工作、休息、敬拜的节奏(可 1-4, 6, 13)

圣经注释 / 工作神学项目出品

早期的旅行(可 1:21-45)

回到目录 回到目录

马可福音有一大段材料(马可福音1:21-34)发生在安息日,也即休息的那天。在这段叙事中,有一些事情发生在犹太会堂中(马可福音1:21-28)。每周的工作,休息和崇拜都融入耶稣自己的生活中,既不被忽视也不被丢弃,这一点具有重要意义。在我们的时代,这样的作法已经大大减少,我们需要提醒自己,耶稣支持这种每周有节奏的生活方式。当然,耶稣在这一天也做他的工作,传扬真理和医治,这一点同样重要。后来,这将会使他与法利赛人发生冲突。这段经文也强调,安息日不仅是离开工作的休息日,而且也是一个积极付出爱和仁慈的日子。[1]

耶稣除了维持每星期的节奏,还有每日的节奏。安息日之后,天仍然“非常黑”的时候,耶稣就起来祈祷了(马可福音1:35)。他每天的首要任务是与神联系。强调耶稣独自一人祷告是十分重要的,因为这突出了祷告不是公开表演,而是个人的交流。

人祷告是十分重要的,因为这突出了祷告不是公开表演,而是个人的交流。对于许多工作的基督徒来说,每天祷告似乎是一个非常困难的做法。在一早起来照顾家庭,漫长的通勤时间,希望早早开始工作可以完成一天的责任,到晚上需要结束当天的工作(或者娱乐)之间,似乎不可能建立起固定的晨祷习惯。晚上的时间就更为困难了。 对那些因为工作繁忙而没有每天祷告或者不能每天祷告的人,马可没有加以责备和判断。但是他却刻画了比身边任何一个人都要忙碌的耶稣,每天为了工作和神安排他遇到的人祷告。在工作生活的压力下,每天的祷告似乎是我们无法负担的个人奢侈品。然而,耶稣无法想象没有祷告就开始工作,就像我们大多数人都无法想象不穿鞋子就去工作一样。

固定时间祷告是一件好事,但这不是祈祷的唯一方式。我们也可以在工作中祷告。许多人认为,一天中多次简短的祷告是一种有帮助的方法。公祷书(可在此处在线访问)的《个人和家庭的日常灵修》(136-143页)一章,充分考虑了一天中生活和工作的节奏,提供了早晨、中午、下午和晚上的基本祷告结构。更加简单的例子包括从一个工作任务切换到另一个任务时,做一两句话的祷告,不用闭上眼睛的祷告,在饭前默默地或大声地感谢,随身带一个小物件或者经句卡片,作为祷告或别的许多事项的提醒。在许多帮助建立日常祷告节奏的书籍中,Joyce Huggett的《Finding God in the Fast Lane》[2],以及 Dallas Willard的《The Spirit of the Disciplines》等。[3]

David Shepherd, Seeking Sabbath: A Personal Journey (Oxford: Bible Reading Fellowship, 2007) is a helpful and thought-provoking reflection on the significance of the Sabbath for the contemporary world and highly recommended for further reading.

Joyce Huggett, Finding God in the Fast Lane (Eagle, 1993).

Dallas Willard, The Spirit of the Disciplines: Understanding How God Changes Lives (San Francisco: Harper and Row, 1988).

安息日之主(可 2:23-3:6)

回到目录 回到目录

在讨论马可福音1:21-34时,我们已经注意到,安息日是融入在耶稣每周的工作节奏中的。耶稣与法利赛人之间发生的冲突并不在于是否守安息日,而是如何守安息日的分歧。对于法利赛人来说,安息日主要是以禁止的方式来定义的。他们会问,什么是诫命所禁止的工作(出埃及记20:8-11;申命记5:12-15)?[1] 对他们来说,即使是门徒偶然捡起粮食的行动也构成了工作,从而打破了禁令。有趣的是,他们将这个行为描述为“不可做的”(马可福音2:24),尽管摩西五经中并没有给出第四诫命的具体应用。他们认为自己对法律的解释具有权威性和约束力,并不认为自己可能犯错。他们更反感的是耶稣的治疗行为(马可福音3:1-6),马可认为这件事是导致法利赛人阴谋对付耶稣的关键事件。

