借款

文章 / 合作夥伴

大家看得出,借钱可以表现神创造的管理、爱和公义。借钱可以让人得以善用资源,使借贷双方都得益。

适可而止的债务

回到目录 回到目录

圣经原则可否帮大家决定借钱的数目或时机?有些圣经财经基础可以。首先,我们生活在神的世界当中,受到时间约束,社会周而复始,生命周期各异。借钱投资于成长业务或者基础设施,可为客户或大众服务。借有时,还有时,各人不尽相同。例如,经济衰退期间坐拥丰厚资源的人与其囤积现金,不如用钱投资,可以带来公义和爱。就个人周期而言,年轻人通常受惠于长者的储蓄和贷款。

其次,借钱的目的是获得资源去创造未来资源,用以还款。借钱求学,扩充业务,减省住屋成本,都可以荣耀神。靠借贷度日,以支撑挥霍,则不能荣耀神,正如上面所讨论过的「用不得其所的收益」。《圣经》教义反对一切贪婪,其中包括借贷无道(路加福音12:14)。

第三,借款人理所当然应该肯定自己能够履行偿还债务的承诺 - 或者至少令贷款人了解并同意未能还款的风险 - 作为一种爱的行为。这排除了虚假或误导性质的贷款申请或个人保荐。例如,你今天借钱是因为预计明天失业,这对贷款人不太可能表现爱。在没有明确还款计划的情况下,以信用卡肆意消费也不是爱的行为。

第四,应审慎考虑面临的风险,借款金额要适中。如果习以为常用尽信贷限额,不留缓冲以备不时之需,对自己对贷款人,怎可能是爱?

尽管上述主要是个人例子,《圣经》中关于财经的原则适用于个人、机构和政府财政决策。一般来说,这些原则倡议在大多数情况下,应保持适中债务水平,而个人、公司及政府财务,则应多用净值资产。尤其是神的意念,是以借款创造一种长期共同关系,使借贷双方受惠,如果借款人还记得神的意念,就不会承担那么沉重的债务。负债不是我们唯一的关注,通过借贷令别人蒙福才是重点。

以抵押换贷款

回到目录 回到目录

我们在「破产、债务宽免及贷款修改」一文中探讨了圣经中关于抵押品的一些段落。以房屋作为贷款抵押并不违反圣经的教义,这是主流基督教观点,此观点与神为社会创造金融的原意没有抵触。然而,按照箴言22:26-27,及圣经教人冒险但要谨慎,贷款人似乎最低限度不应该接受房屋作为抵押,除非十分肯定借款人有能力偿还贷款。同样道理,根据圣经教义,屋主不该承诺以家作为抵押,除非十分肯定能够偿还贷款。这与许多发达国家目前的贷款手法形成鲜明对比,发达国家人民可以获得的贷款,远远超过其收入水平、安稳程度及偿还债务纪录。贷款人有抵押在手,一般倾向认为「如有需要,我可以终止其抵押品赎回权,所以毋须太认真顾及借款人的利害关系及还款能力」,借款人也多数认为「如果我未能还款,银行大可没收房屋,而我没有造成任何伤害。」任何一方有这样的想法都不符合圣经的教导,也不符合神对金融作为一种正义和爱的形式所扮演的角色。

破产、债务免除和贷款修改

回到目录 回到目录

金融财经的创造基础包括人类天生喜欢聚居交往,知世事难料,却勇于冒险。这难免引起呆坏帐的情况。因此,无力还款不一定是罪过。当然,贷款违约很可能由于借方轻率鲁莽、贷方敷衍塞责、有人向贷方隐瞒或掩藏借方的收入、或作虚假陈述、又或贷款条件未能帮借款人谋求福祉。然而,突如其来的打击也可以令一笔好帐变坏,例如,借款人失去工作,意想不到的医疗开支,或遭逢天灾蒙受损失。

此情此境,放款人的确有义务宽免债务或修改偿还条款。在《圣经》中,如果借款人需要抵押品来保守健康或维持生计,宽限的方法就是让借款人保留抵押品。

你即或拿邻舍的衣服作当头,必在日落以先归还他,因他只有这一件当盖头,是他盖身的衣服,(若是没有,)他拿甚么睡觉呢,他哀求我,我就应允,因为我是有恩惠的。(出埃及记 22:26-27)

不可拿人的(全)盘磨石或是上磨石作当头,因为这是拿(人的)命作当头。(申命记 24:6)

你借给邻舍,不拘是甚么,不可进他家拿他的当头。要站在外面,等那向你借贷的人把当头拿出来,交给你。他若是穷人,你不可留他的当头过夜。日落的时候,总要把当头还他,使他用那件衣服盖着睡觉,他就为你祝福。这在耶和华你神面前,就是你的义了。(申命记 24:10-13)

