約翰二書與工作

聖經註釋 / 工作神學項目出品

約翰二書符合大公書信(General Epistles)的總體框架,同時提供了對基督裏生活和工作的見解。它很簡短,但充滿了實用的指導。

用愛心說誠實話(約翰二書1-11)

回到目錄 回到目錄

工作中的真理與愛(約翰二書1-6)

約翰的每一封信都具有鮮明的特徵,都將“真理”和“愛”結合爲一體(約一3:18; 約翰二書1節,3節;約3:3)。在約翰二書中,我們發現這個概念得到了最大限度的發展。

恩惠、憐憫、平安從父神和他兒子耶穌基督,在真理和愛心上,必常與我們同在!我見你的兒女有照我們從父所受之命令遵行真理的,就甚歡喜。 太太啊,我現在勸你:我們大家要彼此相愛。這並不是我寫一條新命令給你,乃是我們從起初所受的命令。(約二3-5)

照約翰所講的,愛加真理構成了“恩惠、憐憫與平安與我們同在”的環境。

令人遺憾的是,我們經常表現得彷彿恩惠、憐憫和平安僅僅依賴於愛,而不需要真理一樣。我們在工作中與他人溝通,可能會隱瞞或遮蓋令人不舒服的真理,因爲我們錯誤地以爲講真理就不是在愛別人。或者我們可能擔心,說實話會導致衝突或敵意,而不是帶來恩惠或平安。我們既然認爲自己是仁慈的,就不肯說出真理。

但愛必須始終以真理爲出發點。愛通過基督來到我們身上,而基督是神真理的完美化身。也就是說,神知道事物的本來面目,並且他將他的知識包裹在愛中,並通過他的兒子把它帶給我們。所以,但凡我們要以神的愛來愛,我們就必須從真理出發,而不是採用虛僞、逃避或者童話的方式。確實,說實話可能會導致衝突,或者讓我們自己與別人心情煩亂。但真正的恩惠、憐憫和與平安,源於面對現實、克服重重困難以獲得真正的解決方案。

通用電氣(美國)前首席執行官傑克·韋爾奇(Jack Welch)是一個有爭議的人物,部分原因是他的提供真實、坦率的績效評估的做法。每個月,他都讓員工瞭解他們達到預期的程度如何。一年一次,他告訴他們,他們是否是優秀員工,還是需要在特定領域進行改進普通員工,或是有失業危險的末位員工。[1] 有些人可能認爲這麼做是苛刻的,但韋爾奇把它視爲對員工的愛護:

我開始意識到,最糟糕的經理就是善良用錯了地方的那種。我告訴人們,你認爲你當個和藹的管理者,就自然是一個好的管理者麼?你知道以後的發展嗎?有一天你會離開那個崗位。你將會升職,或者會退休。而新來的經理會對某位員工說:“喂,你表現得不怎麼好。”而時光飛逝,這位員工已經53或者55歲了,生活的選擇已經大大的減少了。現在你要告訴他,“下崗”?這怎麼能說是好心呢?你纔是最殘忍的管理者。[2]

真實的代價(約翰二書7-11)

約翰提醒我們,“世上有許多迷惑人的出來“(約二7),並且說出真相可能使我們與那些靠欺詐得利的人發生衝突。我們是不顧反對地說出真相,還是共同參與欺騙?如果我們選擇欺騙,我們至少要承認我們不再是誠實的人。 (關於這個話題的更多內容,請參閱www.theologyofwork.org網站,“不可作假見證陷害人”,申5:20; 出20:16)

後來成爲美國鑄幣局負責人的艾德·莫伊(Ed Moy)講述了他在大學期間第一份工作的故事。當他開始工作時,他必須填寫一份關於他使用公司車輛的費用報告,把他因私用車的時間和因公用車的時間分開填寫。辦公室的慣例是僅將從家庭到公司的行程算爲因私用車,而將其餘部分作爲因公用車,即使某個行程是爲了個人的目的也不例外。當艾德照實提交了他的因私用車時間表時,他的老闆幾乎要解僱他,並解釋說:“我們的薪水太少了,這是我們獲得更多收入的方法。你的報告會讓其他人很難堪。”艾德有禮貌地說:“如果你需要的話,你可以解僱我。但是,你真的想要一個爲你工作的人在這樣的小事上說謊麼?當面對更大的利害關係時,你怎麼能相信那個人?”艾德保住了他的工作,雖然過渡時期有點困難![3]

我們如何與詭詐之人和虛假教師打交道呢?艾德的例子表明,切斷聯繫並不一定是最好的解決方案。留在欺騙的環境中並說實話,也許比拂袖而去更能體現真理與愛的結合。此外,如果我們與所有欺騙過別人的人切斷聯繫,那還有剩下的人麼?甚至我們自己也難免欺騙過別人。

“Should I Rank My Employees?” Wall Street Journal, April 7, 2009, http://guides.wsj.com/management/recruiting-hiring-and-firing/should-i-rank-my-employees.

