早期的旅行(可 1:21-45)

圣经注释 / 工作神学项目出品

马可福音有一大段材料(马可福音1:21-34)发生在安息日,也即休息的那天。在这段叙事中,有一些事情发生在犹太会堂中(马可福音1:21-28)。每周的工作,休息和崇拜都融入耶稣自己的生活中,既不被忽视也不被丢弃,这一点具有重要意义。在我们的时代,这样的作法已经大大减少,我们需要提醒自己,耶稣支持这种每周有节奏的生活方式。当然,耶稣在这一天也做他的工作,传扬真理和医治,这一点同样重要。后来,这将会使他与法利赛人发生冲突。这段经文也强调,安息日不仅是离开工作的休息日,而且也是一个积极付出爱和仁慈的日子。[1]

耶稣除了维持每星期的节奏,还有每日的节奏。安息日之后,天仍然“非常黑”的时候,耶稣就起来祈祷了(马可福音1:35)。他每天的首要任务是与神联系。强调耶稣独自一人祷告是十分重要的,因为这突出了祷告不是公开表演,而是个人的交流。

人祷告是十分重要的,因为这突出了祷告不是公开表演,而是个人的交流。对于许多工作的基督徒来说,每天祷告似乎是一个非常困难的做法。在一早起来照顾家庭,漫长的通勤时间,希望早早开始工作可以完成一天的责任,到晚上需要结束当天的工作(或者娱乐)之间,似乎不可能建立起固定的晨祷习惯。晚上的时间就更为困难了。 对那些因为工作繁忙而没有每天祷告或者不能每天祷告的人,马可没有加以责备和判断。但是他却刻画了比身边任何一个人都要忙碌的耶稣,每天为了工作和神安排他遇到的人祷告。在工作生活的压力下,每天的祷告似乎是我们无法负担的个人奢侈品。然而,耶稣无法想象没有祷告就开始工作,就像我们大多数人都无法想象不穿鞋子就去工作一样。

固定时间祷告是一件好事,但这不是祈祷的唯一方式。我们也可以在工作中祷告。许多人认为,一天中多次简短的祷告是一种有帮助的方法。公祷书(可在此处在线访问)的《个人和家庭的日常灵修》(136-143页)一章,充分考虑了一天中生活和工作的节奏,提供了早晨、中午、下午和晚上的基本祷告结构。更加简单的例子包括从一个工作任务切换到另一个任务时,做一两句话的祷告,不用闭上眼睛的祷告,在饭前默默地或大声地感谢,随身带一个小物件或者经句卡片,作为祷告或别的许多事项的提醒。在许多帮助建立日常祷告节奏的书籍中,Joyce Huggett的《Finding God in the Fast Lane》[2],以及 Dallas Willard的《The Spirit of the Disciplines》等。[3]

David Shepherd, Seeking Sabbath: A Personal Journey (Oxford: Bible Reading Fellowship, 2007) is a helpful and thought-provoking reflection on the significance of the Sabbath for the contemporary world and highly recommended for further reading.

Joyce Huggett, Finding God in the Fast Lane (Eagle, 1993).

Dallas Willard, The Spirit of the Disciplines: Understanding How God Changes Lives (San Francisco: Harper and Row, 1988).

The First Days of the Movement (Mark 1:21-45)

Bible Commentary / Produced by TOW Project

A major block of material (Mark 1:21-34) takes place on the Sabbath, the day of rest. Within this block, some of the action is located in the synagogue (Mark 1:21-28). It is significant that the weekly routine of work, rest, and worship is integrated into Jesus’ own life and is neither ignored nor discarded. In our own age, where such a practice has been greatly diminished, it is important to remind ourselves that this weekly rhythm was endorsed by Jesus. Of course, it is also significant that Jesus does his work of both truth and healing on this day. This will later bring him into conflict with the Pharisees. It also highlights that the Sabbath is not just a day of rest from work, but also a day of active love and mercy.[1]

As well as the weekly rhythm, there is also a daily rhythm. Following the Sabbath, Jesus rises while it is still “very dark” to pray (Mark 1:35). His first priority of the day is to connect with God. The emphasis on the solitude of Jesus in this time of prayer is important, stressing that this prayer is not a public performance, but a matter of personal communion.

Work as Prayerful Activity (Click Here to Read)

In this sermon based on Mark 6, George Cladis argues that we should link the tasks we do at work to prayerful activity, meeting needs for our God of extravagant love. You can make a difference for the Kingdom of God in your home, your cubicle, your office, your trade—wherever you conduct your work as prayerful activity.

Daily prayer seems to be an extremely difficult practice for many workplace Christians. Between early morning family responsibilities, long commutes, early working hours, a desire to get ahead of the day’s responsibilities, and late nights needed to accomplish the day’s work (or entertainment), it seems almost impossible to establish a consistent routine of morning prayer. And later in the day is harder still. Nowhere does Mark depict judgment against those who do not or cannot pray daily about the work that lies ahead of them. But he does depict Jesus — busier than anyone around him — praying about the work and the people God sets before him every day. Amid the pressures of working life, daily prayer may seem to be a personal luxury we can’t afford to indulge. Jesus, however, couldn’t imagine going to his work without prayer, much as most of us couldn’t imagine going to work without shoes.

Regular time set apart for prayer is a good thing, but it is not the only way to pray. We can also pray in the midst of our work. One practice many have found helpful is to pray very briefly at multiple times during the day. “Daily Devotions for Individuals and Families,” found in the Book of Common Prayer (pages 136-143) (available online here), provides brief structures for prayer in the morning, at noon, in the later afternoon and at night, taking account of the rhythms of life and work during the day. Even briefer examples include a one- or two-sentence prayer when moving from one task to another, praying with eyes open, offering thanks silently or out loud before meals, keeping an object or verse of Scripture in a pocket as a reminder to pray and many others. Among the many books that help establish a daily prayer rhythm are Finding God in the Fast Lane by Joyce Huggett[2] and The Spirit of the Disciplines by Dallas Willard.[3]

David Shepherd, Seeking Sabbath: A Personal Journey (Oxford: Bible Reading Fellowship, 2007) is a helpful and thought-provoking reflection on the significance of the Sabbath for the contemporary world and highly recommended for further reading.

Joyce Huggett, Finding God in the Fast Lane (Eagle, 1993).

Dallas Willard, The Spirit of the Disciplines: Understanding How God Changes Lives (San Francisco: Harper and Row, 1988).



    Our free online resources depend on your support! For a limited time, all donations will be matched dollar-for-dollar, up to $100,000. Don't miss this opportunity to help Christians connect the Bible to everyday work.

    Donate