以斯拉记和工作

圣经注释 / 工作神学项目出品

重建圣殿(以斯拉记1:1-6:22)

回到目录 回到目录

以斯拉记的开头记载了波斯王古列的一封诏书。诏书允许犹太人返回耶路撒冷,重建公元前587年被巴比伦人毁掉的圣殿(拉1:2-4)。诏书的导言明确了它宣布的时间:“波斯王古列元年”(公元前539-538年,即波斯打败巴比伦后不久)。它还向我们介绍了以斯拉记-尼希米记的主要主题之一:上帝的工作与人类工作之间的关系。古列王通告“为要应验借耶利米口所说的话”,因为“耶和华激动波斯王古列的心”(拉1:1)。古列作为国王做了他的工作,以达到他个人和帝国的目的。然而,这却是上帝在他里面工作的结果,为要达成上帝自己的目的。在以斯拉记的第一节经文中,我们感受到是上帝在掌权。但他选择通过人类,甚至外邦人来完成他的旨意。

今天的职场基督徒也相信,上帝可以通过非基督徒和世俗机构的行动和决定工作。不管古列本人是否承认,他都是上帝所拣选的器皿。同样,不管我们或他们承认与否,我们的老板、同事、客户和供应商、竞争对手、监管机构或无数其他参与者的行为,可能也会推进神国度的工作。这应该拦住我们,不至于陷入绝望或者傲慢。如果你在工作场所看不到基督徒及基督教价值观,不要绝望——神仍在工作。另一方面,如果你认为你自己或你的组织是基督教德行的典范,当心!上帝可能通过那些与他的关系不太明显的人做成更多的工作。当然,上帝通过古列工作的事实警戒我们,不要期望我们忠心的工作一定会有财富和权力的奖励。当时古列王仍然富有、强大、也不信神,相反许多神的百姓却只是慢慢地从流亡的贫困中恢复过来。上帝为了他的国度使万事为之效力,不一定是为了我们的个人成功。

因为许多犹太人利用了古列的诏令,因此上帝的工作得以继续。“一切被 神激动他心的人”,都准备要回耶路撒冷去(拉1:5)。当他们到达耶路撒冷后,第一件事就是建筑祭坛,并在坛上献祭(拉3:1-3)。这是以斯拉记和尼希米记所记载的主要工作的缩写。它与旧约犹太教在圣殿中举行的献祭行为密切相关。这些书卷中描述的工作,反映并支持了圣殿及其献祭的礼仪在神子民生命中的中心地位。在以斯拉记和尼希米记中,敬拜和工作是并行的两个主题。

鉴于以斯拉重点在于重建圣殿,那些与这个行动有关的工作才被记录下来。因此,回归耶路撒冷的人被分别记载为“祭司、利未人、民中的一些人、歌唱的、守门的、尼提宁”(拉2:70)。经文中提到“石匠和木匠”,是因为这些工匠乃是建造工程所必须的(拉3:7)。那些没有建造圣殿所需要技巧的人,以工作的成果来“甘心献上礼物”,从而在建造上有份(拉2:68)。因此,在某种意义上,重建圣殿是所有人的工作,每个人以不同的方式贡献力量。

以斯拉还提到古列以外的其他政治领导人,因为他们对建造工程有积极或消极的影响。例如,他提到所罗巴伯为人民的领袖。他是领导监督重建圣殿的犹大省长(该1:1)。以斯拉提到的“省长利宏、书记伸帅”,曾上本阻止重建圣殿(拉4:8-10)。其他国王和官员的名字也是根据他们与重建项目的相关性而出现。

圣殿是这个项目的目的。但我们如果认为神只祝福为了宗教而工作的工匠和物品,我们就错了。以斯拉的愿望是恢复耶路撒冷的整个城市(拉4:13),而不只是圣殿。到尼希米记时,我们将进一步讨论这一点——尼希米实际上进行了圣殿以外的工作。

以斯拉描述了几种抵制圣殿重建的努力(拉4:1-23)。这些抵制暂时得逞,使圣殿的重建停滞了约二十年(拉4:24)。最后,上帝通过哈该和撒迦利亚的预言,鼓励犹太人恢复并完成了这项工作(拉5:1)。此外,波斯王大利乌承担了财政支出,希望耶和华可以祝福他和他的众子(拉6:8-10)。由于上帝“使亚述王的心转向他们”,以至于“他坚固他们【以色列人】的手做神殿的工程”,最终圣殿的重建得以完工(拉6:22)。

正如这节经文所说,犹太人实际上做了重建圣殿的工作。然而,他们的工作能够成功得益于两个外邦国王的帮助,一个下令开工,另一个支付了完工的费用。这些人努力的背后隐藏着上帝的全部工作。上帝在国王的心中做工,并通过先知鼓励他的子民进行建造。正如我们所看到的,上帝工作的范围远远超过其子民所能看到的。

圣约生活的恢复,第一阶段:以斯拉的工作(拉7:1-10:44)