邻舍的斗篷在日落前必须归还,因为邻舍夜间需要斗篷来保暖。磨石不能拿走,因为这将剥夺磨坊主的生计。即使是有效的抵押品也不能强行没收,例如进入借款人的房屋。所有这些保障旨在避免令窘苦的借款人雪上加霜,虽然受损的不仅是贷款人的预期利润,实际上还造成资本流失。贷款人也就分担了借款人的窘局。这就是因时制宜的关系,是金融财经的固有本质。

这些保障都体现于现代经济的破产法,就是破产、审查、接管、管理或扣押。这些法律通常禁止贷款人没收违约借款人的生活及工作必需品,代替还款。现代法律虽然允许执法人员进入借款人家中没收家当,却禁止放款人这样做。法律还防止借款人因违约而身陷囹圄,这做法几个世纪前很常见,只是这样做适得其反,也违反人道。也许现代破产法的发展标志着姗姗来迟却早应落实的圣经原则。

然而借款人应该尽其所能偿还债务。切温(Chewning)主张根据神的永恒不变及箴言6:1-5,如果未能偿还债务,应该放下身段,恳求贷款人通融,而非寻求破产法院保护,逃避贷款人。[48]

这要求也许有点过份,因为先前已经说过保护苦恼的借款人是神的律法,而非贷款人的怜悯。但切温(Chewning)的主张绝对正确,借款人第一步应该寻求贷款人的援助及意见。正如先前所见,贷款原意是在借贷双方之间建立长远关系。申请破产而不先与贷款人尝试达成协议,难以维持双方的关系。蒂姆斯特拉(Tiemstra)促请大家认真处理风险,而且借钱并非「毋须工作的简单赚钱方法:而是我们在神面前认真负责的表现」。[49]

金融财经就是要求认真看待公义和爱。借贷双方虽然谨慎,但当事情发展未如理想,彼此的道义和爱不应止息,反应加深。

 

Richard Chewning, "Hermeneutics and Biblical Ethics: An Illustration – God’s Immutability and Human Integrity", The Journal of Biblical Integration in Business (Fall 2000) 49-68.

Tiemstra, "Financial Crisis and the Culture of Risk".

Borrowers

Article / Produced by TOW Project

We have seen that borrowing can be an act of stewardship, justice, and love, enabled by God’s creation. Borrowing can allow people to gain access to resources which are used to help both borrower and lender flourish.

The Right Amount of Debt

Back to Table of Contents Back to Table of Contents

Can biblical principles help us determine how much to borrow or when to borrow? Several of the biblical foundations of finance can help. First, we inhabit God’s time-bound world with social cycles and heterogeneous individual life cycles. There is a time to borrow to invest in a growth or infrastructure opportunity which will serve customers or citizens and then there will be a time to repay debt, and those times will differ among individuals. For example, those with excess resources during a recession can bring justice and love by investing them then rather than hoarding them in cash. In terms of personal cycles, younger people generally benefit from the borrowing that the savings and lending of older people make possible.

Second, the purpose of borrowing is to obtain access to resources which can we can use to create future resources which can be used for repayment. Borrowing for education, growth opportunities, and to reduce housing costs can honor God. Borrowing as a crutch to support living above your means does not, as discussed above under “Unproductive use of proceeds.” The Bible teaches against greed of all kinds, which can include borrowing money for the wrong reasons (Luke 12:14).

Third borrowers should be reasonably certain they can fulfill their promise to repay the debt—or at least that the risks of non-repayment are understood and agreed by lenders—as an act of love. This rules out false or misleading loan applications or personal references. Borrowing today because you expect to lose your job tomorrow is unlikely to show much love to the lender, for example. Running up a credit card balance without a clear plan to repay it is no act of love, either.

Fourth, the amount borrowed should be a modest or prudent amount compared to the risks we face. How could it be loving—either to ourselves or to those who lend to us—if we routinely borrow right up to our credit limits with no cushion for unforeseen circumstances?

Biblical principles of finance apply to personal, institutional, and governmental financial decisions, although the examples above are primarily individual. In general, these principles suggest moderate levels of debt in most cases and greater use of equity for individual, corporate, and government finance. In particular, borrowers would probably not take on as much debt if they remembered that by God’s design, borrowing creates a long term mutual relationship that God intends to benefit lenders as well as borrowers. Access to debt is not our sole concern. Blessing others through our lending and borrowing is.

