被掳回归之后的忠心工作 —— 哈该书、撒迦利亚书、玛拉基书

圣经注释 / 工作神学项目出品

犹太人从被掳之地回归之后,他们的市民社会和宗教生活都在上帝应许给他们的土地上得以恢复。耶路撒冷城和圣殿都重建了,犹太社会的经济、社会和宗教等领域的基础设施也都得以重建。继罪与惩罚以后,十二小先知书开始转向工作的挑战。

需要有社会资源(哈该书1:1-2:19)

回到目录 回到目录

我们总会把自我和家庭放在社会之上,这个试探就是我们在工作中要面临的挑战之一。先知哈该生动地描述了这个挑战。百姓奋力建自己家的房子,却没有拿出资源来重建圣殿——犹太人社会的中心,哈该当面责备了百姓的这种行径。“这殿仍然荒凉,你们自己还住天花板的房屋吗?”(哈该书1:4)。他说,百姓若不能在社会资源上有投入,他们个人的生产力实际上也会降低。

你们撒的种多,收的却少。你们吃,却不得饱;喝,却不得足;穿衣服,却不得暖。得工钱的,将工钱装在破漏的囊中。(该1:6)

耶和华激动百姓和他们官长的心,他们就开始为重建圣殿和重建社会有投入(该1:14-15)。

百姓要在社会资源上有投入,这就提醒我们,不存在所谓的“自给自足的人”。个人可凭自己的努力创造出很多财富,但我们每个人都要依赖资源和社会基础设施,而这一切终极而言都只能来源于上帝。“我就使这殿满了荣耀,这是万军之耶和华说的。万军之耶和华说:银子是我的,金子也是我的”(该2:7-8)。繁荣富庶不是只凭个人努力就可达成,甚至不是主要凭个人努力达成的,而是整个社区根植于上帝的圣约才可达成。“在这地方我必赐平安。”这是万军之耶和华说的。(该2:9)

我们若以为,我们不能有时间事奉上帝、事奉上帝百姓组成的社会,就需要先为我们自己预备生活所需,那我们就太愚蠢了。真相是,我们若不凭上帝慷慨的恩典,以及在他的社区中彼此相顾,我们就不能为我们自己挣得任何东西。这也是在什一奉献背后的概念。这不是把我们的收成拿出百分之十,而是对上帝所造的奇妙出产,献上百分之百的赞美。

这让我们想到,在当今这个时代,把资源投入到生命中无形的领域中是很重要的。住房、饮食、汽车和其它物质上的必需品很重要。当上帝为我们预备得太丰盛了,我们也享受得到艺术、音乐、教育、自然美景、娱乐等无数滋养灵魂的东西。那些在艺术或人文或休闲行业的人,或那些为建公园、游乐场和剧院慷慨解囊的人,为上帝所梦想的世界做出的贡献一点也不比商人或木匠少。

这也说明,在教会和教会生活上有投入,可以让基督徒的工作更有力量,这是很关键的。正如我们已经看到的那样,敬拜也与作善行微妙地联系到一起。也许我们应该把敬拜当作是可产生善行的活动而参与其中,而不单单当作是私下里的灵修或闲暇活动。此外,基督徒社群若能学会让上帝之道的属灵力量与伦理力量影响到经济、社会、政务、学术、医疗等工作领域,那它就会是经济、公民和社会福祉的一股强大的力量。

工作、敬拜与环境(哈该书1:1-2:19;撒迦利亚书7:8-14)

回到目录 回到目录

哈该把百姓的经济与社会福祉与环境状况联系了起来。哈该使用双关语把圣殿的荒凉(“荒凉”在希伯来文中用的是hareb一词,见该1:9)和土地的荒芜与歉收(“干旱”在希伯来文中用的是horeb一词)、以及接下来的“人民、牲畜,以及人手一切劳碌得来的”这一类安康的丧失联系起来。这一点在希伯来文中更为明显,而在中文译本中看不出来。(该1:11)。这一个联系的关键在于,圣殿是否安好,成了解读出百姓是否向上帝忠心的某种密码。由此可见,在敬拜、社会经济方面的安康、环境之间有着三向的联系。我们赖以生存的物质环境若有病,我们的社会就有病了,而社会不健康的症状之一就是它会让环境更加不健康。

