路加福音中的權力和領導力

聖經註釋 / 工作神學項目出品

耶穌作爲國王,是神國的領袖。路加福音記錄了他運用權力的多種方式。然而,基督徒往往並不願意行使領導力或權力,好像兩者本身就是邪惡的似的。耶穌的教導則與之不同。神呼召基督徒來領導別人並行使權力,但不同於這墮落世界裏各種各樣的權力,基督徒使用權力是爲了神的心意,而不是爲自己的私利。

切求寡婦的比喻(路加福音18:1-8)

回到目錄 回到目錄

在切求寡婦的比喻中(路18:1-8),一個貧窮且無助的人(寡婦)堅持不懈地纏磨一個腐敗且有權勢的人(法官),要求他爲她伸冤。這個比喻  承襲 了施洗約翰的教導,即有權力和居高位的人,有責任行公義,特別是爲了窮人和弱者。但耶穌將比喻的重點放在了另一個方面,就是我們要“常常禱告,不可灰心”(路18:1)。他將聽眾(我們)等同於這個女人,將聽祈求的人(神)等同於這個不義的法官,多麼奇怪的組合啊。假設耶穌並不是要說神是不義的,那麼比喻的要點就是:如果堅持不懈可以使一個掌握有限權力的不義之人回心轉意,那麼從一位掌握無限權能的公義之神那裏得到的該是多麼豐厚啊。

比喻的目的是鼓勵基督徒在面對任何困難時都要保持信德。但是對於那些從事領導職務的人來說,這個比喻也有兩方面的應用。首先,將不義的官與公義的神相提並論,暗示了即使在不義的世界中,神的心意仍然在工作。這位法官的職責是伸張正義,並且藉着神,他 將 在寡婦盡其所言之後爲她伸冤。聖經在別處也教導,民間的權威是依靠神的授權才得以服務民眾的,無論它們承認與否。(約19:11; 羅13:1;彼前2:13 )。所以,即使環境充滿了系統性的不公義,伸冤仍是有希望的。基督徒領袖的責任就是在任何情況下,都朝着這個希望努力工作。在我們一生的時間裏,我們不可能對付這世界上的每一個錯誤。然而,在不完善的工作環境裏,我們也永遠不要放棄希望,永遠要尋求更大的善[7]。例如,立法者很少是從好壞鮮明的兩個法案裏二選一。通常他們所能做的,就是選擇一個比較好的或者不那麼壞的。但是,他們必須不斷尋找機會,使益處更大或者損害更小的法案進入票選環節。

其次,只有神才能在不義的世界中帶來公義。這就是爲什麼我們必須祈禱同時不放棄我們的工作。如同神可以在充滿疾病的世界裏帶來神奇的醫治,神也可以在不義的世界中帶來神蹟性的公義。忽然之間,柏林牆倒塌了,種族隔離政權崩潰了,和平突然降臨了。在切求寡婦的比喻中,神並沒有介入其中。單靠寡婦的堅持不懈就使得這個官變得行事公允了。但耶穌表明,神是那看不見的演員。“神的選民晝夜呼籲他,他......豈不終久給他們申冤嗎?”(路18:7)。

The use of the term “greater good” implies that the consequences of our actions are important in Christian ethics. This mode of ethical thinking, called “consequentialism,” may be unfamiliar to those who are used to thinking of the Bible only in terms of ethical rules. However, the Bible makes use of all three modes of ethical reasoning that have been identified over the centuries: rules, consequences and virtues. By no means does this make the Bible “relativistic” or “utilitarian,” to name two ethical systems that truly are foreign to biblical thinking. This topic is discussed in detail in the article Ethics at Work at www.theologyofwork.org.

