目录

Jonah disobeys God’s call because he objects to God’s intent to bless Israel’s adversaries, the nation of Assyria and its capital city, Nineveh, and when he ultimately relents and his mission is successful, he resents God’s mercy to them (Jon. 4:1-2). This is understandable, for in time Assyria was to conquer the northern kingdom of Israel (2 Kings 17:6). Jonah is being sent to bless people he despises. Nonetheless, this is God’s will. Apparently, God’s intent is to use the people of Israel to bless all nations, not just themselves (see in).  约拿违背上帝的呼召,因为他拒绝接受上帝祝福以色列的敌国亚述和它的首都尼尼微的好意。当他最终柔软下来,成功完成他的使命时,他又厌恶上帝对他们的怜悯(拿4:1-2)。这是可以理解的,因为亚述那时正要占领以色列的北国(王下17:6)。约拿被差遣去祝福他所鄙视的人。然而,这是上帝的旨意。很明显,上帝的意思是要使用以色列百姓来祝福各国,而不仅仅是他们自己(参见,"祝福万民(耶利米书29)《耶利米书和耶利米哀歌与工作》)。

我们各人都尝试将自己本身的有限,放在上帝藉着我们的工作延展的祝福之中,这样可能吗?我们常常认为,我们必须为自己积聚工作的好处,免得别人在我们身上有可乘之机。我们可能诉诸秘密、欺瞒、欺骗、走捷径、压榨、恐吓,以便在工作中胜过对手。我们似乎接受了一个未经证实的假设,以为我们在工作中的成功必须建基于他人付出的代价之上。我们是否相信成功是一场非此即彼的零和游戏?

上帝的祝福不是一个容量有限的水桶,而是一个满溢的泉源。“试试我是否为你们敞开天上的窗户;倾福与你们,甚至无处可容”(玛拉基书3:10)。尽管我们在工作中经常面临竞争、资源限制和他人的恶意,但上帝给我们的使命不是那么微小,仅仅为了在所有不顺当中生存而已,乃是要巨大地转变我们的工作场所,实现创造力和生产力,构建社会和谐的关系,保持环境的平衡——这是上帝从一开始就确定的旨意。

虽然约拿起初拒绝参与到上帝对敌国的祝福当中,但最后他对上帝的信心胜过了他的不顺服。最后,他确实警告了尼尼微城,而他们在约拿的惊愕当中热切地回应他的信息。整个城市,“大大小小的各人”(拿3:5b),从君王到臣民,从街上的百姓到羊群中的动物,“各人回头离开所行的恶道,丢弃手中的强暴”(拿3:8)。“尼尼微人信服神”(拿3:5b),并且“上帝察看他们的行为,见他们离开恶道,他就后悔,不把所说的灾祸降于他们”(拿3:10)。这让约拿很失望,因为他想要继续宣告上帝呼召他做工的后果。他希望尼尼微人得到惩罚,而不是饶恕。他苛刻地判断自己工作的结果(拿4:5),而错过了他人的喜乐。我们是否做同样的事情?当我们为工作看似缺乏意义和成功而悲叹时,我们是否忘记了只有上帝能够看得见我们工作的真正价值?

甚至约拿微小、踌躇不决地顺服上帝的那一刻,也给他周边的人带来了祝福。在船上,他肯定地说,”我敬畏耶和华,天上的神”(拿1:9),并为了船上的同伴而牺牲自己。因此,他们从风暴中得救,并且成为了上帝的跟随者。“那些人便大大敬畏耶和华,向耶和华献祭,并且许愿”(拿1:16)。

如果我们认识到,我们服侍上帝的工作会被不顺服、不满、散漫、害怕、自私或其他的心病所阻碍,那么约拿的经历可能会成为我们的鼓励。这里有一位先知,在忠心服侍上甚至比我们更失败。然而,上帝透过约拿迟疑的、有缺陷的、断断续续的服侍,完满地成就了他的使命。凭着上帝的大能,我们欠佳的服侍可以完成上帝所想要成就的一切。

上帝关心那些回应祂呼召的人(拿1:3,12-14,17;2:10;4:3-8)

回到目录 回到目录

根据约拿的经历,我们可能会害怕上帝的呼召会带领我们进入灾祸和困境中。希望上帝完全不呼召我们,是不是会更容易一点呢?回应上帝的呼召可能要求巨大的牺牲和代价,这是真的。[1] 然而,在约拿的例子中,困境并不是来自于上帝的呼召,而是来自约拿对呼召的不顺服。船难和在海洋大鱼肚子里面被埋的三天,直接来自于他试图逃避上帝的面。他后来所受的太阳和热风,还有他几乎想自杀的绝望(拿4:3-8)都不是上帝所施加的困境。困境的到来是因为约拿拒绝接受来自“有恩典、有怜悯的上帝“的祝福,他“不轻易发怒,有丰盛的慈爱,并且后悔不降所说的灾”(拿4:2)。

