激情,家庭和工作(歌3:1-8:5)

圣经注释 / 工作神学项目出品

这一系列的诗歌,描述了男人和女人的婚姻和结合。女人渴望见到男人( 歌3:1-5 ),于是她坐在一座可爱的轿子上,来到他的身边( 歌3:6-11 )。[1] 那个戴着皇冠的男人接受了她( 歌3:11 )。在以色列的传统婚礼上,新娘( 歌3:7 )被仆人簇拥着,坐着轿子到来,她的新郎戴着皇冠迎接她。歌3:11 证实了这段经文是在庆祝”婚筵的日子”。[2]

然后,男人歌唱了他对新娘的爱( 歌4:1-15 ),而且经文用生动的形象和比喻描述了他们的新婚之夜( 歌曲4:16-5:8 )。女人也歌唱了她对心上人的爱( 歌5:9–6:3 ),紧接着是另一首描述女人美丽的歌( 歌6:4-9 )。然后,夫妇相互歌唱他们彼此的爱( 歌6:10–8:4 )。这段经文坦白地谈论了性爱。基督教的牧师和作家倾向于回避雅歌或者用比喻的方式来诠释它,因为担心它对于上流的宗教社会来说过于粗俗。

但文本中的性描写是有意为之的。在这样一首描述婚礼当天爱人之间激情的歌中,如果不提及性,那肯定会有所缺失!而且,性与雅歌中的家庭和工作密切相关。结婚后,这对恋人创造了一个家庭,这是古代世界经济活动的主要单位。没有性,就不可能加添工人(即孩子)。此外,配偶之间的激情(包括性)是将家庭粘合在一起的胶水,它帮助家庭度过繁荣、逆境、喜乐和压力——而这些都是家庭生活和工作的特征。今天,很多夫妻报告说,他们对性爱时间不足有所不满。这个问题的罪魁祸首之一,就是配偶中的一方或双方忙于工作。[3] 

雅歌明确表示,你不应该让工作挤占了属于你和配偶的亲密和做爱的时间。

透过这些经文,我们看到了诗人从以色列风光和它的农业畜牧业中提取的意象。女人的身体是一个“花园”( 歌5:1 )。男人的”两腮如香花畦、如香草台( 歌5:13 )。他享受着他的新娘,就像一个在花园中采集百合花的人( 歌6:2 )。她秀美如耶路撒冷( 歌6:4 )。她的头发”如同山羊群,卧在基列山旁”( 歌6:5 )。她的牙齿如一群母羊( 歌6:6 )。她的身材像棕榈树一样( 歌7:7 )。他们渴望去“葡萄园”( 歌7:12 )。她在“苹果树下”( 歌8:5 )唤醒她的爱人。他们爱的喜乐与他们工作的世界密切相连。他们用花园里和羊群中看到的景象,来表达自己的幸福。

这表明家庭和工作是在一起的。在雅歌中,整个生命都是一个整体。在工业革命之前,大多数人和家人在他们居住的家中工作。现在,世界的很多地方仍旧如此。雅歌描绘了这种安排下的田园风光。以家庭为基础的劳动现实,已经被贫困、磨难、屈辱、保税服务和奴隶制以及虐待式的关系所破坏。然而,雅歌表达了我们的愿望——和上帝的设计 ——我们的工作要和家庭一起被编入我们关系的挂毯中。

在发达经济体中,大多数有偿工作都存在于家庭以外。雅歌并没有为今天社会中工作和家庭以及其他关系的整合,提供具体的手段。我们不应该把它理解成它要我们都搬到农场去追逐小狐狸!但是,它确实建议我们要注意,现代工作不应该忽视工人的家庭生活和需要。许多工作场所为工人的孩子提供了日间照顾,提供尊重育儿需要的职业发展,留出照顾家庭需求的时间,以及——在私人医疗保健的国家——为工人家庭提供的医疗保险。然而,并非所有的工作场所都有这些考虑,而且有些还被雇主削减。大多数现代化的工作场所,还远远达不到我们在雅歌中所看到的那种家庭护理的模型。最近将工作从办公室转移到家庭的趋势是否会改善这种状况,还要取决于成本、收入、支持服务和风险的分配模型。

在21世纪的职场逐渐发展成型的过程中,雅歌发出了创新的邀请。家庭可以创业,这样家庭成员就可以在一起工作。公司可以招聘夫妻双方,或者在重新安置一方时帮助另外一方找到工作。近几十年来,无论是在世俗的,还是基督教的,特别是天主教的圈子里,都可以看到有关这个领域的很多创新和研究。[4]

雅歌也会让我们更加欣赏那些无偿的工作。在工业革命前的家庭中,由于工作发生在一个综合的单元体中,有偿工作和无偿工作几乎没有区别。在工业革命和后工业革命时期的社会中,绝大多数——绝非全部——的工作在家庭外,赚取工资来养家。那些需要在家庭中完成的无偿工作,往往比在外面的有偿工作获得较少的尊重。金钱,而不是对家庭的总体贡献,成为了工作价值的衡量标准,有时甚至变成了个人价值的衡量标准。然而,如果没有家务劳动、抚养子女、照顾老年人和无行为能力的家庭成员以及维持社会和社区关系的无偿工作,那么家庭就无法运作下去。雅歌描绘了工作对家庭的综合效益,而不是其对金融的贡献。