Offering Collateral to Get a Loan

Back to Table of Contents Back to Table of Contents

We explore some of the biblical passages about collateral in the section, “Bankruptcy, debt forgiveness and loan modification”. The mainstream Christian view is that using your house as collateral for a loan is not contrary to biblical teaching. This view is consistent with our arguments regarding the God-intend role of finance in society. However, in light of Proverbs 22:26-27 and in light of the biblical teaching to be prudent risk takers, it seems that at a minimum lenders should not accept a house as collateral unless they are very certain that the borrower will be able to repay the loan. Similarly, according to biblical teaching, homeowners should not pledge their home as collateral unless they are very certain they will be able to repay the loan. This is in stark contrast to current lending practices in many developed countries which allow a person to get a loan which is quite large relative to their level and stability of income and relative to their history of repaying debts. With collateral there is a tendency for the lender to think “I can foreclose if need be, so I don’t need to think too hard about whether this is good for the borrower or can be repaid” and a tendency for the borrower to think, “If I cannot make my payments the bank can have the house and I’ve done no harm.” Neither party’s thinking is consistent with biblical teaching and with the God-intended role for finance as a form of justice and love.

Bankruptcy, Debt Forgiveness and Loan Modification

Back to Table of Contents Back to Table of Contents

The created foundations of finance include our creation as social beings who take risk and do not know what the future holds. Inevitably, this will lead to cases where the loans cannot be repaid. Thus, a loan which cannot be repaid is not necessarily a sin. Of course, a loan default may very well result from imprudent borrowing, incompetent management of affairs, hiding, or shielding income from the lender, misrepresentations to the lender when the loan was made, misrepresentations to the borrower when the loan was made, or the loan conditions that are not designed to help the borrower flourish. But in other cases, unexpected circumstances may cause a well-made loan to fail. The borrower may lose a job, incur unexpected medical bills, or suffer loss in a natural disaster, for example.

In situations like these, lenders do have an obligation to forgive the debt or modify repayment of the loan. In the Bible this takes the form of letting the borrower keep his or her collateral if it is necessary for well-being or the ability to earn a living.

If you take your neighbor’s cloak in pawn, you shall restore it before the sun goes down; for it may be your neighbor’s only clothing to use as cover; in what else shall that person sleep? (Exodus 22:26–27)

No one shall take a mill or an upper millstone in pledge, for that would be taking a life in pledge. (Deuteronomy 24:6)

When you make your neighbor a loan of any kind, you shall not go into the house to take the pledge. You shall wait outside, while the person to whom you are making the loan brings the pledge out to you. (Deuteronomy 24:10–13)

A neighbor’s cloak taken in collateral must be returned before sundown because the neighbor needs it to keep warm overnight. A millstone cannot be repossessed because that would deprive the miller of the ability to earn a living. Even valid collateral cannot be repossessed by force, e.g. entering the borrower’s house. All of these protect distressed borrowers from further calamity, even though they deprive lenders not only of the expected profit from the loan, but actually impose the loss of capital. The borrower’s circumstances are shared by the lender. This is the nature of the time-based relationship inherent in finance.

In modern economies, these protections are embodied in bankruptcy laws, which may also be known as insolvency, examination, receivership, administration, or sequestration. Generally, such laws prevent lenders from taking the necessities of life and work as payment from borrowers who default. Modern laws also prevent lenders from entering borrowers’ homes to repossess items, although they may allow officers of the law to do so. Laws also prevent borrowers from being thrown in prison for defaulting, a counter-productive and inhumane practice that was common for centuries prior to the modern age. Perhaps the development of modern bankruptcy laws represents a long-delayed fulfillment of principles embodied in the Bible in this regard.

Nonetheless borrowers should do whatever they can to repay their debts. Chewning argues, based on God’s immutability and Proverbs 6:1-5, that if we cannot pay our debts we should humble ourselves and plead with our lenders for mercy, rather than seek bankruptcy court protection from our lender.[1] Perhaps, this goes too far, given that the passages above protect distressed borrowers by God’s law, not lender’s mercy. But Chewning is surely right that the first step is for the borrower to seek the lender’s aid and counsel. As we have seen, lending is meant to create a long-term relationship between borrower and lender. Filing for bankruptcy without first attempting to work out a mutually agreeable plan with the lender is hardly the way to respect a relationship. Tiemstra urges us to treat risk as a serious matter and that borrowing is not “an easy way to make money instead of working: it is a serious expression of our responsibility before God.”[2] Finance is about serious justice and love, and when events unfold different from what a prudent lender and borrower expected, the justice and love should not cease, but indeed should be increased on both sides.

Richard Chewning, “Hermeneutics and Biblical Ethics: An Illustration – God’s Immutability and Human Integrity”, The Journal of Biblical Integration in Business (Fall 2000) 49-68.

Tiemstra, “Financial Crisis and the Culture of Risk”.