約翰三書與工作

聖經註釋 / 工作神學項目出品

和約翰二書一樣,約翰三書很簡短,僅有一章。儘管如此,它包含兩個可以應用於工作的段落。

在工作中閒言碎語的例子(約翰三書1-12)

回到目錄 回到目錄

約翰致信給一位名叫該猶的“同工”( 約三8)。當約翰說:“我願你凡事興盛,身體健壯,正如你的靈魂興盛一樣”( 約三2),顯示了他個人的關切。他關注同工的身體(健康)和靈魂。這本身就是一條關於工作場所的重要教訓——即不要僅僅將同事視爲工人,而應該將其視爲一個個整全的人。

然後,約翰拿自己作例子,講論了在工作中沒有得到善待的人。約翰說,一位名爲丟特腓的教會成員一直在試圖通過“用惡言妄論我們”(約三10),來破壞“我們的權柄”。在約翰的三封信中,他主要的關切就是要將真理和愛結合起來(約三1)。丟特腓所做的卻恰恰相反——在恨中說謊言。按照更爲生動的新國際版聖經的翻譯,當約翰說“我會呼籲人們注意他所做的,就是以惡意散佈關於我們的閒言碎語”(三10,新國際版),你幾乎可以感受到約翰的痛苦。

而更讓人痛苦是,丟特腓也是位基督徒。這提醒我們,成爲一個基督徒本身並不能使我們完美。毫無疑問,丟特腓認爲自己是正確的。我們認爲是虛假流言的話語,他卻有充分的理由,將其不過視爲可以保護他人的警告。

當我們在工作場所對他人進行評價時,是否對自己或他人造成了不利的印象呢?有個簡單的測試,可以幫助我們以別人看待我們的方式來看待自己。如果我們談論的對象也在房間裏,我們還會以同樣的方式談論他們嗎?如果不會的話,我們就很可能讓我們談論的對象給別人留下了錯誤的印象,同時也讓我們自己給別人留下了壞的印象。雖然約翰對丟特腓有抱怨,他卻沒有說閒話。他知道他的信將在教會中被大聲朗讀出來,所以他的抱怨將會在大庭廣眾之下被丟特腓聽到並作出迴應。

給對手一個機會來回應自己的抱怨,這對將真理和愛結合在一起的約翰來講,是個基本的要求。他相信他對丟特腓的抱怨是有理有據的,但他也意識到他的對手應該有機會爲自己解釋或者辯護。這與今天許多公眾人士所引導的媒體審判運動有天壤之別——在這種運動中,影射與侮辱通過大眾傳媒傳播開來,而對方毫無機會在相同的規模上做出迴應。

這個原則不僅適用於我們談論個人,也適用於談論團體。詆譭一個團體和誹謗個人同樣地糟糕,甚至可能更壞。事實上,工作中對某些人的區別對待,往往始於將他們視爲劣等或危險羣體的成員。每當我們聽到這種情況發生時,都是給我們機會,讓我們爲反對偏見和連坐發聲,並要我們支持爲具體情況找到真相。

約翰對攜帶這封信的弟兄底米丟的稱讚也很有意思。約翰利用他作爲教會領袖的影響力,在該猶和他的教會前擡舉了底米丟。約翰因底米丟按真理生活以及眾信徒給予他的尊敬而稱讚他。即使福音沒有得到公開地認可,但工作中的領導者仍可以利用自己的權力和影響力有效地達至真理、正義、愛和憐憫。

提名問候(約翰三書13-15)

回到目錄 回到目錄

這封書信結束的方式與約翰二書相同。約翰要以面對面的而不是筆墨的方式來溝通其他的事情(約三13-14)。但是在約翰三書裏有個變化,爲我們的日常工作提供了另一個見解。最後,約翰補充道,“請你替我按着姓名問眾位朋友安。”約翰意識到,使用人們的名字,在溝通中更能增加一種個人性的感觸。

我們許多人在工作的過程中,要面對面地接觸數百人。在某種程度上,我們需要與他們中的每一個人都進行溝通,即使只是爲了避免在走廊上撞到對方。其中有多少人,我們熟悉到可以在打招呼時叫出他們的名字呢?你知道你老闆的老闆的老闆的名字嗎?也許知道。你知道爲你的工作場所倒垃圾的人的名字嗎?如果你與他人有衝突,那你在和他們打招呼時還會叫他們的名字麼?組織裏新來的人說不定什麼時候就會需要你的幫助,你能叫出他們的名字麼?那些你懶得了解也不瞭解的名字,正揭露了你尊敬和同情他人的程度。而約翰非常在意提名問候每一個人。

3 John and Work

Bible Commentary / Produced by TOW Project

Like 2 John, 3 John is so short that is not divided into chapters. Nonetheless, it contains two passages applicable to work.