回到目录 回到目录

刺的是,在这卷以以斯拉命名的书卷中,他的名字直到第七章才出现。在圣殿重建五十年后,这位满腹经纶的祭司和文士带着波斯国王亚达薛西的祝福来到耶路撒冷。他的任务是代表国王在圣殿里献祭,并通过教导和任命遵守律法的领袖在犹大实施神的律法(拉 7:25-26)。

以斯拉并没有把波斯国王的恩惠解释为交了好运。相反,他认为是上帝“使王起这心意”,差遣以斯拉到耶路撒冷(拉 7:27)。如以斯拉所说,他“得以坚强”并实施王的命令,是因为“耶和华—我 神的手帮助我”(拉 7:28)。以斯拉最爱使用“神的手帮助某人”的语言。圣经中八次使用这个说法,其中以斯拉记中有六次之多 (拉7:6, 9, 28; 8:18, 22, 31)。神在以斯拉身上、并通过以斯拉做工。这才是以斯拉成功的真正原因。

以斯拉对神帮助的信心,在他从巴比伦前往耶路撒冷的时候受到了考验。以斯拉说:我求王拨步兵马兵帮助我们抵挡路上的仇敌,本以为羞耻;因我曾对王说:“我们 神施恩的手必帮助一切寻求他的;但他的能力和忿怒必攻击一切离弃他的。”(拉 8:22)。对于以斯拉来说,依靠王的军队护送意味着不相信上帝的保护。所以,他和他的随从禁食祷告,而不是寻求国王的实际帮助(拉 8:23)。注:以斯拉选择不接受王军队的保护,并不是遵守任何特定的旧约律法。相反,这个决定反映了他自己的信念,要如何在领袖的切实挑战中信靠上帝。人们可能会说,在这种情况下,以斯拉是一个“理想主义的信徒”,因为他愿意为神必保守的信念付出生命,而不是借助人的帮助来确保安全。正如我们将在后面看到的,以斯拉的立场并不是以斯拉记——尼希米记中敬虔的领袖们认为唯一合理的立场。

事实证明,以斯拉的策略是成功的。他看到:“我们 神的手保佑我们,救我们脱离仇敌和路上埋伏之人的手”(拉 8:31)。然而,我们不知道以斯拉同行的人是否携带或使用了武器,来保护他们的安全。经文似乎暗示,以斯拉及同伴没有遭遇任何危险就完成了他们的旅行。以斯拉记再次表明,当神在人身上工作时,人的努力一定会成功的。

以斯拉记的最后两章重点谈论犹太人与外邦人交往的问题。以斯拉忠心遵行律法并在祷告后果断领导以色列民。除了以斯拉的例子,工作的问题没有在这两章中出现。

Ezra and Work

Bible Commentary / Produced by TOW Project

Biblical Resource -ezra-nehemiah-esther

Restoration of the Temple (Ezra 1:1-6:22)

Back to Table of Contents

The Book of Ezra begins with a decree from King Cyrus of Persia, allowing the Jews to return to Jerusalem to rebuild the temple that had been destroyed by the Babylonians in 587 BC (Ezra 1:2-4). The introduction to this decree specifies when it was proclaimed: “In the first year of King Cyrus” (539-538 BC, shortly after the Persian defeat of Babylon). It also introduces us to one of the principal themes of Ezra-Nehemiah: the relationship between God’s work and human work. Cyrus made his proclamation “that the word of the Lord by the mouth of Jeremiah might be accomplished,” and because “the Lord stirred up the spirit of King Cyrus” (Ezra 1:1). Cyrus was doing his work as king, seeking his personal and institutional ends. Yet this was a result of God’s work within him, advancing God’s own purposes. We sense in the first verse of Ezra that God is in control, yet choosing to work through human beings, even Gentile kings, to accomplish his will.

Workplace Christians today also live in trust that God is active through the decisions and actions of non-Christian people and institutions. Cyrus was God’s chosen instrument, whether or not Cyrus himself recognized that. Similarly, the actions of our boss, co-workers, customers and suppliers, rivals, regulators or a myriad of other actors may be furthering the work of God’s kingdom unrecognized by either us or them. That should prevent us from both despair and arrogance. If Christian people and values seem absent from your workplace, don’t despair — God is still at work. On the other hand, if you are tempted to see yourself or your organization as a paragon of Christian virtue, beware! God may be accomplishing more through those with less visible connection to him than you realize. Certainly, God’s work through Cyrus — who remained wealthy, powerful, and unbelieving, even while many of God’s people were only slowly recovering from the poverty of exile — should warn us not to expect wealth and power as a necessary reward for our faithful work. God is using all things to work towards his kingdom, not necessarily towards our personal success.

God’s work continued as many Jews took advantage of Cyrus’ decree. “Every one whose spirit God had stirred” prepared to return to Jerusalem (Ezra 1:5). When they arrived in Jerusalem, their first job was to build the altar and offer sacrifices on it (Ezra 3:1-3). This epitomizes the chief sort of work chronicled in Ezra and Nehemiah. It is closely associated with the sacrificial practices of Old Testament Judaism, which took place in the temple. The work described in these books reflects and supports the centrality of the temple and its offerings in the life of God’s people. Worship and work stride hand and hand through the pages of Ezra and Nehemiah.

