医治瘫子(可2:1-12)

圣经注释 / 工作神学项目出品

耶稣医治瘫痪者的故事提出了这一个问题:对于那些没有能力工作的人来说,工作的神学意味着什么。这个瘫子在被治愈之前,不能做任何支持自己的工作。因此,他仰赖于他周遭的人的恩典和同情,以维持他日常的生存。耶稣对这人的朋友们的信心印象深刻。他们的信仰是积极的,对于被排斥在因工作而获得财务和关系之奖励以外的人来说,他们表现出关心,同情和友谊。在他们的信仰中,为人与处事之间没有分离。

耶稣认为他们的努力是一种集体的信心表达。“耶稣见他们的信心,就对瘫子说:‘小子,你的罪赦了’”(马可福音2:5)。遗憾的是,信仰社群在现代西方大多数基督徒的工作生活中只发挥了小小的作用,且渐渐式微。即使我们从教会获得到职场工作的帮助和鼓励,也几乎一定是针对个人的帮助和鼓励。在早期,大多数基督徒与一起去教会的人一起工作,所以教会可以容易地将圣经应用在劳动者、农民和家庭成员的共同职业上。相比之下,今日西方的基督徒很少跟同教会的人在同一地点工作。然而,今日的基督徒常常与他们信仰社群里的其他人做同类型的工作。因此,他们还是有机会可以跟类似职业的其他信徒一起分享他们的工作挑战和机会。不过,这种情形很少发生。除非我们找到一种方式,让基督徒工人能以群体方式相互支持,共同成长,并发展出某种与工作相关的基督徒社群,我们就会错失信仰的社群本质;而这是马可福音2:3-12中非常基本、重要的一点。

在这简短的情节当中,我们观察到三件事情:(1)工作的目的是在使那些不能藉由工作支持自己的人受益,同时祝福那些能够支持自己的人;(2)信仰和工作不能被分开变成“存在”和“行动”两方面,而是要融为一体,化成上帝赋予动力的行动;和(3)依据信仰所做的工作,需要一个信仰社群来支持。

The Paralytic Man (Mark 2:1-12)

Bible Commentary / Produced by TOW Project

Work as Prayerful Relationships: Mark 5 (Click Here to Read)

This sermon from The High Calling discusses another healing miracle of Jesus in Mark (5:1-20) where Jesus brings healing to both a wayward individual and a fearful crowd. If we consider work as a form of prayer, then how we regard one another in the workplace makes a difference. Business is about relationships; how we manage those relationships can make the difference for our success both as business people and Christians.

The story of Jesus healing the paralytic man raises the question of what the theology of work means for those who do not have the ability to work. The paralytic man, prior to this healing, is incapable of self-supporting work. As such, he is dependent on the grace and compassion of those around him for his daily survival. Jesus is impressed by the faith of the man’s friends. Their faith is active, showing care, compassion, and friendship to someone who was excluded from both the financial and relational rewards of work. In their faith, there is no separation between being and doing.

Jesus sees their effort as an act of collective faith. “When Jesus saw their faith he said to the paralytic, ‘Son, your sins are forgiven’” (Mark 2:5). Regrettably, the community of faith plays a vanishingly small role in most Christians’ work lives in the modern West. Even if we receive help and encouragement for the workplace from our church, it is almost certain to be individual help and encouragement. In earlier times, most Christians worked alongside the same people they went to church with, so churches could easily apply the Scriptures to the shared occupations of labourers, farmers, and householders. In contrast, Western Christians today seldom work in the same locations as others in the same church. Nonetheless, today's Christians often work in the same types of jobs as others in their faith communities. So there could be an opportunity to share their work challenges and opportunities with other believers in similar occupations. Yet this seldom happens. Unless we find a way for groups of Christian workers to support one another, grow together, and develop some kind of work-related Christian community, we miss out on the communal nature of faith that is so essential in Mark 2:3-12.

In this brief episode, then, we observe three things: (1) work is intended to benefit those who can’t support themselves through work, as well as those who can; (2) faith and work are not separated as being and doing, but are integrated into action empowered by God; and 3) work done in faith cries out for a community of faith to support it.



    Our free online resources depend on your support! For a limited time, all donations will be matched dollar-for-dollar, up to $100,000. Don't miss this opportunity to help Christians connect the Bible to everyday work.

    Donate