一个社群的敬拜方式、对土地的照管方式和居民的经济与政治状况之间也有联系。先知呼吁我们再次学习这个功课,即尊重我们所居住的土地的创造者,是在土地和居民之间达成和平的起始点。对哈该来说,土地的干旱和圣殿的荒凉是不可分的。全心真诚的敬拜,会迎来和平和土地带来的福分。“……追想到立耶和华殿根基的日子。仓里有谷种吗?葡萄树、无花果树、石榴树、橄榄树都没有结果子。从今日起,我必赐福与你们”(该2:18-19)。撒迦利亚也把人的罪和土地的荒芜联系了起来。有权势的人“欺压寡妇、孤儿、寄居的和贫穷人”(撒迦利亚书7:10)。“使心硬如金刚石,不听律法和万军之耶和华用灵借从前的先知所说的话”(亚7:12)。结果,环境恶化,故此,“他们使美好之地荒凉了。”(亚7:14)。实际上,早在被掳之前很长时间,约珥就观察到环境开始恶化了。“葡萄树枯干,无花果树衰残;石榴树、棕树、苹果树,连田野一切的树木也都枯干;众人的喜乐尽都消灭”(约珥书1:12)。

既然工作和工作中的做法对于环境的优劣这么重要,我们这些基督徒若依照十二小先知书的异象来工作,我们就势必会给这颗行星及其居民带来深远的有益影响。[1] 对上帝忠心之人要扎实地学习如何以敬拜上帝为基础来工作,这是他们在环境方面肩负的紧迫责任。

上帝曾就洁净之事,借哈该之口讲过一长段的预言(该2:10-19),这段话也说明洁净与土地的安康之间是有联系的。上帝控诉说,因为百姓的不洁,“他们手下的各样工作都是如此。他们在坛上所献的也是如此”(该2:14)。这只是在敬拜与环境优劣之间更普遍的联系之一部分。一个可能的应用是:上帝把看顾环境的责任给了人类,那么人类就应该以可持续发展的做法来对待环境,这样,环境就是洁净的。这样看来,洁净牵涉到对被造秩序的完整、生态系统的健康、物种的繁衍和健康、生产力的再生有着最起码的尊重。在此,我们又回到基督徒当在工作中负责的主题上来。

这样看来,若十二小先知书中描述的荒凉乃是神对百姓犯罪的部分惩罚,那么土地重获生产力就是上帝让他们获得部分复兴。阿摩司曾在以色列繁荣的时节看到异象:百姓坐在自己栽种的无花果树下享受富足的生活。而撒迦利亚也确乎在极为不同的情形下看到了与此相类似的异象。“当那日,你们各人要请邻舍坐在葡萄树和无花果树下。这是万军之耶和华说的。”(亚3:10)。与上帝和好也包括照看好上帝所造的土地。当然,土地的生产力即或恢复了,也还是需要有人耕种,土地才有出产。这样看来,工作的世界是与实现丰盛的生命密不可分的。

For a further exploration of this link, see T.J. Meadowcroft, Haggai (Sheffield: Sheffield Phoenix Press, 2006), 238-42.

在工作中,既有罪,也有盼望(玛拉基书1:1-4:6)

回到目录 回到目录

就算是在恢复的阶段,人的罪一直也不远。玛拉基是复兴以后的第三位先知,就是他也曾指责百姓中有人骗取工人的工价,以此取利(玛3:5)。毫无奇怪,这样的人在奉献上也很吝啬,并因而污染了圣殿中的敬拜(玛1:8-19),结果,环境也恶化了(玛3:11)。

然而,先知的希望仍在,而工作就是这希望的核心。它起始于一个应许,应许圣殿的宗教/社会的基础设施将会得到恢复。“万军之耶和华说:我要差遣我的使者在我面前预备道路。你们所寻求的主必忽然进入他的殿;立约的使者,就是你们所仰慕的,快要来到。”(玛3:1)。接下去,环境会得到恢复。上帝应许说:“我必为你们斥责蝗虫”(玛3:11a),然后,“你们的地必成为喜乐之地”(玛3:12)。人们会按伦理去工作(玛3:14,18),结果经济会复苏,“你们的土产”和“你们田间的葡萄树”都会得到恢复”(玛3:11b)。

