约翰福音概述

圣经注释 / 工作神学项目出品

约翰福音处处都与工作有密切关系。本书从弥赛亚的工作谈起——祂是神创造世界的管道。基督的工作在人类堕落之前,在祂以拿撒勒人耶稣的样式成为肉身之前、在祂施行拯救工作之前,就开始了。神差派耶稣来到世上成为救主,正是因为祂也是这个世界的共同创造者。祂救赎的工作,不是一个全新的工作,而是要将这个世界回复到原本应行的方向。这正是创造应许的成全。

人类的劳动也是创造过程成就其目的的一部分(创世记2:5)。但是人类的工作已然败坏,因此 工作 的救赎是弥赛亚拯救世界的一部分。祂在地上工作时,我们会看到耶稣为天父所做的工作,是天父与圣子彼此相爱的一部分。「我对你们所说的话,不是凭着自己说的,乃是住在我里面的父做他自己的事」(约翰福音14:10)。这一点为得救之人的工作立下典范,让我们在神所造美好世界中一起工作时,滋养我们彼此之间的爱。除了立下优良工作的典范,耶稣还教导了一些关于职场的课题,例如:呼召、关系、创意、产能、伦理、诚实与欺骗、领导、服事、奉献、受苦,还有劳工的自尊。

使徒约翰有一个主要用意,就是要提醒读者不要等闲看待耶稣的言行。一直跟从祂的人,会发现祂简单的比喻开启了我们看待世界的全新方式。对工作来说,也是如此。希腊文的「工作」(ergon)一词在福音书中出现了二十五次,但是更常用的词「去做」(poieo)则出现了上百次。大多数情况下,这些词汇用来指代耶稣为天父工作;尽管如此,它也表明了神对普通人工作的应许。理解这些材料的关键在于,努力去认识约翰福音中“工作”的意义。工作的涵义常常极为深刻,不是随便看看就能知道。因此,我们要深入探究一小部分经文,看看这些经文怎么论及工作、工人和职场。我们会跳过跟主题不太相关的段落。

Introduction to the Gospel of John

Bible Commentary / Produced by TOW Project

Work pervades the Gospel of John. It starts with the work of the Messiah, who is God’s agent of the creation of the world. Christ’s work of creation pre-dates the Fall, pre-dates his incarnation in the form of Jesus of Nazareth, and pre-dates his work of redemption. He is sent by God to be the redeemer of the world precisely because he is already the co-creator of the world. His work of redemption is not a novel course of action, but a restoration of the world to the path it was always intended to take. It is a fulfillment of the creation’s promise.

Human labor is an integral part of the fulfillment of creation (Genesis 2:5). But the work humans do has become corrupted, so the redemption of work is an integral part of the Messiah’s redemption of the world. During his earthly ministry, we will see that the work Jesus does for the Father is an integral aspect of Father and Son’s love for each other. “The words that I say to you I do not speak on my own; but the Father who dwells in me does his works” (John 14:10). This provides the model for redeemed human labor, which is likewise meant to nurture our love for one another as we work together in God’s good world. In addition to modeling good work, Jesus teaches about workplace topics such as calling, relationships, creativity and productivity, ethics, truth and deception, leadership, service, sacrifice and suffering, and the dignity of labor.

One of John’s chief interests is to remind people that a casual glance at Jesus will never do. Those who remain with him find his simple images opening up into an entirely new way of looking at the world. This is as true of work as it is of anything else. The Greek word for “work” (ergon) appears over twenty-five times in the Gospel, while the more general term for “doing”(poieō) occurs over one hundred times. In most cases, the words refer to Jesus’ work for the Father; but even this, it turns out, will hold promise for ordinary human employment. The key to making sense of this material is that it takes work to work out what the Gospel of John means. The meaning often lies deeper than a casual reading can uncover. Therefore, we will delve into a limited number of passages with particular meaning for work, workers, and workplaces. We will pass over passages that do not contribute essentially to our topic.



    Our free online resources depend on your support! For a limited time, all donations will be matched dollar-for-dollar, up to $100,000. Don't miss this opportunity to help Christians connect the Bible to everyday work.

    Donate