Jack Welch, in “What I’ve Learned: Jack Welch” Esquire, December 31, 2006, www.esquire.com/news-politics/interviews/a2380/wil0104jackwelch/#ixzz2nkRA41TP.

Ed Moy, “Faith and Work: Spiritual Insights from a Career in Business & Public Service,” at Kiros, Seattle, October 11, 2013. Audio recording available at https://kiros.org/category/ed-moy/.

當面溝通的價值(約翰二書12–13)

回到目錄 回到目錄

約翰說以他期待能當面繼續這個對話,並以此結束了這封信。“我還有許多事要寫給你們,卻不願意用紙墨寫出來,但盼望到你們那裏,與你們當面談論”(約二12)。也許他意識到,如果他使用信件這種缺少人情味的媒介來傳遞的更多的看法,有可能被人誤解。這爲我們交流敏感的信息提供了寶貴的洞見——即使距離讓雙方的見面有些難度,有些事情還是當面表達更好。

在二十一世紀的工作場所,我們發現個人溝通面臨更爲複雜的挑戰。今天,遠程通信的選擇有視頻會議、電話、短信、信件、電子郵件、社交媒體和許多其他的方式。但是有效的溝通仍然需要將媒介與消息的性質相匹配。例如,電子郵件可能是用來下訂單最有效的媒介,但可能並不適用於溝通業績評估。信息越是複雜或者對情感的挑戰越大,就越需要直接和個人化的媒介。Intel公司前高級副總裁帕特·基辛格(Pat Gelsinger)說:

我有一條個人的原則。如果我和某人在電子郵件中就相同的主題來來回回溝通了四五次,我就會停下來,不再繼續寫郵件。我們會打電話,或者面對面溝通。我認識到,如果你們不能快速解決這個問題,那麼當碰面時,其中一個人會對另一個人很惱火。你認爲他們無能,因爲他們無法理解你所描述的最簡單的事情。但這卻應歸咎於媒介;講明這一點十分重要。[1]

將錯誤的媒介用於特定的溝通上很容易導致誤解,使得真相無法得到傳達。並且錯誤的媒介也可能會阻礙愛意的表達。所以,選擇恰當的溝通媒介,對傳遞真相及向同事表達愛意是非常重要的。即使是在困難的對話中,我們也需要以尊重和同情來溝通。特別是當我們與不喜歡的人溝通時,就更是如此。有時這意味着要面對面地溝通,即使這會令人不方便或者不舒服。

Pat Gelsinger, “Faster Chips, More Opportunity?” interview in Ethix 57 (January/February 2008), ethix.org/2008/02/01/faster-chips-more-opportunity.

2 John and Work

Bible Commentary / Produced by TOW Project

The Second Letter of John fits into the overall framework of the General Epistles, while offering its own insights about life and work in Christ. It is short, but full of practical instruction.

Truthfulness (2 John 1–11)

Back to Table of Contents

Truth and Love at Work (2 John 1–6)

Each of John’s letters is notable for bringing the concepts “truth” and “love” together into a single idea (1 John 3:18; 2 John 1, 3; 3 John 3). Here in 2 John, we find the most extended development of this idea.

Grace, mercy, and peace will be with us from God the Father and from Jesus Christ, the Father’s Son, in truth and love. I was overjoyed to find some of your children walking in the truth, just as we have been commanded by the Father. But now, dear lady, I ask you, not as though I were writing you a new commandment, but one we have had from the beginning, let us love one another. (2 John 3–5)

According to John, love plus truth equals an environment in which “grace, mercy and peace will be with us.”

Regrettably, we often act as though grace, mercy, and peace depend on love minus truth. We may hide or shade uncomfortable truths in our communications with others at work in the misguided belief that telling the truth would not be loving. Or we may fear that telling the truth will lead to conflict or ill will, rather than grace or peace. Thinking we are being merciful, we fail to tell the truth.

But love must always begin with the truth. Love comes to us through Christ, and Christ is the perfect embodiment of the truth of God. That is to say, God knows the way things really are, and he wraps his knowledge in love and brings it to us through his Son. So if we are ever to love as God loves, we must begin with the truth, not with falsity, evasion, or fairy­tales. It is true that telling the truth may lead to conflict or upset feel-ings—ours or others’. But genuine grace, mercy, and peace come from facing reality and working through difficulties to genuine resolutions.