Faithful Work After the Exile—Haggai, Zechariah, Malachi

Bible Commentary / Produced by TOW Project

After the exile ended, Jewish civil society and religious life were restored in the land of God’s promise. Jerusalem and its temple were rebuilt, along with the economic, social and religious infrastructure of Jewish society. The Book of the Twelve now shifts to the challenges of work that follows sin and punishment.

The Need for Social Capital (Haggai 1:1-2:19)

Back to Table of Contents

One of the challenges we face in work is the temptation to put self and family ahead of society. The prophet Haggai paints a vivid picture of this challenge. He confronts people working hard to rebuild their own houses while neglecting to put resources into the rebuilding of the temple, the centre of the Jewish society. “Is it a time for you yourselves to live in your panelled houses, while this house lies in ruins?” (Haggai 1:4). He says that this failure to invest in social capital is actually diminishing their individual productivity.

You have sown much, and harvested little; you eat, but you never have enough; you drink, but you never have your fill; you clothe yourselves, but no one is warm; and you that earn wages earn wages to put them into a bag with holes. (Hag. 1:6)

As the Lord stirs up the spirit of the people and their leaders, they do begin to invest in rebuilding the temple and the fabric of society (Hag. 1:14-15).

Investing in social capital reminds us that there is no such thing as a “self-made man.” Although individual effort may create great wealth, each of us relies on resources and social infrastructure that originate ultimately in God. “I will fill this house with splendor, says the Lord of hosts. The silver is mine, and the gold is mine, says the Lord of hosts” (Hag. 2:7–8). Prosperity is not a matter only—or even primarily—of personal effort, but of a community grounded in God’s covenant. “In this place I will give prosperity, says the Lord of hosts.” (Hag. 2:9).

How foolish if we think we must provide for ourselves before we can afford to take time for God and the society of his people. The truth is that we cannot provide for ourselves except by the grace of God’s generosity and the mutual work of his community. This is the same concept behind the tithe. It is not a sacrifice of 10% of the harvest, but a blessing of 100% of the amazing yield of God’s creation.

In our own day, this reminds us of the importance of putting resources into the intangible aspects of life. Housing, food, automobiles, and other physical necessities are important. But God provides richly enough that we can also afford art, music, education, nature, recreation and the myriad things that feed the soul. Those who work in the arts or humanities or leisure industries, or put money towards the creation of parks and playgrounds and theatres are making every bit as much of a contribution to the world of which God dreams as the businessman or carpenter.

This also suggests that investing in churches and church life is crucial to empowering Christians’ work. Worship itself is intricately tied to doing good work, as we have seen, and perhaps we should engage in worship as formation for good work, rather than merely as private devotion or leisure. Moreover, the Christian community can be a powerful force for economic, civic and social well-being if it can learn to bring the spiritual and ethical power of God’s word to bear on matters of work in the economic, social, governmental, academic, medical, scientific and other matters of work.

Work, Worship and the Environment (Haggai 1:1-2:19; Zechariah 7:8-14)

Back to Table of Contents

Haggai connects the economic and social well-being of the people with the state of the environment. By means of a play on words more obvious in Hebrew than in the English translation, Haggai links the desolation of the temple (“in ruins,” Hebrew hareb, Hag. 1:9) with the desolation of land and its harvests (“drought,” Hebrew horeb) and the consequent ruination of the general wellness of “human beings and animals, and all their labours” (Hag. 1:11). The linchpin of this link is the health of the temple, which becomes a kind of cipher for the religious faithfulness or unfaithfulness of the people. So there is a three-way link among worship, socio-economic health, environment and worship. When there is disease in the physical environment on which we depend, there is disease in human society, and one of the marks of an unhealthy society is its contribution to the disease of the environment.