事实是上帝总是努力看顾和安慰约拿。上帝感动人们怜悯他,就如船员努力划船登岸,而不是接受约拿的建议,把他扔入水中(拿1:12-14)。上帝差派一条大鱼拯救约拿脱离溺亡(拿1:17),并且吩咐大鱼将他吐在旱地上(拿2:10)。祂让约拿在敌国尼尼微城的百姓中蒙恩,他们敬重他,并留心听他的信息。在尼尼微,上帝在约拿最需要的时候为他提供了树荫和一座棚(拿4:5-6)。

如果约拿的例子是一个范本,那么上帝呼召我们在工作中服侍他人,并不需要以我们的幸福作为代价。若我们期待相反的事情,则表明我们依然困在零和博弈的思维模式里面。鉴于约拿拒绝上帝的呼召时,上帝为供应他所采取的非凡手段,想象一下,假如约拿从一开始就接受呼召,他会经历何等大的祝福。旅行的方式,为他冒险舍命的朋友,和自然世界和谐的关系,树荫和歇息处,所服侍的人给予的尊重,以及工作上令人震惊的成功——想象一下,如果约拿如上帝所愿的接受它们,这将会是多么大的祝福!尽管约拿以贬低的方式强迫自己,但它们却表明,上帝呼召我们服侍也是一个祝福的邀请。

A classic exploration of this topic is Dietrich Bonhoeffer’s The Cost of Discipleship (New York: Macmillan, 1966), originally published in 1937.

Jonah and God’s Blessing for All Nations

Bible Commentary / Produced by TOW Project

As noted in the introduction, the Book of Jonah is an outlier among the twelve prophets. It does not take place in Israel. The text gives no indication of its date. It does not contain prophetic oracles, and the focus is not on the people to whom the prophet is sent, but on his own personal experience.[1] Nonetheless, it shares the perspective of the other prophets that God is active in the world (Jonah 1:2, 17; 2:10), and that faithfulness to God (or lack of it) underlies a three-fold link among worship, socio-economic health and the environment. When the sailors pray to the Lord and obey his word, the sea is calmed, and God provides for the wellbeing of the sailors and Jonah (Jon. 1:14-19). When Jonah returns to proper worship, the Lord returns the environment to its proper order: fish in the sea, people on dry land (Jon. 2:7-10) When Nineveh turns to the Lord, the animals and humans band together in harmony, and the socio-economic violations cease (Jon. 3:4-10). Jonah’s setting is different from the rest of the Twelve Prophets, but not his theology. The unique contributions of the book of Jonah are 1) the focus on the prophet’s call and response; and 2) the recognition that God is not working to bless Israel against the other nations, but to bless the other nations through Israel.[2]

Douglas Stuart, vol. 31, Word Biblical Commentary: Hosea-Jonah (Dallas: Word, Inc., 2002), 431.

Stuart, Hosea-Jonah, 434.

Jonah’s Call and Response (Jonah 1:1-17)

Back to Table of Contents

As is typical with Twelve Prophets, the Book of Jonah begins with a call from God to the prophet (Jon. 1:1-2). Unlike the others, however, Jonah rejects God’s call. Foolishly, he attempts to flee the presence of the Lord by taking a ship to foreign shores (Jon. 1:3). This imperils not only him, but his shipmates, for—as we have seen throughout the Book of the Twelve—breaking covenant with God has tangible consequences, and the actions of individuals always affect the community. God sends a storm. First, it ruins the mariners’ commercial prospects, as they are forced to throw all the cargo into the sea to lighten the ship (Jon. 1:5). Eventually it threatens their very lives (Jon. 1:11). Only when Jonah offers to be thrown into the sea—which the sailors reluctantly accept—does the storm abate and the danger to the community subside (Jon. 1:12-15).

The purpose of a call from God is to serve other people. Jonah’s call is for the benefit of Nineveh. When he rejects God’s guidance, not only do the people he was called to serve languish, but the people surrounding him suffer. If we accept that we are all called to serve God in our work—which is probably different from Jonah’s work, but no less important to God (see Theology of Work Project article Vocation Overview)—then we recognize that failing to serve God in our work also diminishes our communities. The more powerful our gifts and talents, the greater the harm we are apt to do if we reject God’s guidance in our work. Undoubtedly we can all bring to mind people whose prodigious abilities enabled them to do great harm in fields of business, government, society, science, religion, and all the rest. Imagine the good they could have done, the evil they could have avoided, if they had submitted their skills first to the worship and service of the Lord. Our gifts may seem puny in comparison, yet imagine the good we could do and the evil we could avert if we did our work in service to God over the course of a lifetime.

God’s Blessing for All Nations (Jonah 1:16, 3:1-4:2)

Back to Table of Contents

Jonah disobeys God’s call because he objects to God’s intent to bless Israel’s adversaries, the nation of Assyria and its capital city, Nineveh, and when he ultimately relents and his mission is successful, he resents God’s mercy to them (Jon. 4:1-2). This is understandable, for in time Assyria was to conquer the northern kingdom of Israel (2 Kings 17:6). Jonah is being sent to bless people he despises. Nonetheless, this is God’s will. Apparently, God’s intent is to use the people of Israel to bless all nations, not just themselves (see "Blessing for All Peoples (Jeremiah 29)" in Jeremiah & Lamentations and Work).