Gossip (3 John 1–12)

Back to Table of Contents

John addresses the letter to a “co-worker” (2 John 8) named Gaius. John demonstrates a personal touch when he says, “I pray that all may go well with you, and that you may be in good health, just as it is well with your soul” (3 John 2). He pays attention to his co-worker’s body (health) and soul. By itself, this is an important lesson for the workplace—not to see colleagues merely as workers but as whole people.

John then offers himself as an example of someone who is not being treated well in his work. A member of the congregation named Diotrephes has been trying to undermine “our authority,” John says, by “spreading false charges against us” (3 John 10). In all three of his let­ters, John’s primary concern has been bringing together truth and love (3 John 1). Diotrephes is doing the complete opposite—speaking falsely in hate. You can almost feel John’s pain as he says—to use the more dra­matic translation of the New International Version—“I will call attention to what he is doing, gossiping maliciously about us” (3 John 10, NIV).

It is doubly painful that Diotrephes is a believer. This reminds us that being a Christian does not by itself make us perfect. No doubt Diotrephes thinks of himself in the right. What we recognize as false gossip, he may well consider simply warning others so they can protect themselves.

When we give our opinion of others in our places of work, do we ever make unfavorable impressions about ourselves or others? One simple test would help us see ourselves as others see us. Would we talk about people the same way if they were in the room? If not, we are very likely giving a false impression of those we’re speaking about, as well as giv­ing a bad impression about ourselves. John, while he has a complaint about Diotrephes, is not gossiping. He knows that his letter will be read aloud in the church, so his complaint will be in the open for Diotrephes to hear and respond to.

Giving his opponent an opportunity to respond to his complaint is an essential element of John’s combining of truth and love. He believes that his complaint against Diotrephes is true, yet he recognizes that his opponent deserves an opportunity to explain or defend himself. How different from the kind of trial-by-press campaigns conducted by many public figures today, in which insinuations are spread through the mass media, where there is no opportunity to respond on the same scale.

This principle applies not only to how we speak of individuals but also groups. To collectively denigrate others is as bad as, if not worse than, gossiping or slandering an individual. Virtually every kind of un­just treatment of people at work begins by casting them as members of an inferior or dangerous group. Whenever we hear this happening, it signals our opportunity to speak out against prejudice and guilt by as­sociation and in favor of finding the truth of the specific situation.

John’s commendation of Demetrius, the brother carrying the letter, is also interesting. John uses his influence as a leader in the church to raise up Demetrius to Gaius and his church. John commends Demetrius for both his life of truth and the respect given him by fellow believers. Leaders in the workplace can use their power and influence effectively toward the end of truth, justice, love, and mercy, even when the gospel is not outwardly acknowledged.

Greet People by Name (3 John 13–15)

Back to Table of Contents

The letter ends with the same thought that concludes 2 John. John has things to communicate that would be better said face to face than in pen and ink (3 John 13–14). But there is a twist in 3 John that offers another insight for our daily work. At the very end, John adds, “Greet the friends there, each by name.” Speaking a person’s name adds further to the personal touch that John recognizes is needed in communication.

Many of us come face to face with hundreds of people in the course of our work. To some degree, we need to communicate with each of them, even if only to avoid knocking into each other in the hallway. How many of them do we know well enough to greet by name? Do you know your boss’s boss’s boss’s name? Probably. Do you know the name of the person who empties the trash in your workplace? Do you greet people by name when you are in conflict with them? Do you learn the names of newcomers to the organization who may need your help at some point? The names you bother to learn and those you don’t can reveal a lot about your level of respect and compassion for people. John cares enough to greet “each” person by name.



Our free online resources depend on your support! For a limited time, all donations will be matched dollar-for-dollar, up to $100,000. Don't miss this opportunity to help Christians connect the Bible to everyday work.

Donate