安息日之主(可 2:23-3:6)

圣经注释 / 工作神学项目出品

在讨论马可福音1:21-34时,我们已经注意到,安息日是融入在耶稣每周的工作节奏中的。耶稣与法利赛人之间发生的冲突并不在于是否守安息日,而是如何守安息日的分歧。对于法利赛人来说,安息日主要是以禁止的方式来定义的。他们会问,什么是诫命所禁止的工作(出埃及记20:8-11;申命记5:12-15)?[1] 对他们来说,即使是门徒偶然捡起粮食的行动也构成了工作,从而打破了禁令。有趣的是,他们将这个行为描述为“不可做的”(马可福音2:24),尽管摩西五经中并没有给出第四诫命的具体应用。他们认为自己对法律的解释具有权威性和约束力,并不认为自己可能犯错。他们更反感的是耶稣的治疗行为(马可福音3:1-6),马可认为这件事是导致法利赛人阴谋对付耶稣的关键事件。

让休息时间可以预计,变成需要(点击这里

针对休息和工作的节奏,哈佛商学院两位教授在波士顿咨询公司完成了一项新的研究,点击这里阅读更多内容。这个研究表明,当每个人必须随叫随到的想法受到普遍挑战时,不仅个人可以得到休息,实际上对他们的工作也有益处。(《哈佛商业评论》可能会显示一个广告,并且需要注册才能查看全文。)马克•罗伯茨(Mark Roberts)还在他的“生命领袖”这本灵修书籍中讨论了这个主题:“守安息日不会降低我的工作效率吗?

 

与法利赛人不同,耶稣积极地看待安息日。有一天可以免于工作,乃是神赐给人类的上好礼物。“安息日是为人设立的,人不是为安息日设立的。”(可2:27)。此外,安息日也为我们表达同情和爱心提供了机会。这样看待安息日,在先知书中可以找到良好的先例。以赛亚书58将安息日与我们在服侍神的时候所体现的怜悯和社会公义联系在一起,并最终描绘了上帝对“称安息日为可喜乐的”之人的祝福(以赛亚书58:13-14)。同情,正义和安息日的并列表明,这一天是以同情和公义来敬拜神的日子,这才是它最完全的用意。毕竟,安息日本身就是为了纪念上帝将以色列从埃及人的奴役中解放出来,以及这一事件所体现的公义和怜悯(申命记5:15)。

第一次安息日的记录(马可福音2:23-28)是由门徒采摘麦穗的行为所触发的 。[2] 尽管马太补充说,当时门徒饿了,而路加描述说他们在吃麦穗之前先用手搓掉了麦皮,但马可只是简单描述他们摘了麦穗,表明了这种行为的偶然性质。门徒们可能是心不在焉地随手摘了麦穗,放在了嘴里。在法利赛人提出质疑时,耶稣的辩护起初看来有点奇怪,因为他讲了一个关于圣殿的故事,似乎与安息日无关。

经上记着大卫和跟从他的人缺乏饥饿之时所做的事,你们没有念过么?他当亚比亚他作大祭司的时候,怎么进了神的殿,吃了陈设饼,又给跟从他的人吃。这饼除了祭司以外,人都不可吃。(马可福音2:25-26)。

对于耶稣的辩护的根据,甚至他是否采取了犹太人的释经及论证原则来辩护,学者的意见分歧。[3] 这里的关键在于认识“圣洁”的概念。安息日和圣殿(以及其中的物件)被圣经描述为“圣洁”。[4] 安息日是神圣的节期,而圣殿是神圣的空间,因此其中一项的圣洁性质可以转移到另一项上面。

耶稣的观点是,圣殿的圣洁并不妨碍其参与同情和正义的行为。地上的神圣空间不是圣洁 逃避 世界的避难所 ,而是神世上与我们同在、支撑和恢复这世界的地方。一个分别出来属于神的地方,本质上是一个体现正义与同情的地方。“安息日是为人设立的,人不是为安息日设立的”(可2:27)。马太记载此事的版本包括这样一个细节,耶稣引用了何西阿书6:6:“我喜爱怜恤,不喜爱祭祀”(太12:7)。这更为明确地表现出马可隐约保留的观点。

