十字架与复活(可14:32-16:8)

圣经注释 / 工作神学项目出品

当耶稣面对审判、被钉十字架时,地位和恩典的话题再次回到了前台。“因为人子来,并不是要受人的服事,乃是要服事人,并且要捨命作多人的赎价”(可10:45)。即使对他来说,服侍之路也意味着要放弃所有的地位:

“子将要被交给祭司长和文士,他们要定他死罪,交给外邦人。他们要戏弄他,吐唾沫在他脸上,鞭打他,杀害他。过了叁天,他要复活。”(可10:33-34)。

人们曾正确地宣告说,耶稣就是弥赛亚和君王(马可福音11:8-11)。但他抛开了自己的地位,任凭犹太公会(马可福音14:53-65)对他加以无理指控 ,经受了罗马政府残忍的审判(马可福音15:1-15),并死在他前来拯救的人类手中(马可福音15:21-41)。他自己的门徒背叛他(马可福音14:43-49),否认他(马可福音14:66-72),抛弃他(马可福音14:50-51),只剩下几个一直支持他事工的女人还留在身边。他以绝对谦卑的姿态被上帝和人所遗弃,只为了赐给我们永生。在极度痛苦之中,他感到自己被神离弃了(马可福音15:34)。马可福音与其他福音书一道记录了他痛苦呼喊诗篇22:1的情景,“我的神!我的神!为甚么离弃我?”(可15:34)。在十字架上,耶稣的最后工作是容纳了世上所有的遗弃。也许对于他来说,被误解、嘲笑和离弃,与被人杀害一样的难以承受。他知道死亡将在几天后过去,但直到今天我们仍然在误解、嘲弄和遗弃他。
今天也有许多人感到自己被朋友、家人、社会,甚至神所遗弃。在工作中,这种被离弃的感觉可能十分强烈。我们可能被同事边缘化,被劳动和危险所压垮,忧虑自己的工作表现,害怕被裁员的前景,因为薪水不足、福利微薄而陷入绝望,正如Studs Terkel在《工作(Working)》 一书中令人印象深刻的描写一样。Terkel笔下的接待员莎伦·阿特金斯(Sharon Atkins)说出了许多人的心声。“我一早就开始哭泣。我不想起床。我害怕周五,因为周一已经慢慢迫近了。前面还有五天的工作。仿佛永远没有结束的日子。我为何要做这些事呢?”[1]

但是对那些接受上帝恩典的人来说,这恩典甚至可以克服工作和生活所带来的最大的打击。当耶稣献上自己的时候,上帝的恩典触动了在场所有的人,以至于百夫长承认:“这人真是神的儿子!”(马可福音15:39)。当耶稣复活的时候,这恩典就战胜了死亡本身。几位妇人从上帝那里听见,“他已经复活了”(马可福音16:6)。在“马可福音1:1-13 ”一节中 ,我们注意到它突然的结束。这不仅是写给宗教信徒的一个漂亮故事,而且也是上帝对我们粗糙、肮脏、破碎的生活和工作的打磨和干预。那被钉十字架的罪犯的空空坟墓,比我们大多数人所能忍受的苦难更有力地证明了“有许多在前的,将要在后,在后的,将要在前”这句话(可10:31)。然而,这奇异恩典乃是我们的工作可以“在今世得百倍”的方式,也是引向我们“在来世必得永生”的道路(马可福音10:30)。难怪她们会“又发抖又惊奇,甚么也不告诉人,因为他们害怕“(马可福音16:8)。

Studs Terkel, Working (New York, The New Press, 1972), 31.

The Cross and Resurrection (Mark 14:32-16:8)

Bible Commentary / Produced by TOW Project

The topics of status and grace return to the fore as Jesus faces his trial and crucifixion. “The Son of Man came not to be served but to serve, and to give his life a ransom for many” (Mark 10:45). Even for him the path of service requires renouncing all status:

The Son of Man will be handed over to the chief priests and the scribes, and they will condemn him to death; then they will hand him over to the Gentiles; they will mock him, and spit upon him, and flog him, and kill him; and after three days he will rise again. (Mark 10:33–34)

The people — correctly — proclaim Jesus as Messiah and King (Mark 11:8-11). But he sets aside this status and submits to false accusations by the Jewish council (Mark 14:53-65), an inept trial by the Roman government (Mark 15:1-15), and death at the hands of the humanity he came to save (Mark 15:21-41). His own disciples betray (Mark 14:43-49), deny (Mark 14:66-72), and desert him (Mark 14:50-51), except for a number of the women who had supported his work all along. He takes the absolute lowest place, forsaken by God and men and women, in order to grant us eternal life. At the bitter end, he feels abandoned by God himself (Mark 15:34). Mark, alone among the Gospels, records him crying the words of Psalm 22:1, “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?” (Mark 15:34). On the cross, Jesus’ final work is to absorb all of the world’s forsakenness. Perhaps being misunderstood, mocked, and deserted was as hard on him, as was being put to death. He was aware that his death would be overcome in a few days, yet the misunderstanding, mockery, and desertion continue to this day.

Many today also feel abandoned by friends, family, society, even God. The sense of abandonment at work can feel very strong. We can be marginalized by co-workers, crushed by labour and danger, anxious about our performance, frightened by the prospect of layoffs, and made desperate by inadequate pay and meagre benefits, as was so memorably described in Studs Terkel’s book, Working. The words of Sharon Atkins, a receptionist in Terkel’s book, speak for many people. “I’d cry in the morning. I didn’t want to get up. I’d dread Fridays because Monday was always looming over me. Another five days ahead of me. There never seemed to be any end to it. Why am I doing this?”[1]

But God’s grace overcomes even the most crushing blows of work and life for those who will accept it. God’s grace touches people from the immediate moment of Jesus’ submission, when the centurion recognizes, “Truly this man was God’s Son!” (Mark 15:39). Grace triumphs over death itself when Jesus is restored to life. The women receive word from God that “he has been raised” (Mark 16:6). In the section on Mark 1:1-13, we noted the abruptness of the ending. This is not a pretty story for religious pageants but God’s gut-wrenching intervention in the grit and grime of our ragged lives and work. The busted tomb of the crucified criminal is more proof than most of us can stand that “many who are first will be last, and the last will be first” (Mark 10:31). Yet this amazing grace is the one way our work can yield “a hundredfold now in this age” and our lives lead into “the age to come, eternal life” (Mark 10:30). No wonder that “terror and amazement had seized them; and they said nothing to anyone, for they were afraid” (Mark 16:8).

Studs Terkel, Working (New York, The New Press, 1972), 31.



    Our free online resources depend on your support! For a limited time, all donations will be matched dollar-for-dollar, up to $100,000. Don't miss this opportunity to help Christians connect the Bible to everyday work.

    Donate