風險:十錠銀子的比喻(路加福音19:11-27)

回到目錄 回到目錄

十錠銀子的比喻設定在了一個高級金融(high finance)的工作場所。一個富有的貴胄,即將要往遠方去,加冕爲有權勢的一國之主。他本國的人卻恨他,並且放話過去,說他們反對這次加冕典禮。(路19:14)。他指派了三個人在他遠行的時候替他做投資。其中兩個人冒着風險將主人的錢用於投資。他們賺到了不錯的回報。第三名僕人害怕冒險,所以他把錢放在了一個安全的地方。當然也就沒得到什麼回報。主人成爲國王之後,返回了自己的家鄉。他獎勵了那爲他賺了錢的兩個僕人,將他們推向高位。他懲罰了那把錢藏起來卻毫無收成的僕人。然後,他下命令,當着他的面殺掉了那些反對他的人。

耶穌在即將去往耶路撒冷之前講了這個比喻,在那裏他將被加冕爲國王(“奉主名來的王是應當稱頌的”,路19:38),但很快就被他的百姓棄絕了。在這一點上,耶穌與這位貴胄是一樣的,並且那些高喊“釘他十字架!”(路23:21)的羣眾,也與那些反對貴胄的加冕禮的國民是一樣的。由此我們便知道,除了那兩位在貴胄遠行時仍兢兢業業的僕人之外,國民們深深地誤判了這位即將成爲他們國王的人。在此背景之下,這個比喻是在警告我們,我們必須決定是否承認耶穌是神所指定的君王,是侍奉他還是反對他,並且準備好接受這決定的後果。[8]

這個比喻表明,神國的子民有責任爲神的目標和意圖而努力工作。在這個比喻中,國王直接告訴他的僕人他期望他們做什麼,即投資他的錢。這個具體的呼召或命令清楚地表明,神呼召人去做的事,並不僅限於講道、醫治和傳福音(使徒的呼召)。當然,也不是每個在神國裏的人都被呼召成爲投資家。在這個比喻中,貴胄只要求這三個國民成爲投資者。比喻的關鍵是,既然承認耶穌的王權,就無論做什麼,都要爲了耶穌的心意而做。

從這個角度看,這個比喻表明,如果我們接受耶穌作我們的王,就必須準備好接受冒險的生活。那些爲主人做投資的僕人,面臨着被周遭的人攻擊的風險,就是那些反對主人權柄的人。並且他們面臨着投資失敗而令主人失望的風險。即使他們的成功也會使他們面臨風險。如今,他們嚐到了成功的滋味並且得到了晉升,他們面臨着變得貪婪和追求權力的風險。他們面臨的另一個風險是,如果他們的下一個投資–勢必涉及更高的金額–失敗了,他們將遭受更嚴重的後果。在英美商業(和體育)實踐中,首席執行官(和主教練)經常因爲成績平平而被解僱,而那些處於較低職位的人則只會因爲表現極差而被解僱。在這個比喻裏或在今日的工作場合中,失敗和成功都不是安全的。在等待情況有所好轉的過程中,人們會傾向於龜縮起來或者尋找一個安全的方式來適應環境。但是,在這個比喻裏,耶穌譴責了龜縮的做法。試圖避免風險的僕人因爲不忠誠而被單拎了出來。故事沒有告訴我們,如果那兩名僕人投資失敗的話會發生什麼,然而故事暗示我們,無論是否達到預期的收益,只要是忠於神而做的投資,都被神悅納。

馬太福音中有與之高度相似的按才受託的比喻,關於此比喻的討論,請參閱www.theologyofwork.org網站, 馬太福音與工作 一文中的“馬太福音 25:14-30”部分。

Darrell L. Block, Luke, Vol. 2: 9:51-24:53 (Grand Rapids, MI: Baker Books, 1996), 1525-1545.

謙卑服侍(路加福音9:46-50; 14:7-11; 22:24-30)

回到目錄 回到目錄

耶穌宣稱領袖需要謙卑地服務別人,正如我們在另外三段經文中所看到的。在第一段經文中(路9:46-50),耶穌的門徒開始爭論誰將爲大。耶穌回答說,凡爲他的名接待一個小孩子的,便爲大。請注意,這裏的典範不是那小孩子,而是接待小孩子的人。造就偉大領袖的方法,就是服侍那些在別人看來不值得爲其花費時間的人。

在第二段經文中(路14:7-11),耶穌看到宴會的客人們爭相揀擇首位,便對此做出了迴應。耶穌說,這不僅浪費時間,實際上也適得其反。“因爲凡自高的,必降爲卑;自卑的,必升爲高。”將耶穌的這個教導應用於領導職務則意味着,如果你要將所有的功勞都歸於自己,那麼人們就不會再跟從你,或者他們會爲了讓你難堪而不再專心工作。但是,如果你將榮譽歸給別人,人們就願意跟隨你,並且你會得到真正的讚賞。

