接受神关于多产的祝福,意味着尊重同工(得2:8-16)

圣经注释 / 工作神学项目出品

像在路得记2:1中提到的,波阿斯是个“大财主。”不管今天这句话的含义是什么,它表示波阿斯是圣经中最好的老板之一。他的领导方式首先体现在尊重他人上。当他到工人工作的田地时,他以祝福问候他们(“愿耶和华与你们同在”),他们也友善地回答(“愿耶和华赐福与你。”路得记2:4)。波阿斯的工作场所,有许多地方令人印象深刻。他拥有并管理一个依靠雇佣劳动力的产业。他控制着他人的工作环境。很多工作环境中管理者和拥有者轻蔑的对待工人,而工人也不尊重他们的雇主,但与此相反,波阿斯营造了一个信任和互相尊重的关系。

波阿斯尊重工人的方式,体现在他在工作中给他们提供水(路得记2:9), 与他们一同吃饭,更重要的是与他们中被认为最低下的人一道分享食物(路得记2:14)。稍后我们了解到在收获的时节,土地的拥有者波阿斯与他的收割工人一起簸大麦,与他们一起睡在田间(路得记3:2-4,14)。

通过他在工作场所对待外邦女子的细致周到,波阿斯很好的展示了每个人都有神的形象(创世记1:27,箴言14:31,17:5) 这一理念。当他在工人中注意到她,他假设她是某人的妻子或女儿,也许依附于某个拥有土地的男人,于是温柔地问道,“那是谁家的女子?”(路得记2:5)。当他得知她是一个摩押妇女,跟随拿俄米从摩押回来(路得记2:6),以及听说她请求准许在收割的人后面拾穗(路得记2:7),他说的第一句话令人震惊:“我的女儿请仔细听。”与一个外邦的妇女分享食物(路得记2:14),比我们现在所理解的要严重得多。就像路得自己指出的(路得记2:10),根据风俗,受尊敬的土地拥有者不需要跟外邦的女人谈话[1]。一个更关注社会形象和生意机会,对别人的需求不太有同理心的男人,很可能干脆将一个女性的摩押入侵者赶出自己的土地。但是波阿斯愿意为一位弱势的工人出头,而没有顾及别人对此作何反应。

实际上,我们可能看到了世界上最早有记录的、对抗工作场合性骚扰的政策。可能他清楚知道很多农场主和工人是施虐待的人[2],于是告诉路得,他已经吩咐手下不可骚扰她(路得记2:9)。拿俄米的评论,“女儿啊,你跟着他的使女出去,不叫人遇见你在别人田间,这纔为好。”(路得记2:22),表示出她为她儿媳的安全担心。波阿斯政策的条款十分清晰:

  1. 男性工人不能“欺负”女人。naga这个词通常的意思是“去碰触”,但是这里指的是普遍意义上的“打击,骚扰,占便宜,虐待。”[3] 波阿斯认识到,被碰触的意义应当由受到触碰之人的理解来确定。
  2. 路得有和其他人同等的权利去取水(路得记2:9),在饭桌吃午饭(路得记2:14)。在用餐时间,波阿斯邀请路得与他和工人同坐,并让她将饼蘸在他的醋里(路得记2:14)。他的服侍超出了她的想象。圣经选择动词nagash,"来靠近,接近,"意味着路得作为一个陌生人,精确而礼貌的(按照风俗习惯)保持着她和别人的距离。波阿斯关于性骚扰的政策不仅仅是限制或禁止某些举动,而且有正面的意图,意味着一个可能受到威胁之人的反应,乃是判断其他人举动是否恰当的合适标准。波阿斯将路得是否觉得安全,看作是他是否给她提供了所需保护的考量。他用实例说明了他是如何希望弱势的女性工人受到尊重的。
  3. 波阿斯约束雇工不可羞辱她(路得记2:15)或叱吓她(路得记2:16)。与2:9的“打扰”一起,这些命令说明了骚扰有很多种形式:身体上的,情绪上的和言语攻击。事实上,通过他富有感情的宣告对路得的祝福(路得记2:12),波阿斯代表着一种鲜明的正面形象。
  4. 遵守规则的雇员应该让路得的工作环境尽可能的安全,并且帮助她完成工作任务(路得记2:15-16)。在工作场合中,防止骚扰不仅仅意味着要创造一个安全的环境,也是为了提高那些有风险的工人的生产力。我们必须排除任何阻碍生产、晋升、获得奖金的因素。波阿斯可以让路得与工人们远远隔开,以保护路得。但是这也剥夺了她喝水和用餐的机会,而且也可能让路得因为风或者动物的抢夺,不能即时拾到麦穗。波阿斯确保他创建的安全体系,可以让得路得有效地完成工作。