雅歌可能对许多教会和带领基督徒的人带来挑战,因为基督徒在安排他们的工作生活上得到很多帮助的现象并不常见。并没有足够的教会能够装备他们的成员,在工作和家庭及社区的关系上做出敬虔的、明智的和现实的选择。毫无疑问,教会领导人很少拥有必要的专业知识,可以帮助会员找到工作,或创造工作来达到雅歌所描绘的理想图景。举个例子,假如我是一名护士,如果我想了解如何更好地整合我的工作和家庭关系,我可能需要更多地和其他护士交谈,而不是找我的牧师。但是,或许教会可以更多地帮助成员认识到上帝在工作和关系中的计划,表达他们的希望和挣扎,并与类似经历的工人一起探索可行的选择。

“Who is this?” (3:6) — translated misleadingly as “What is that?” in the NRSV — is feminine in Hebrew, indicating that it refers to the woman.

Garrett, Word Biblical Commentary: Song of Songs, 175-184.

International Planned Parenthood Federation, “FPAHK Survey on Marriage and Sex.”

The following are recommended for further exploration:

Robert D. Austin and Lee Devin, “Knowledge Work, Craft Work and Calling” in Douglas A. Hicks and Mark Valeri, eds., Global Neighbors: Christian Faith and Moral Obligation in Today's Economy (Grand Rapids, MI: Eerdmans, 2008).

Pope John Paul II, Laborem Exercens Encyclical Letter (Homebush, N.S.W, Australia: St. Paul Publications, 1981).

Pope John Paul II, Sollicitudo Rei Socialis Encyclical Letter (Homebush, N.S.W, Australia: St. Paul Publications, 1987).

Pope John Paul II, Centesimus Annus Encyclical Letter (Boston: St. Paul Books, 1991).

Wilder Robles, “Liberation Theology, Christian Base Communities, and Solidarity Movements: A Historical Reflection,” in Richard L. Harris and Jorge Nef, eds., Capital, Power, and Inequality in Latin America and the Caribbean, new ed. (Lanham, MD: Rowman and Littlefield, 2008).

Shirley J. Roels, “Christian Manufacturers at the Crossroads,” in Douglas A. Hicks and Mark Valeri, eds., Global Neighbors (Grand Rapids, MI: Eerdmans, 2008).

Thomas W. Walker, “Who is My Neighbor? An Invitation to See the World With Different Eyes,” in Douglas A. Hicks and Mark Valeri, eds., Global Neighbors (Grand Rapids, MI: Eerdmans, 2008).

Passion, Family and Work (Song of Songs 3:1-8:5)

Bible Commentary / Produced by TOW Project

In a series of songs, the text describes the marriage of the man and woman and their coming together. The woman yearns for the man (Song 3:1–5) and then she comes to him on a lovely palanquin (Song 3:6-11).[1] The man, wearing a crown, receives her (Song 3:11). In an Israelite wedding, a bride arrived in a sedan surrounded by attendants (Song 3:7) and she was received by her groom, who wore a crown. Song 3:11 confirms that this text celebrates “the day of his wedding.”[2]

The man then sings of his love for his bride (Song 4:1–15) and their wedding night is described in vivid images and metaphors (Song 4:16–5:8). The woman then sings of her love for her beloved (Song 5:9–6:3) and another song on the woman’s beauty follows (Song 6:4–9). The couple then sings of their love for each other (Song 6:10–8:4). The text is frankly sexual, and Christian preachers and writers have tended to avoid the Song or to allegorize it out of concern that it is too racy for polite religious society.

But the sex in the text is intentional. A song about the passion between two lovers on their wedding day would be missing something if it failed to mention sex! And the sex is intimately connected to both the household and the work in the Song. Upon their marriage, the lovers create a household, the primary unit of economic activity in the ancient world. Without sex, it could not be populated with workers (i.e. children). Moreover, passion (including sex) between spouses is a glue holding the household together through the prosperity, adversity, joy and stress that characterize a family’s life and work. Today, many couples report dissatisfaction with the amount of time they have for sex and lovemaking. A major culprit is that one or both partners are too busy working.[3] The Song makes it clear that you should not let work push aside time for intimacy and sex with your spouse.

Throughout these verses, we see imagery drawn from landscape of Israel and its agriculture and shepherding. The woman’s body is a “garden” (Song 5:1). The man’s “cheeks are like beds of spices” (Song 5:13). Enjoying his bride, he is like a man gathering lilies in a garden (Song 6:2). She is awesome like Jerusalem (Song 6:4). Her “hair is like a flock of goats moving down the slopes of Gilead” (Song 6:5). Her teeth are like a flock of ewes (Song 6:6). Her stature is like that of a palm tree (Song 7:7). They desire to go to the “vineyards” (Song 7:12). She rouses her beloved “under the apple tree” (Song 8:5). The joy of their love is intimately connected to the world of their work. They express their happiness with images drawn from what they see in their gardens and flocks.