第三段經文(路22:24-30)重新回到了門徒中誰將爲大的問題。這一次,耶穌通過服侍他人,使自己成爲領袖的榜樣。“我在你們中間如同服侍人的。”在所有這三個故事中,服侍和謙卑的概念是結合在一起的。有效的領導需要服侍他人,或者說, 就是 服侍他人。若想更好地服侍他人,就要放低姿態,如同你自己並不像你想的那麼重要。

有關此主題的更多信息,請訪問www.theologyofwork.org網站,*領導力  (內容不可用)部分。

Power and Leadership in Luke

Bible Commentary / Produced by TOW Project

As king, Jesus is the leader of God’s realm. He employs his power in many ways recorded in the Gospel of Luke. Yet Christians are often reluctant to exercise leadership or power, as if the two were inherently evil. Jesus teaches otherwise. Christians are called to lead and to exercise power, but unlike the powers of the fallen world, they are to use it for God’s purposes rather than for their own self-interest.

Persistence: The Parable of the Persistent Widow (Luke 18:1-8)

Back to Table of Contents Back to Table of Contents

In the parable of the persistent widow (Luke 18:1-8), a poor, powerless person (the widow) persists in nagging a corrupt, powerful person (the judge) to do justice for her. The parable assumes John the Baptist’s teaching that holding a position of power and leadership obligates you to work justly, especially on behalf of the poor and weak. But Jesus focuses the parable on a different point, that we are “to pray always and to not lose heart” (Luke 18:1). He identifies the hearers — us — with the woman, and the prayed-to person — God — with the corrupt judge, a strange combination. Assuming that Jesus doesn’t mean that God is corrupt, the point must be that if persistence pays off with a corrupt human of limited power, how much more will it pay off with a just God of infinite power.

The purpose of the parable is to encourage Christians to persevere in their faith against all odds. But it also has two applications for those who work in positions of leadership. First, the juxtaposition of a corrupt judge with a just God implies that God’s will is at work even in a corrupt world. The judge’s job is to do justice, and by God, he will do justice by the time the widow is finished with him. Elsewhere, the Bible teaches that the civil authorities serve by God’s authorization, whether they acknowledge it or not (John 19:11; Romans 13:1; 1 Peter 2:13). So there is hope that even in the midst of systemic injustice, justice may be done. A Christian leader’s job is to work toward that hope at all times. We cannot right every wrong in the world in our lifetimes. But we must never give up hope, and never stop working for the greater good[1] in the midst of the imperfect systems where our work occurs. Legislators, for example, seldom have a choice of voting for a good bill versus a bad bill. Usually the best they can do is to vote for bills that do more good than bad. But they must continually look for opportunities to bring bills to a vote that do even less harm and even more good.

The second point is that only God can bring about justice in a corrupt world. That is why we must pray and not give up in our work. God can bring miraculous justice in a corrupt world, just as God can bring miraculous healing in a sick world. Suddenly, the Berlin wall opens, the apartheid regime crumbles, peace breaks out. In the parable of the persistent widow, God does not intervene. The widow’s persistence alone leads the judge to act justly. But Jesus indicates that God is the unseen actor. “Will not God grant justice for his chosen ones who cry to him day and night?” (Luke 18:7).

The use of the term “greater good” implies that the consequences of our actions are important in Christian ethics. This mode of ethical thinking, called “consequentialism,” may be unfamiliar to those who are used to thinking of the Bible only in terms of ethical rules. However, the Bible makes use of all three modes of ethical reasoning that have been identified over the centuries: rules, consequences and virtues. By no means does this make the Bible “relativistic” or “utilitarian,” to name two ethical systems that truly are foreign to biblical thinking. This topic is discussed in detail in the article Ethics at Work at www.theologyofwork.org.