波阿斯的工人们看起来也有他慷慨的精神。当他们的雇主用祝福问候他们,他们也以祝福回应他(路得记2:4)。当波阿斯问起出现在他的田间工作的女人身份时,监管收割的仆人用和善的语调回答主人,说明路得是个摩押女子(路得记2:6-7)。事实上,路得拿着整整一伊法谷物回家给拿俄米,证明了工人们积极遵行了波阿斯的命令,善待了路得。明显的他们不仅仅给她割了很多谷物,而且他们也接受了这个摩押女子作为他们收割的同工(路得记2:21-23)。

波阿斯领导下的积极效果,扩展到了工作场所以外的地方。当拿俄米看到路得努力工作的结果,她祝福了那给路得工作的雇主,并且因为神的慈爱和慷慨而赞美神(路得记2:20)。后来我们看到,波阿斯的好名声明显带来了社会和谐,将荣耀归给了神(路得记4:11-12)。所有的领导者——也包括所有的工人们——塑造了他们的工作文化。尽管我们可能认为,由于工作的方式受到文化的制约,只能是不公平、无意义或低效的,但是我们工作的方式可以深刻地影响别的人。波阿斯,一个腐败和缺乏信仰的社会中的大财主(路得记1:1,这里提到“士师秉政的时候”是腐败社会的概括),成功的建立了一个诚信而成功的产业。监管收割的雇工,在一个歧视女性和种族歧视的社会中,塑造并实践了平等主义(士师记19-21)。路得和拿俄米在痛失亲人和种种困境中,建立了一个充满爱的家庭。当我们感到压力,觉得不得不去屈从于工作中坏的环境时,神信实的应许,可以战胜我们由于文化和我们周围社会的机能失调所带来的所有疑虑。

 

Fredric W. Bush, vol. 9, Ruth, Esther, Word Biblical Commentary (Dallas: Word, Incorporated, 1998), 129.

Daniel I. Block, “Unspeakable Crimes: The Abuse of Women in the Book of Judges,” The Southern Baptist Theological Journal 2 (1998): 46–55.

Daniel I. Block, Judges, Ruth (NAC; Nashville: Broadman & Holman, 2002), 659–60.

David W. Gill, "Happy 40th Birthday, Southwest Airlines!", Ethix 73, January 9, 2011, http://ethix.org/2011/01/09/happy-40th-birthday-southwest-airlines.

Receiving God’s blessing of productivity means respecting co-workers (Ruth 2:8-16)

Bible Commentary / Produced by TOW Project

As Ruth 2:2 relates, Boaz was “a prominent rich man.” Whatever connotations that might have today, in Boaz’s case that meant he was one of the best bosses in the Bible. His leadership style began with respect. When he came out to the field where his men are working, he greeted them with a blessing (“The Lord be with you.”), and they responded in kind (“The Lord bless you.” Ruth 2:4). Boaz’s workplace is remarkable at many levels. He owned and managed an enterprise that depended on a hired workforce. He controlled the work environment of others. In contrast to many work environments where supervisors and owners treat their workers with disdain and workers have no respect for their bosses, Boaz had fostered a relationship of trust and mutual respect.

Boaz put his respect for his workers into practice by providing them with water as they worked (Ruth 2:9), by eating with them, and most of all by sharing his food with the person regarded as the lowest among them (Ruth 2:14). Later we learn that at harvest time, Boaz the landowner winnowed with his harvesters and slept with them out in the field (Ruth 3:2–4, 14).

Boaz demonstrated a high view of every human being as an image of God (Genesis 1:27, Proverbs 14:31, 17:5) by the sensitive way he treated the alien woman in his workplace. When he spotted her among the workers, he asked gently, “To whom does this woman belong?” (Ruth 2:5), assuming she was attached/dependent upon some man—either as wife or daughter—perhaps some landowner in the area. When he heard that she was a Moabite woman who had returned from Moab with Naomi (Ruth 2:6), and heard of her plea for permission to glean behind his harvesters (Ruth 2:7), shockingly, the first words he said were, “Listen carefully my daughter.” Sharing his food with a foreign woman (Ruth 2:14) was a more significant act than it might appear. Respectable landowning men were not accustomed to conversing with foreign women,[1] as Ruth herself points out (Ruth 2:10). A man with more concern for social appearances and business opportunities, and less compassion for someone in need, might have sent a female Moabite intruder off his land at once. But Boaz was more than willing to stand up for the vulnerable worker in their midst, whatever the reaction of others might be.