Jack Welch, a former CEO of General Electric (USA), was a con­troversial figure due in part to his practice of giving truthful, candid performance reviews. He let employees know on a monthly basis how well they were meeting expectations. Once a year he told them whether they were top performers, middle performers who needed to improve in specific areas, or bottom performers who were in danger of losing their jobs.[1] Some may regard this as harsh, but Welch regarded it as loving:

I’ve come to learn that the worst kind of manager is the one who practices false kindness. I tell people, You think you’re a nice manager, that you’re a kind manager? Well, guess what? You won’t be there someday. You’ll be promoted. Or you’ll retire. And a new manager will come in and look at the employee and say, “Hey, you’re not that good.” And all of a sudden, this employee is now fifty-three or fifty-five, with many fewer options in life. And now you’re gonna tell him, “Go home”? How is that kind? You’re the cruelest kind of manager.[2]

The Cost of Truthfulness (2 John 7–11)

“Many deceivers have gone out into the world,” John reminds us (2 John 7), and telling the truth can bring us into conflict with those who benefit from deception. Do we choose to tell the truth despite opposi­tion, or do we participate in the deception? If we choose deception, we had better at least admit that we are no longer honest people. (See “You Shall Not Bear False Witness Against Your Neighbor” in Deuteronomy 5:20; Exodus 20:16 at www.theologyofwork.org for more on this topic.)

Ed Moy, later to become the head of the U.S. Mint, tells the story of his first job out of college. When he started the job, he had to fill out an expense report for his use of the company car, identifying his personal use of the car and separating this from his company use. The practice in the office had been had been to list personal use only for the travel from home to work, claiming the rest as company use even if the purpose of the trip was personal. When Ed honestly broke out his personal use, his boss almost fired him, explaining, “We are underpaid, and this is our way to gain more income. Your report will make the rest of us look bad.” Ed respectfully said, “You can fire me if that is what you need to do. But would you really want someone working for you who would lie over such a small thing? How could you trust that person when the stakes were higher?” Ed kept his job, though the transition was a bit difficult![3]

What are we to do about relationships with deceitful people and false teachers? Ed’s example suggests that breaking off contact is not necessarily the best solution. We may be able to do more for the cause of truth and love by remaining engaged and telling the truth in the midst of deception than by leaving the scene. Besides, if we broke contact with everyone who ever practiced deception, would anyone be left, even ourselves?

“Should I Rank My Employees?” Wall Street Journal, April 7, 2009, http://guides.wsj.com/management/recruiting-hiring-and-firing/should-i-rank-my-employees.

Jack Welch, in “What I’ve Learned: Jack Welch” Esquire, December 31, 2006, www.esquire.com/news-politics/interviews/a2380/wil0104jackwelch/#ixzz2nkRA41TP.

Ed Moy, “Faith and Work: Spiritual Insights from a Career in Business & Public Service,” at Kiros, Seattle, October 11, 2013. Audio recording available at http://kiros.btexpo.ws/media.

The Value of In-Person Communications (2 John 12–13)

Back to Table of Contents

John ends the letter by saying that he wants to continue the conver­sation in person. “Although I have much to write to you, I would rather not use paper and ink; instead I hope to come to you and talk with you face to face” (2 John 12). Perhaps he realizes that whatever else he has to communicate could be misunderstood if presented in the impersonal medium of writing a letter. This gives us a valuable insight about sen­sitive communications—some things are better said in person, even if distance makes it difficult to see one another face to face.

In twenty-first-century workplaces we find even more complex chal­lenges to personal communication. Remote communication choices today include video conferencing, telephone, texting, letter, e-mail, social media, and many other variations. But effective communication still requires matching the medium to the nature of the message. E-mail might be the most effective medium for placing an order, for example, but probably not for communicating a performance review. The more complicated or emotionally challenging the message, the more immedi­ate and personal the medium needs to be. Pat Gelsinger, former senior vice president at Intel Corporation, says,

I have a personal rule. If I go back and forth with somebody in email more than four or five times on the same topic, I stop. No more. We get on the phone, or we get together face to face. I have learned that if you don’t resolve something quickly, by the time you get together one of you is mad at the other person. You think they are incompetent since they could not understand the most straightforward thing that you were describing. But it is because of the medium, and it is important to account for this.[1]

The wrong medium for a particular communication can easily lead to misunderstanding, which is failure to transmit the truth. And the wrong medium can also get in the way of showing love. So choosing the right medium for communication is an essential aspect of communicating truth and showing love to people with whom we work. We need to com­municate with respect and compassion, even in difficult conversations, and especially when we communicate with people we don’t like very much. Sometimes this means meeting face to face, even if it is inconve­nient or uncomfortable.

Pat Gelsinger, “Faster Chips, More Opportunity?” interview in Ethix 57 (January/February 2008), ethix.org/2008/02/01/faster-chips-more-opportunity.



Our free online resources depend on your support! For a limited time, all donations will be matched dollar-for-dollar, up to $100,000. Don't miss this opportunity to help Christians connect the Bible to everyday work.

Donate