当安息日耶稣在犹太会堂医治一个人时,同样的问题也出现在了第二次安息日的争议之中(马可福音3:1-6)。耶稣所问的关键问题是,“在安息日行善行恶,救命害命,那样是可以的呢?”法利赛人面对这个问题的沉默证明,安息日行善拯救生命,乃是为这日带来了光荣。

在我们今天的工作中,可以如何应用这一点呢?安息日的原则是,我们必须拿出一部分时间不要做工,让这段时间具有独特的崇拜性质。这并不是说安息日是唯一的礼拜时间,也不是说工作不能成为一种崇拜形式。但安息日的原则让我们以不同于日常工作的方式,专注于神一段时间,并以独特的方式享受他的祝福。至关重要的是,它给我们的空间,让我们崇拜上帝,并展现其蕴含的社会关切、同情心和爱。安息日的崇拜,使我们一周的工作变得饶有趣味。

www.theologyofwork.org上“休息与工作”一文,对安息日的话题进行了深入的讨论 。考虑到基督徒并未就安息日的问题达成完全一致的看法,工作神学项目在 “路加福音和工作” 一文中 “安息日和工作” 一节里,探讨了一个略微不同的观点。

Rabbinic traditions on this point are widespread. Most obviously, see m. Sabb 7:2 and m. Besa 5:2.

Lutz Doering, “Sabbath Laws in the New Testament Gospels,” in F. García Martínez and P.J. Tomson, The New Testament and Rabbinic Literature (Leiden/New York: Brill, 2009), 208-220.

Robert A. Guelich, Mark 1-8:26 (Dallas: Word, 1989), 121-130.

The Sabbath is referred to as holy in Exodus 31:14-15, picking up on the command in the Decalogue to “keep it holy” (Exodus 20:8), recognizing that God himself has “consecrated” it (Exodus 20:11). This notion of holiness links the Sabbath to the temple, which is characteristically understood as “holy” (see, for example, Psalm 5:7 or Psalm 11:4) and, of course, has at its heart the “Holy of Holies.”

The Lord of the Sabbath (Mark 2:23-3:6)

Bible Commentary / Produced by TOW Project

The Purpose of the Sabbath (click here to read)

In this daily reflection from The High CallingMark Roberts considers how the teaching of Jesus about the purpose of the Sabbath speaks to us today: "In a world so filled with busyness, where electronic communication invades every moment, where people are running ragged and neglecting their most important relationships, we need the gift of rest."

We have noticed already, in our discussion of Mark 1:21-34, that the Sabbath is integrated into the weekly rhythms of Jesus. The clash that takes place between Jesus and the Pharisees is not over whether to observe the Sabbath but over how to observe it. For the Pharisees, the Sabbath was primarily defined in negative terms. What, they would ask, is prohibited by the commandment to do no work (Exodus 20:8-11; Deuteronomy 5:12-15)?[1] To them, even the casual action of the disciples in picking ears of grain constitutes a kind of work and thus ignores the prohibition. It is interesting that they describe this action as “not lawful” (Mark 2:24), even though such a specific application of the fourth commandment is lacking in the Torah. They regard their own interpretation of the law as authoritative and binding, and do not consider the possibility that they might be wrong. Even more objectionable for them is Jesus’ act of healing (Mark 3:1-6), which is depicted as the key event leading the Pharisees to plot against Jesus.

Making time off predictable and required (click here to read)

Read more here about a new study regarding rhythms of rest and work done at the Boston Consulting Group by two professors from Harvard Business School. It showed that when the assumption that everyone needs to be always available was collectively challenged, not only could individuals take time off, but their work actually benefited. (Harvard Business Review may show an ad and require registration in order to view the article.) Mark Roberts also discusses this topic in his Life for Leaders devotional "Won't Keeping the Sabbath Make Me Less Productive?"

By contrast with the Pharisees, Jesus regards the Sabbath positively. The day of freedom from work is a gift for humanity’s good. “The Sabbath was made for humankind, not humankind for the Sabbath” (Mark 2:27). Moreover, the Sabbath affords opportunities to exercise compassion and love. Such a view of the Sabbath has good prophetic antecedent. Isaiah 58 links the Sabbath with compassion and social justice in the service of God, culminating with a description of God’s blessing on those who will “call the Sabbath a delight” (Isaiah 58:13-14). The juxtaposition of compassion, justice, and Sabbath suggests that the Sabbath is most fully used as a day of worship by the demonstration of compassion and justice. After all, the Sabbath itself is a remembrance of God’s justice and compassion in delivering Israel from slavery in Egypt (Deuteronomy 5:15).