Risk: The Parable of the Ten Minas (Luke 19:11-27)

Back to Table of Contents Back to Table of Contents

The parable of the ten minas (“pounds” in the NRSV translation) is set in the workplace of high finance. A rich — and soon to be powerful — nobleman goes on an extended trip to be crowned king. Most of his people hate him and send word ahead that they oppose this coronation (Luke 19:14). In his absence, he assigns three of his servants to invest his money. Two of them take the risk of investing their master’s money. They earn handsome returns. A third servant is afraid to take the risk, so he puts the money in a safe place. It earns no return. When the master returns, he has become king of the whole territory. He rewards the two servants who made money for him, promoting them to high positions of their own. He punishes the servant who kept the money safe but unproductive. Then he commands that all who opposed him be killed in his presence.

Jesus tells this parable immediately before going to Jerusalem, where he is to be crowned king (“Blessed is the king who comes in the name of the Lord,” Luke 19:38) but soon is rejected by his people. This identifies Jesus with the nobleman in the parable, and the crowd shouting “Crucify him!” (Luke 23:21) with the people in the parable who oppose the nobleman’s coronation. By this we know that the people have profoundly misjudged their soon-to-be king, except for the two servants who work diligently in his absence. The parable, in this context, warns us that we must decide if Jesus is indeed God’s appointed king and be prepared to abide the consequences of our decision either to serve him or oppose him.[1]

This parable makes explicit that citizens of God’s kingdom are responsible to work toward God’s goals and purposes. In this parable, the king tells his servants directly what he expects them to do, namely, to invest his money. This specific calling or command makes it clear that preaching, healing, and evangelism (the apostles’ callings) are not the only things God calls people to do. Of course, not everyone in God’s kingdom is called to be an investor, either. In this parable, only three of the country’s residents are called to be investors. The point is that acknowledging Jesus as king requires working toward his purposes in whatever field of work you do.

Seen in this light, the parable suggests if we choose to accept Jesus as king, we must expect to lead risky lives. The servants who invested the master’s money faced the risk of being attacked by those around them who rejected the master’s authority. And they faced the risk of disappointing their master by making investments that might lose money. Even their success exposes them to risk. Now that they have tasted success and been promoted, they risk becoming greedy or power-mad. They face the risk that their next investments — which will involve much greater sums — will fail and expose them to much more severe consequences. In Anglo-American business (and sports) practice, CEOs (and head coaches) are routinely fired for mediocre results, whereas those in lower-level positions are  fired only for exceptionally poor performance. Neither failure nor success is safe in this parable, or in today’s workplace. It is tempting to duck for cover and search for a safe way of accommodating to the system while waiting for things to get better. But ducking for cover is the one action Jesus condemns in the parable. The servant who tries to avoid risk is singled out as unfaithful. We are not told what would have happened if the other two servants had lost money on their investments, but the implication is that all investments made in faithful service to God are pleasing to him, whether or not they achieve their intended payoff.

For a discussion of the highly similar parable of the talents see "Matthew 25:14-30" in Matthew and Work at www.theologyofwork.org.

Darrell L. Block, Luke, Vol. 2: 9:51-24:53 (Grand Rapids, MI: Baker Books, 1996), 1525-1545.

Humble Service (Luke 14:7-11, 22:24-30)

Back to Table of Contents Back to Table of Contents

Jesus declares that leadership requires humble service to others, as we see in three additional passages. In the first (Luke 9:46-50), Jesus’ disciples begin arguing who will be the greatest. Jesus replies that the greatest is the one who welcomes a child in his name. “The least among all of you is the greatest.” Notice that the model is not the child, but the person who welcomes a child. Serving those whom everyone else considers not worth their time is what makes a leader great.

The second passage (Luke 14:7-11) is Jesus’ response to the social posturing he sees at a banquet. Not only is it a waste of time, Jesus says, it’s actually counterproductive. “All who exalt themselves will be humbled, and those who humble themselves will be exalted.” As applied to leadership, this means that if you try to take credit for everything, people will want to stop following you, or get distracted from their work by trying to make you look bad. But if you give credit to others, people will want to follow you and that will lead to true recognition.

The third passage (Luke 22:24-30) returns to the question of who is the greatest among the disciples. This time Jesus makes himself the model of leadership through service. “I am among you as one who serves.” In all three stories, the concepts of service and humility are tied together. Effective leadership requires service — or is — service. Service requires acting as if you are less important than you think you are.

See *Leadership (CONTENT NOT YET AVAILABLE) at www.theologyofwork.org for more on this subject.