普通信徒天天跟随基督的三个例子(腓利比书 2:19-3:21)

圣经注释 / 工作神学项目出品

事实上,腓立比书给我们三个榜样(保罗、以巴弗提、提摩太),让我们知道基督徒怎么跟从基督的榜样。保罗说:「你们要一同效法我,也当留意看那些照我们榜样行的人」(腓立比书3:17)。他按照第二章里所说的「基督颂」的架构,来描述每一个例子。

人名
差派到困难处境
愿意顺服/成为奴仆
所冒风险
他人益处
耶稣 
人的样式(2:7) 奴仆形像(2:7) 顺服至死(2:8) 反倒虚己(2:7)
保罗 肉身活着(1:22)
基督仆人(1:1)
捆锁之中(1:7)效法基督的死(3:10)
使你们长进喜乐(1:25)

提摩太

快打发提摩太去见你们(2:19)
像儿子待父亲一样(2:22)
(腓立比书中并未特别指出,但请参阅罗马书6:21)
实在挂念你们的事(2:20) 
以巴弗提
打发以巴弗提到你们那里去(2:25)
你们所差遣的(2:25)
几乎至死(2:30)
供给我需用的(2:25)

这些讯息意义十分清楚。我们领受呼召就是要做耶稣做过的事。我不能找借口说,耶稣是神的独生子,他做得到、我们做不到。保罗、以巴弗提、提摩太并不是高人一等、能做什么我们无法做到的事。相反的,在我们工作的时候,我们就是把自己放入差遣、顺服、风险、服事他人的架构中了:

人名
差派到困难处境
愿意顺服/成为奴仆
所冒风险
他人益处
职场基督徒
进入非基督徒职场
在他人的权柄下工作
为了像基督一样爱人冒着自己生涯发展受限的风险
受神呼召将他人益处置于我们自己益处之上

我们可以把这个服事他人、而非自己的命令,稍作改变,像一般人所考量的那样吗?举例来说,我们可以先关切我们比较信赖之人的益处吗?我们可以一并考量别人的、还有我们的益处吗?是不是可以在确定一定份额的效益时,才关注公众利益,但是在整个体系情势对我们不利时,明哲保身?保罗并没有这么说。

如果我们真的发现自己没有办法、不能甘心乐意地勇敢行事呢?保罗只有这么说:「应当一无挂虑,只要凡事藉着祷告、祈求,和感谢,将你们所要的告诉上帝」(腓立比书4:6)。唯有不住向神的祷告、恳求、感恩,我们才能面对困难的抉择与必需的行动,放下自己、顾念他人的需要。这并不是抽象的神学,而是每天生活、工作很实际的建议。

Following Christ as Ordinary Christians (Philippians 2:19–3:21)

Bible Commentary / Produced by TOW Project

In fact, Philippians gives us three examples—Paul, Epaphroditus, and Timothy—to show us how all Christians are meant to follow Christ’s model. “Join in imitating me, and observe those who live according to the example you have in us,” Paul tells us (Phil. 3:17). He depicts each of these examples in a framework based on the “Hymn of Jesus” in chapter 2.

Person
Sent to a difficult place
In obedience/ slavery
Taking grave risks
For the benefit of others
Jesus
Found in human form (2:7)
Taking the form of a slave (2:7)
Obedient to the point of death (2:8)
Emptied himself (2:7)
Paul
Live in the flesh (1:22)
Servant of Jesus Christ (1:1)
Imprisonment (1:7) Becoming like Christ in death (3:10)
For your progress and joy (1:25)
Timothy
Send Timothy to you soon (2:19)
Like a son with a father (2:22)
(Not specified in Philippians, but see Rom. 6:21)
Will be genuinely concerned for your welfare (2:20) 
Epaphroditus
Send you Epaphroditus (2:25)
Your messenger (2:25)
Came close to death (2:30)
To minister to my need (2:25)

The message is clear. We are called to do as Jesus did. We cannot hide behind the excuse that Jesus is the only Son of God, who serves others so we won’t have to. Nor are Paul, Epaphroditus, and Timothy supermen whose exploits we can’t hope to duplicate. Instead, as we go to work we are to put ourselves into the same framework of sending, obedience, risk, and service to others:

Person
Sent to a difficult place
In obedience/ slavery
Taking grave risks
For the benefit of others
Workplace Christians
Go to non-Christian workplaces
Work under the authority of others
Risk career limitation for our motivation to love as Christ loves
Are called by God to put others' interests ahead of our own

Are we allowed to temper the command to serve others instead of ourselves with a little common sense? Could we, say, look first to the interests of others whom we can trust? Could we look to the interests of others in addition to our own interests? Is it okay to work for the com­mon good in situations where we can expect to benefit proportionally, but look out for ourselves when the system is stacked against us? Paul doesn’t say.

What should we do if we find ourselves unable or unwilling to live quite so daringly? Paul says only this, “Do not worry about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God” (Phil. 4:6). Only by constant prayer, supplication, and thanksgiving to God can we get through the difficult decisions and demanding actions required to look to the interests of others instead of our own. This is not meant as abstract theology but as practical advice for daily life and work.