The first Sabbath account (Mark 2:23-28) is triggered by the disciples’ action of picking ears of grain.[2] While Matthew adds that the disciples were hungry, and Luke describes their action of rubbing the ears of grain between their hands before eating them, Mark simply describes them as picking the grain, which conveys the casual nature of the action. The disciples were probably absently picking at the seeds and nibbling them. The defence that Jesus offers when challenged by the Pharisees seems a little strange at first, because it is a story about the temple, not the Sabbath.

Have you never read what David did when he and his companions were hungry and in need of food? He entered the house of God, when Abiathar was high priest, and ate the bread of the Presence, which it is not lawful for any but the priests to eat, and he gave some to his companions. (Mark 2:25–26)

Scholars are divided over how — or even whether — Jesus’ argument works according to principles of Jewish exegesis and argumentation.[3] The key is to recognize the concept of “holiness.” Both the Sabbath and the temple (with its contents) are described as “holy” in Scripture.[4] Sabbath is sacred time, the temple is sacred space, but lessons that may be derived from the holiness of one may be transferred to the other.

Jesus’ point is that the holiness of the temple does not preclude its participation in acts of compassion and justice. The sacred spaces of earth are not refuges of holiness against the world, but places of God’s presence for the world, for his sustenance and restoration of the world. A place set apart for God fundamentally is a place of justice and compassion. “The sabbath  [and by implication, the temple] was made for humankind, and not humankind for the sabbath” (Mark 2:27). Matthew’s version of this account includes the detail, “I desire mercy and not sacrifice,” from Hosea 6:6 (Matthew 12:7). This makes explicit the point that we see with more reserve in Mark.

The Purpose of the Sabbath (click here to read)

In this daily reflection from The High CallingMark Roberts considers how the question and the action of Jesus make it clear that the Sabbath is a day for saving life, not just in the particular sense of rescuing someone from a life-threatening situation, but also in the larger sense of bringing people to wholeness. 

The same point emerges in the second Sabbath controversy, when Jesus heals a man in a synagogue on the Sabbath (Mark 3:1-6). The key question that Jesus asks is, “Is it lawful to do good or to do harm on the Sabbath, to save life or to kill?” The silence of the Pharisees in the face of this question serves as a confirmation that the Sabbath is honoured by doing good, by saving life.

How does this apply to our work today? The Sabbath principle is that we must consecrate a portion of our time and keep it free from the demands of work, allowing it to take on a distinctive character of worship. This is not to say that the Sabbath is the only time of worship, nor that work cannot be a form of worship itself. But the Sabbath principle allows us time to focus on God in a different way than the working week allows, and to enjoy his blessing in a distinctive way. Crucially, too, it gives us space to allow our worship of God to manifest itself in social compassion, care, and love. Our worship on the Sabbath flavors our work during the week.

The topic of Sabbath is discussed in depth in the article, Rest and Work at www.theologyofwork.org. Recognizing that there is no single Christian perspective about the Sabbath, the Theology of Work Project explores a somewhat different point of view in the section on "Sabbath and Work" in the article Luke and Work.

Rabbinic traditions on this point are widespread. Most obviously, see m. Sabb 7:2 and m. Besa 5:2.

Lutz Doering, “Sabbath Laws in the New Testament Gospels,” in F. García Martínez and P.J. Tomson, The New Testament and Rabbinic Literature (Leiden/New York: Brill, 2009), 208-220.

Robert A. Guelich, Mark 1-8:26 (Dallas: Word, 1989), 121-130.

The Sabbath is referred to as holy in Exodus 31:14-15, picking up on the command in the Decalogue to “keep it holy” (Exodus 20:8), recognizing that God himself has “consecrated” it (Exodus 20:11). This notion of holiness links the Sabbath to the temple, which is characteristically understood as “holy” (see, for example, Psalm 5:7 or Psalm 11:4) and, of course, has at its heart the “Holy of Holies.”