Indeed with this account we may have encountered the world’s earliest recorded anti-sexual harassment policy in the workplace. Perhaps he was aware that many farm owners and workers were abusive men[2] and perhaps this is why he informed Ruth that he has told his men not to touch her (Ruth 2:9). Naomi’s comment, “It is better, my daughter, that you go out with his young women, otherwise you might be bothered in another field” (Ruth 2:22), certainly shows that she feared for the safety of her daughter-in-law. The terms of Boaz’s policy are clear:

  1. The male workers were not to “bother” this woman. Normally the word, naga, means “to touch,” but here it functions more generally for “to strike, harass, take advantage of, mistreat.”[3] Boaz recognizes that the implication of being touched is determined by how the person being touched perceives it.
  2. Ruth was to have equal access to water (Ruth 2:9) and to the lunch table (Ruth 2:14). At meal time, Boaz invited Ruth to come sit with him and his workers and to dip her morsel of bread in his sauce (Ruth 2:14). Then he himself served her until she was more than satisfied. The choice of verb, nagash, “to come near, approach,” suggests that as a stranger Ruth had deliberately and appropriately (according to custom) kept her distance. Boaz’ sexual harassment policy is not simply restrictive—prohibiting certain actions— but it is positive in its intent, meaning that the response of the one in danger of harassment is the gauge of what others may do. Boaz looked to whether Ruth felt safe as the measure of whether he was offering the protection she needed. He demonstrated by example how he expected vulnerable female workers to be respected.
  3. Boaz’ regular employees were not to reproach (Ruth 2:15) or rebuke (Ruth 2:16) her. Along with the word “bother” in 2:9, these expressions demonstrate that harassment comes in many forms: physical, emotional, and verbal abuse. In fact, with his effusive pronouncement of blessing upon Ruth (Ruth 2:12), Boaz represents a dramatically affirming model.
  4. The regular employees were to make Ruth’s work environment as secure as possible and to go out of their way to assist her in achieving her work tasks (Ruth 2:15–16). In the workplace, prevention of harassment means not only creating a safe environment, but a productive one for those at risk. Barriers to productivity, advancement, and their attendant rewards must be eliminated. Boaz could have made Ruth safe by keeping her at a great distance from the male workers. But this would have denied her access to water and food, and may have caused loss of grain due to wind or animals before she could gather the sheaves. Boaz made sure that the safeguards he created enabled her to be fully productive.

Boaz’ workers seemed to catch his generous spirit. When their boss greeted them with a blessing, they blessed him in return (Ruth 2:4). When Boaz asked about the identity of the woman who had appeared at his field, the supervisor of the workforce acknowledged that Ruth is a Moabite, but exhibited a gracious tone (Ruth 2:6–7). The fact that Ruth brought an entire ephah of grain home to Naomi testifies to the workers’ positive response to Boaz’s charge to treat Ruth well. Not only had they obviously cut a lot of grain for her, but they had also accepted this Moabite woman as a co-worker for the duration of the harvest (Ruth 2:21–23).

Southwest Airlines (Click to read)

How does Southwest Airlines manage to attract 90,043 applicants for 831 open positions? In "Happy 40th Birthday, Southwest Airlines!," David Gill outlines the reasons for the airline's success.[4]

The positive effects of Boaz’ leadership extended beyond the workplace. When Naomi saw the results of Ruth’s efforts, she blesses the employer who had given her work and praises God for his kindness and generosity (Ruth 2:20). Later, it becomes obvious that Boaz’s high reputation in the community is bringing social harmony and glory to God (Ruth 4:11-12). All leaders—indeed all workers—shape the culture in which they work. Although we may think that we are constrained by our culture to conform to unfair, meaningless, or unproductive ways of working, in reality the way we work profoundly influences others. Boaz, a man of means in the midst of a corrupt and faithless society (Ruth 1:1, where “when the judges ruled” is a shorthand for a corrupt society) succeeds in creating an honest, successful business. The harvest supervisor shapes egalitarian practices in a society shot through with misogyny and racism (Judges 19-21). Ruth and Naomi create a loving family in the face of great loss and hardship. When we feel pressure to conform to a bad environment at work, the promise of God’s faithfulness can overcome all the doubts we take on board from the cultural and social dysfunction around us.

Fredric W. Bush, vol. 9, Ruth, Esther, Word Biblical Commentary (Dallas: Word, Incorporated, 1998), 129.

Daniel I. Block, “Unspeakable Crimes: The Abuse of Women in the Book of Judges,” The Southern Baptist Theological Journal 2 (1998): 46–55.

Daniel I. Block, Judges, Ruth (NAC; Nashville: Broadman & Holman, 2002), 659–60.

David W. Gill, "Happy 40th Birthday, Southwest Airlines!", Ethix 73, January 9, 2011, http://ethix.org/2011/01/09/happy-40th-birthday-southwest-airlines.



    Our free online resources depend on your support! For a limited time, all donations will be matched dollar-for-dollar, up to $100,000. Don't miss this opportunity to help Christians connect the Bible to everyday work.

    Donate