Is it possible that we each try to place our own limitations on the reach of God’s blessings through our work? We often assume we have to hoard the benefits of our work for ourselves, lest others gain an advantage over us. We may resort to secrecy and deception, cheating and cutting corners, exploitation and intimidation, in an effort to gain an advantage over rivals at work. We seem to accept as fact the unproven assumption that our success at work has to come at others’ expense. Have we come to believe that success is a zero-sum gain?

God’s blessing is not a bucket with limited capacity, but an overflowing fountain. “Put me to the test, says the Lord of hosts; see if I will not open the windows of heaven for you and pour down for you an overflowing blessing” (Malachi 3:10). Despite the competition, resource constraints, and malevolence we often face at work, God’s mission for us is nothing so puny as survival against all odds, but the magnificent transformation of our places of work to fulfill the creativity and productivity, the relationships and social harmony, and the environmental balance God intended from the beginning.

Although Jonah initially refuses to participate in God’s blessing for his adversaries, in the end his faithfulness to God overcomes his disobedience. Eventually he does warn Nineveh, and to his dismay they respond passionately to his message. The entire city, “everyone great and small” (Jon. 3:5b), from the king and his nobles to the people in the streets to the animals in their flocks, “turn from their evil ways and the violence that is in their hands” (Jon. 3:8). “The people of Nineveh believed God” (Jon. 3:5a) and “when God saw what they did, how they turned from their evil ways, God changed his mind about the calamity that he had said he would bring upon them; and he did not do it” (Jon. 3:10). This is dismaying to Jonah because he continues to want to dictate the results of the work God called him to. He wants punishment, not forgiveness, for Ninevah. He judges the results of his own work harshly (Jon. 4:5) and misses out on the joy of others. Do we do the same? When we lament the seeming lack of significance and success in our work, are we forgetting that only God can see the true value of our work?

Yet even Jonah’s small, halting moments of obedience to God lead to blessings for those around him. On the ship, he acknowledges, “I worship the Lord, the God of heaven” (Jon. 1:9) and sacrifices himself for the sake of his shipmates. As a result they are saved from the storm, and moreover, they become followers of the Lord. “The men feared the Lord even more, and they offered a sacrifice to the Lord and made vows” (Jon. 1:16).

If we recognize that our own work in God’s service is hobbled by disobedience, resentment, laxity, fear, selfishness or other ailments, Jonah’s experience may be an encouragement to us. Here we have a prophet who may be even more of a failure at faithful service than we are. Yet God accomplishes the fullness of his mission through Jonah’s halting, flawed, intermittent service. By God’s power, our poor service may accomplish everything that God intends.

God’s Care for Those Who Respond to His Call (Jonah 1:3,12-14, 17; 2:10; 4:3-8)

Back to Table of Contents

In light of Jonah’s experience, we might fear that God’s calling will lead us into calamity and hardship. Wouldn’t it be easier to hope God doesn’t call us at all? It is true that responding to God’s call may require great sacrifice and hardship.[1] Yet in Jonah’s case, the hardship arises not from God’s call, but from Jonah’s disobedience to it. The shipwreck and the 3-days burial at sea in the belly of the great fish arise directly from his attempt to flee God’s presence. His later exposure to the sun and wind and his despair almost to the point of suicide (Jon. 4:3-8) are not hardships imposed by God. They come because Jonah refuses to accept the blessings of “a gracious God [who is] merciful, slow to anger, and abounding in steadfast love, and ready to relent from punishing” (Jon. 4:2).

The truth is that God is always working to care for and comfort Jonah. God moves people to compassion for him, as when the sailors try to row the ship to land rather than accept Jonah’s offer to be thrown overboard (Jon. 1:12-14). God sends a fish to save Jonah from drowning (Jon. 1:17) and then speaks to the fish to tell it to expel Jonah back to dry land (Jon. 2:10). He grants Jonah favour among the enemy population of Nineveh, who treat him with esteem and heed his message. He provides Jonah shade and shelter at Nineveh (Jon. 4:5-6) in his time of greatest need.

If Jonah’s case is any example, God’s call to serve others in our work need not come at the expense of our own well-being. To expect otherwise would be to remain trapped in the mindset of the zero-sum game. Given the extraordinary measures God takes to provide for Jonah when he rejects God’s call, imagine what blessings Jonah might have experienced if he had accepted the call from the beginning. The means to travel, friends ready to risk their lives for him, harmony with the world of nature, shade and shelter, the esteem of people among whom he works, and astounding success in his work—imagine how great a blessing these might have been if Jonah had accepted them as God intended. Even in the diminished form that Jonah forces upon himself, they show that God’s call to service is also an invitation to blessing.

A classic exploration of this topic is Dietrich Bonhoeffer’s The Cost of Discipleship (New York: Macmillan, 1966), originally published in 1937.



https://www.theologyofwork.org/