New Year, New Brew

Ryan Dixon, Dan Griffith and Stephen Lee started True Vine, a micro brewery in Tyler, Texas. "'We're very tied with our family; so we didn't want something that was going to take us away from that,' Ryan said. Instead, the trio decided to open as a production brewery, selling their beer to local establishments. Read more about how they seek to live out their faith in their family and work lives here.

This suggests that family and work belong together. In the Song, the whole of life is integrated. Before the industrial revolution, most people worked with family members in the households where they lived. This is still true in much of the world. The Song paints an idyllic view of this arrangement. The reality of household-based labor has been marred by poverty, grinding toil, humiliation, bonded service and slavery, and abusive relationships. Yet the Song expresses our desire — and God’s design — that our work be woven into the tapestry of our relationships, beginning with family. 

In developed economies, most paid work occurs outside the household. The Song of Songs does not offer specific means for integrating work with family and other relationships in today’s societies. It should not be taken as a call for us all to move to farms and chase away the little foxes! But it does suggest that modern workplaces should not ignore their workers’ family lives and needs. Many workplaces provide day care for workers’ children, career development that respects parenting needs, time away for family care needs, and — in countries with private health care — medical insurance for workers’ families. Yet these considerations are not available in all workplaces, and some have been cut by employers. Most modern workplaces fall far short of the model of family care we see in the Song. The recent trend towards shifting work from offices to homes may or may not improve matters, depending on how costs, revenues, support services and risks are distributed.

The Song could be an invitation to creativity as the 21st century workplace takes shape. Families might start businesses in which family members can work together. Companies might employ spouses together or help one spouse to find work when relocating the other. Recent decades have seen much innovation and research in this area, both in secular and Christian — especially Catholic — circles.[4]

What is the difference between work and a job? (Click to listen)

The Song should also increase our appreciation of unpaid work. In pre-industrial households, there is little distinction between paid and unpaid work, since work occurs in an integrated unit. In industrial and post-industrial societies, much — but by no means all — of the work occurs outside the household, earning wages to support the household. The unpaid work that remains to be done within the household often gets less respect than the paid work done outside. Money, rather than overall contribution to the household, becomes the measure of work’s worth, and sometimes even of individuals’ worth. Yet households could not function without the often unpaid work of maintaining the household, raising children, caring for aged and incapacitated family members, and sustaining social and community relationships. The Song depicts the value of work in terms of its overall benefit to the household, not its monetary contribution.

The Song may pose a challenge to many churches and those who guide Christians, for it is uncommon for Christians to receive much help in arranging their work lives. Not enough churches are able to equip their members for making godly, wise, realistic choices about work in relationship to family and community. Undoubtedly, church leaders will rarely have the on-the-ground knowledge needed to help members land jobs or create workplaces that move towards the ideal depicted in the Song. If I want to know how to better integrate my work as a nurse, for example, with my family relationships, I probably need to talk more with other nurses than with my pastor. But perhaps churches could do more to help their members recognize God’s design for work and relationships, express their hopes and struggles, and join with similar workers to develop viable options.

“Who is this?” (3:6) — translated misleadingly as “What is that?” in the NRSV — is feminine in Hebrew, indicating that it refers to the woman.

Garrett, Word Biblical Commentary: Song of Songs, 175-184.

International Planned Parenthood Federation, “FPAHK Survey on Marriage and Sex.”

The following are recommended for further exploration:

Robert D. Austin and Lee Devin, “Knowledge Work, Craft Work and Calling” in Douglas A. Hicks and Mark Valeri, eds., Global Neighbors: Christian Faith and Moral Obligation in Today's Economy (Grand Rapids, MI: Eerdmans, 2008).

Pope John Paul II, Laborem Exercens Encyclical Letter (Homebush, N.S.W, Australia: St. Paul Publications, 1981).

Pope John Paul II, Sollicitudo Rei Socialis Encyclical Letter (Homebush, N.S.W, Australia: St. Paul Publications, 1987).

Pope John Paul II, Centesimus Annus Encyclical Letter (Boston: St. Paul Books, 1991).

Wilder Robles, “Liberation Theology, Christian Base Communities, and Solidarity Movements: A Historical Reflection,” in Richard L. Harris and Jorge Nef, eds., Capital, Power, and Inequality in Latin America and the Caribbean, new ed. (Lanham, MD: Rowman and Littlefield, 2008).

Shirley J. Roels, “Christian Manufacturers at the Crossroads,” in Douglas A. Hicks and Mark Valeri, eds., Global Neighbors (Grand Rapids, MI: Eerdmans, 2008).

Thomas W. Walker, “Who is My Neighbor? An Invitation to See the World With Different Eyes,” in Douglas A. Hicks and Mark Valeri, eds., Global Neighbors (Grand Rapids, MI: Eerdmans, 2008).