Given the focus in Ezra upon the rebuilding of the temple, people’s jobs are mentioned when they are relevant to this effort. Thus the list of people returning to Jerusalem specifically itemizes “the priests, the Levites… and the singers, the gatekeepers, and the temple servants” (Ezra 2:70). The text identifies “masons and carpenters” because they were necessary for the building project (Ezra 3:7). People whose skills did not equip them for working directly on the temple contributed to the task through the fruit of their work in the form of “freewill offerings” (Ezra 2:68). Thus, in a sense, the rebuilding of the temple was the work of all the people as they contributed in one way or another.

Ezra identifies political leaders in addition to Cyrus because of their impact, positive or negative, on the construction effort. For example, Zerubbabel is mentioned as a leader of the people. He was the governor of the territory who oversaw the rebuilding of the temple (Haggai 1:1). Ezra mentions “Rehum the royal deputy and Shimshai the scribe,” officials who wrote a letter opposing the temple’s reconstruction (Ezra 4:8-10). Other kings and officials show up according to their relevance to the rebuilding project.

The temple is what the project was about, but it would be a mistake to think that God blesses craftsmanship and material work only when it is devoted to a religious purpose. Ezra’s vision was to restore the whole city of Jerusalem (Ezra 4:13), not just the temple. We will discuss this point further when we come to Nehemiah, who actually undertook the work beyond the temple.

Ezra describes several efforts to squelch the construction (Ezra 4:1-23). These were successful for a while, stopping the temple project for about two decades (Ezra 4:24). Finally, God encouraged the Jews through the prophecies of Haggai and Zechariah to resume and complete the job (Ezra 5:1). Moreover, Darius, king of Persia, underwrote the building effort financially in the hope that the Lord might bless him and his sons (Ezra 6:8-10). Thus the temple was finally completed, thanks to the fact that God had “turned the heart of the king of Assyria to them” so that “he aided [the Jews] in the work on the house of God” (Ezra 6:22).

As this verse makes clear, the Jews actually did the work of rebuilding the temple. Yet their labors were successful because of help from two pagan kings, one who inaugurated the project and the other who paid for its completion. Behind these human efforts loomed the overarching work of God, who moved in the hearts of the kings and encouraged his people through the prophets. As we have seen, God is at work far beyond what meets the eye of his people.

Restoration of Covenant Life, Phase One: The Work of Ezra (Ezra 7:1-10:44)

Back to Table of Contents

Ironically, Ezra himself does not appear in the book bearing his name until chapter 7. This learned man, a priest and teacher of the law, came to Jerusalem with the blessing of the Persian king Artaxerxes over fifty years after the rebuilding of the temple. His assignment was to present offerings in the temple on behalf of the king and to establish the law of God in Judah, both by teaching and by appointing law-abiding leaders (Ezra 7:25-26).

Ezra did not explain the king’s favor in terms of good luck. Rather, he credited God with putting “such a thing as this into the heart of the king” to send Ezra to Jerusalem (Ezra 7:27). Ezra “took courage” and acted on the king’s order because, as he said, “the hand of the Lord my God was upon me” (Ezra 7:28). This language of God’s hand being upon someone is a favorite of Ezra, where it appears six times out of eight times in the whole Bible (Ezra 7:6, 9, 28; 8:18, 22, 31). God was at work in and through Ezra, and that explains his success in his endeavors.

Ezra’s confidence in God’s help was tested when it came time for his entourage to journey from Babylon to Jerusalem. “I was ashamed,” Ezra explained, “to ask the king for a band of soldiers and cavalry to protect us against the enemy on our way; since we had told the king, ‘The hand of our God is gracious to all who seek him, but his power and his wrath are against all who forsake him’” (Ezra 8:22). For Ezra, to depend on a royal escort implied a failure to trust in God’s protection. So he and his retinue fasted and prayed rather than seek practical assistance from the king (Ezra 8:23). Note: Ezra was not following any particular Old Testament law in choosing not to receive royal protection. Rather, this decision reflected his personal convictions about what it meant to trust God in the real challenges of leadership. One might say that Ezra was an “idealistic believer” in this situation, because he was willing to stake his life on the idea of God’s protection, rather than to ensure protection with human help. As we’ll see later, Ezra’s position was not the only one deemed reasonable by godly leaders in Ezra and Nehemiah.

Ezra’s strategy proved to be successful. “The hand of our God was upon us,” he observed, “and he delivered us from the hand of the enemy and from ambushes along the way.” (Ezra 8:31). We do not know, however, if members of Ezra’s party carried weapons or used them for protection. The text seems to suggest that Ezra and company completed their journey without a threatening incident. Once again, the book of Ezra shows that human efforts are successful when God is at work in them.

The last two chapters of Ezra focus on the problem of Jews intermarrying with Gentiles. The issue of work does not emerge here, except in the example of Ezra, who exercises his leadership in faithfulness to the Law and with prayerful decisiveness.