There is also a link between the way a community worships and cares for the land, and the economic and political condition of those who occupy the land. The prophets call us to re-learn the lesson that a respect for the creator of the earth we occupy is a starting point for peace between the earth and its inhabitants. For Haggai, the drought of the land and the ruin of the temple are inseparable. True and whole-hearted worship ushers in peace and blessing from the land. “Since the day that the foundation of the Lord’s temple was laid, consider: Is there any seed left in the barn? Do the vine, the fig tree, the pomegranate, and the olive tree still yield nothing? From this day on I will bless you” (Hag. 2:18–19). Zechariah, too, draws a link between human sin and desolation of the land. Those in power “oppress the widow, the orphan, the alien or the poor” (Zechariah 7:10). “They made their hearts adamant in order not to hear the law and the words that the Lord of hosts had sent” (Zech. 7:12). As a result, the environment became degraded, and thus “a pleasant land was made desolate.” (Zech. 7:14). Joel had observed the beginnings of this degradation long before the exile, in fact. “The vine withers, the fig tree droops. Pomegranate, palm, and apple—all the trees of the field are dried up; surely, joy withers away among the people” (Joel 1:12).

Given the importance of work and work practices to the wellbeing of the environment, if Christians were to do their work according to the vision of the Twelve Prophets, we could have a profoundly beneficial impact on the planet and all those who inhabit it.[1] It is the urgent environmental responsibility of the faithful to learn in concrete ways how to ground their work, in the worship of God.

Haggai’s long oracle on purity (Hag. 2:10-19) also suggests a link between purity and the health of the land. God complains that because of the people’s impurity, “with every work of their hands…what they offer there is unclean” (Hag. 2:14). This is part of the more general link between worship and the health of the environment. One possible application is that a pure environment means an environment being treated in sustainable ways by those to whom God has given responsibility for its wellbeing, namely humanity. Thus purity entails a fundamental respect for the integrity of the whole created order, the health of its ecospheres, the viability and wellbeing of its species, the renewability of its productivity. And so we return to the theme of Christians and responsible work practices.

Accordingly, if desolation is part of God’s punishment for the sin of the people reported in the Book of the Twelve, then productive ground is part of their restoration. Indeed, in quite different circumstances, Zechariah has a very similar vision to that of Amos during the time of Israelite prosperity: people experiencing wellbeing in the form of sitting under the fig trees that they planted. “On that day, says the Lord of hosts, you shall invite each other to come under your vine and fig tree” (Zech. 3:10). Peace with God includes care for the earth that God has made. Productive land, of course, has to be worked in order to yield its fruit. And so the world of work is intimately connected with the realisation of abundant life.

For a further exploration of this link, see T.J. Meadowcroft, Haggai (Sheffield: Sheffield Phoenix Press, 2006), 238-42.

Both Sin and Hope Remain Present in Work (Malachi 1:1-4:6)

Back to Table of Contents

God Don't Never Change (Click Here to Read)

In this daily reflection on Malachi 3 from The High Calling, Mark Roberts considers how God's justice is always shaped by his grace and mercy; therefore we can face transitions in our life with hope.

Even in the time of restoration, human sin is never far away. Malachi, the third of the restoration prophets, complains that some of the people begin to profit by defrauding labourers of their wages (Mal. 3:5). Not surprisingly, such people also pollute the temple worship by stinting what they contribute in offerings (Mal. 1:8-19), and as a result the environment is also degraded (Mal. 3:11).

Yet the hope of the prophets remains, and work is at the centre of it. It begins with a promise to restore the religious/social infrastructure of the temple. “See, I am sending my messenger to prepare the way before me, and the Lord whom you seek will suddenly come to his temple. The messenger of the covenant in whom you delight—indeed, he is coming, says the Lord of hosts” (Mal. 3:1). It proceeds with the restoration of the environment. “I will rebuke the locust” (Mal. 3:11a), God promises, and then “you will be a land of delight” (Mal. 3:12). People go about their work ethically (Mal. 3:14, 18), and as a result the economy is restored, including “the produce of your soil” and “your vine in the field” (Mal. 3:11b).



Our free online resources depend on your support! For a limited time, all donations will be matched dollar-for-dollar, up to $100,000. Don't miss this opportunity to help Christians connect the Bible to everyday work.

Donate