耶穌在安息日醫治病人(約翰福音5)

聖經註釋 / 工作神學項目出品

在畢士大池子旁醫治病人,這件事造成的爭議,在馬太福音、馬可福音和路加福音中都有提及:耶穌特別喜歡在安息日醫治病人。儘管是類似的爭議,但耶穌的自我辯護採用了略微不同的角度。在約翰福音5:17裏,耶穌長長的論證,簡單的來說就是:「我父做事直到如今,我也做事。」原則很清楚。既使是在安息日,神也繼續創造。因此,享有神性的耶穌獲准行使同樣的權柄。耶穌絕對不是唯一辯稱神在安息日也工作的人,但是唯有祂可以用這一點來爲自己的工作辯護。

所以,我們不能用這個故事來支持或反對我們在安息日工作。我們可能在爲上帝工作,但是我們並不具有耶穌的神性。生死攸關的人類工作,像是軍事自衛(馬加比一書2:41)、或者是把掉入坑裏的牲畜拉出來,已經是公認安息日可以做的工作。在這段經文中,醫治人並不是問題,就算耶穌等到星期日(譯註:安息日是星期六)才醫治這個病人,他也不會因此受到傷害。相反,耶穌是因爲在安息日允許病人拿起褥子走(根據猶太律法是一種工作)而受到批評。是不是可以說,耶穌允許我們在主日的時候開車出遊、度假?我們是否可以在星期日的時候,坐飛機去赴一場星期一早上要開的商務會議?或者開一家全年365天、7×24小時工作的鑄造廠?沒有證據表明,耶穌在此只是要擴大安息日允許事項的列表。相反的,我們要應用我們在約翰福音看到、前後連貫的主題——扶持、救贖受造的工作(物質的與屬靈的),有助於與神建立更親密關係、使人所言所ˊ行合於安息日精神。是否有什麼特別的工作滿足這些要求,應該受到相關人士的關切。更多的討論,參見www.theologyofwork.org/cn馬太福音與工作的"馬太福音 12:1-8",馬可福音與工作的"馬可福音 1:21-45"和"馬可福音 2:23-3:6",路加福音與工作的"路加福音 6:1-11; 13:10-17",以及專文休息與工作(Rest and Work) (譯者註:只有英文)。

這個故事帶給我們一個更清楚、更重要的教訓:神還在繼續維持祂的創造,耶穌在祂的醫治事工中擴展了這一工作。從另一個層面來說,耶穌的神蹟代表着新世界的降臨。這些神蹟顯示了「來世權能」(來6:5)。同時,它們也維護着現有的世界。將它視爲我們包羅萬象的工作之範式,似乎十分恰當。在我們憑信心回覆破損的事物時(例如醫生、護士、汽車維修人員...等等),我們是在喚起人們對創造主上帝美善之記憶。在我們憑信心行動,發展創造的能力時(像是程序設計師、教師、藝術家...等等),我們要提醒人們省思神所賜給人類統管世界的美善。在信心中成就的救贖之功與創造、生產之功一樣,都需要我們呼求、信靠這位今在、昔在、永在的上帝。上帝藉基督創造萬有,藉着基督讓萬有回到神創造的本意,也要藉着基督將萬有引向預定的目標。

Who Works When, and Why? (John 5)

Bible Commentary / Produced by TOW Project

The healing of the man at the pool of Bethsaida brings to the surface a controversy familiar from Matthew, Mark, and Luke: Jesus’ penchant for healing on the Sabbath. If the controversy is familiar, however, Jesus’ self-defense takes a slightly different angle. His lengthy argument is crisply summarized in John 5:17, “My Father is still working, and I also am working.” The principle is clear. God keeps the creation going even on the Sabbath, and therefore Jesus, who shares the divine identity, is permitted to do the same. Jesus was almost certainly not alone in arguing that God was at work on the Sabbath, but his deduction about justifying his own work is unique.

As a result, we cannot use this story to deduce the propriety or impropriety of our working on the Sabbath. We may be doing God’s work, but we do not share the divine identity as Christ does. Human work having life-or-death consequences—military self-defense (1 Maccabees 2:41) or pulling an animal from a ditch—was already accepted as legitimate on the Sabbath. The healing itself is not questioned in this episode, even though the man would have suffered no harm had Jesus waited until Sunday to heal him. Instead, Jesus is criticized for permitting him to carry a mat—a form of work, according to the Jewish Law—on the Sabbath. Does this imply that Jesus permits us to drive to vacation on the Sabbath? Fly on Sunday to a business meeting that begins on Monday morning? Operate a continuous casting plant 24/7/365? There is no hint here that Jesus is merely widening the list of activities permitted on the Sabbath. Instead, let us apply the theme we see running through John—work that maintains and redeems the creation (material or spiritual) and contributes to closer relationships with God and people is appropriate for the Sabbath. Whether any particular work fulfills this description must be discerned by the person(s) involved. For more on this topic, see "Matthew 12:1-8" in Matthew and Work"Mark 1:21-45" and "Mark 2:23-3:6" in Mark and Work, and "Luke 6:1-11; 13:10-17" in Luke and Work and the article Rest and Work at www.theologyofwork.org.

A clearer, and more important, lesson for us from this narrative is that God is still at work to maintain the present creation, and Jesus furthers that work in his healing ministry. Jesus’ signs are at one level the in-breaking of the new world. They demonstrate “the powers of the age to come” (Hebrews 6:5). At the same time, they are also the up-keeping of the present world. It seems perfectly appropriate to see this as a paradigm for our own myriad jobs. As we act in faith to restore what has been broken (as doctors, nurses, auto mechanics, and so forth), we call people to remember the goodness of the creator God. As we act in faith to develop the capacities of the creation (as programmers, teachers, artists, and so on), we call people to reflect on the goodness of humanity’s God-given dominion over the world. The work of redemption and the work of creation/production, done in faith, both shout out our trust in the God who is, and who was, and who is to come. God created all things through Christ, is restoring them to his original intent through Christ, and will bring them to their appointed goal through Christ.