僕人式領導(約翰福音13:1-20)

聖經註釋 / 工作神學項目出品

約翰福音到目前爲止,讓我們看到耶穌做了以前的人從來沒有做過的事——使水變成酒、讓瞎眼的得看見、讓死人復活。現在,他要做一件幾乎所有的人都做得到,但是很少人願意去做的事。他要洗腳。這位君王要做奴僕的事。

通過這件事,耶穌提出一個重要的問題——這個問題在整卷約翰福音裏一直伴隨着我們:在多大程度上,耶穌的工作可以作爲我們工作的榜樣?答案可以非常簡單:「通通不是。」我們沒有人是主。我們沒有人爲了這個世界的罪而死。但是,當耶穌爲門徒洗腳的時候,祂清楚的告訴他們——也包括我們在內——要我們學習祂的樣式。「我是你們的主,你們的夫子,尚且洗你們的腳,你們也當彼此洗腳。我給你們作了榜樣...」(約13:14-15) 。在我們可以做到的事情上,耶穌是我們應當效法的榜樣。

這種謙卑服事的態度,應該體現在我們所做的一切事上。如果首席執行官(CEO)走入生產線樓層,就像是來爲公司工人洗腳一樣。同樣的,加油站的服務人員應該清理洗手間,就像是洗汽車駕駛客戶的腳一樣。這不是做什麼的問題,更多是一個態度問題。即使客戶想要洗腳,首席執行官和加油站服務人員也可以爲客戶提供比洗腳更有意義的服務。但是他們應該要謙卑的服事。耶穌,這位統管整個宇宙、聖靈充滿的導師,定意要用這麼具體、低微的行爲服事,表明對他的子民應有的日常態度。通過這個行爲,祂不僅賦予了謙卑服侍尊崇的地位,而且要求祂的追隨者同樣的謙卑。爲什麼?因爲如此行讓我們實實在在的面對現實,明白神的工作就是要帶給人益處,而不是隻有成就自我。

僕人式領導近年來在企業公司、政府機關受到廣泛關切;這一點不只在約翰福音中出現,在聖經多處也能看到。更多相關內容請參閱www.theologyofwork.org的主題文章:*領導(內容尚未上線)。[1]

Other resources include Servant Leadership by Robert Greenleaf (Paulist Press, 1977) and Leadership is an Art by Max De Pree (Michigan State University Press, 1987).

Servant Leadership (John 13:1-20)

Bible Commentary / Produced by TOW Project

Up to this point in John, we have seen Jesus doing work that no one else had ever done before — making water into wine, giving sight to the blind, raising the dead. Now he does what almost anyone can do, but what few want to. He washes feet. The king does the work of a slave.

In doing so, Jesus brings to a head the question that has been following us the entire course of John’s Gospel—to what extent is Jesus’ work an example for our own work? It would be easy to answer, “Not at all.” None of us are the Lord. None of us die for the sins of the world. But when he washes the disciples’ feet, Jesus explicitly tells them — and by extension us — that we are to follow his example. “So if I, your Lord and Teacher, have washed your feet, you also ought to wash one another’s feet. For I have set you an example” (John 13:14-15). Jesus is an example we are meant to follow, so far as we are able.

This attitude of humble service should accompany all we do. If the CEO walks the production floor, it should be as if coming to wash the assembly workers’ feet. So, too, the gas station attendant should clean the bathroom floors as if being there to wash the motorists’ feet. This is not so much a matter of action as attitude. Both the CEO and the gas station attendant can probably serve people better through other activities than washing feet, even if their employees or customers were willing. But they should see themselves as performing humble service. Jesus, the Spirit-filled teacher who reigns over the entire cosmos, deliberately performs a concrete act of lowly service to demonstrate what ought to be the habitual attitude of his people. By doing so, he both dignifies and demands from his followers humble acts of service. Why? Because doing so brings us tangibly face to face with the reality that godly work is performed for the benefit of others, not merely for the fulfillment of ourselves.

The concept of servant leadership has received widespread attention in business and government in recent years. It arises not only in the Gospel of John but also in many parts of the Bible. See the article *Leadership (CONTENT NOT YET AVAILABLE) at www.theologyofwork.org for more.[1]

Other resources include Servant Leadership by Robert Greenleaf (Paulist Press, 1977) and Leadership is an Art by Max De Pree (Michigan State University Press, 1987).



    Our free online resources depend on your support! For a limited time, all donations will be matched dollar-for-dollar, up to $100,000. Don't miss this opportunity to help Christians connect the Bible to everyday work.

    Donate