让休息时间可以预计,变成需要(点击这里

针对休息和工作的节奏,哈佛商学院两位教授在波士顿咨询公司完成了一项新的研究,点击这里阅读更多内容。这个研究表明,当每个人必须随叫随到的想法受到普遍挑战时,不仅个人可以得到休息,实际上对他们的工作也有益处。(《哈佛商业评论》可能会显示一个广告,并且需要注册才能查看全文。)马克•罗伯茨(Mark Roberts)还在他的“生命领袖”这本灵修书籍中讨论了这个主题:“守安息日不会降低我的工作效率吗?

 

与法利赛人不同,耶稣积极地看待安息日。有一天可以免于工作,乃是神赐给人类的上好礼物。“安息日是为人设立的,人不是为安息日设立的。”(可2:27)。此外,安息日也为我们表达同情和爱心提供了机会。这样看待安息日,在先知书中可以找到良好的先例。以赛亚书58将安息日与我们在服侍神的时候所体现的怜悯和社会公义联系在一起,并最终描绘了上帝对“称安息日为可喜乐的”之人的祝福(以赛亚书58:13-14)。同情,正义和安息日的并列表明,这一天是以同情和公义来敬拜神的日子,这才是它最完全的用意。毕竟,安息日本身就是为了纪念上帝将以色列从埃及人的奴役中解放出来,以及这一事件所体现的公义和怜悯(申命记5:15)。

第一次安息日的记录(马可福音2:23-28)是由门徒采摘麦穗的行为所触发的 。[2] 尽管马太补充说,当时门徒饿了,而路加描述说他们在吃麦穗之前先用手搓掉了麦皮,但马可只是简单描述他们摘了麦穗,表明了这种行为的偶然性质。门徒们可能是心不在焉地随手摘了麦穗,放在了嘴里。在法利赛人提出质疑时,耶稣的辩护起初看来有点奇怪,因为他讲了一个关于圣殿的故事,似乎与安息日无关。

经上记着大卫和跟从他的人缺乏饥饿之时所做的事,你们没有念过么?他当亚比亚他作大祭司的时候,怎么进了神的殿,吃了陈设饼,又给跟从他的人吃。这饼除了祭司以外,人都不可吃。(马可福音2:25-26)。

对于耶稣的辩护的根据,甚至他是否采取了犹太人的释经及论证原则来辩护,学者的意见分歧。[3] 这里的关键在于认识“圣洁”的概念。安息日和圣殿(以及其中的物件)被圣经描述为“圣洁”。[4] 安息日是神圣的节期,而圣殿是神圣的空间,因此其中一项的圣洁性质可以转移到另一项上面。

耶稣的观点是,圣殿的圣洁并不妨碍其参与同情和正义的行为。地上的神圣空间不是圣洁 逃避 世界的避难所 ,而是神世上与我们同在、支撑和恢复这世界的地方。一个分别出来属于神的地方,本质上是一个体现正义与同情的地方。“安息日是为人设立的,人不是为安息日设立的”(可2:27)。马太记载此事的版本包括这样一个细节,耶稣引用了何西阿书6:6:“我喜爱怜恤,不喜爱祭祀”(太12:7)。这更为明确地表现出马可隐约保留的观点。

当安息日耶稣在犹太会堂医治一个人时,同样的问题也出现在了第二次安息日的争议之中(马可福音3:1-6)。耶稣所问的关键问题是,“在安息日行善行恶,救命害命,那样是可以的呢?”法利赛人面对这个问题的沉默证明,安息日行善拯救生命,乃是为这日带来了光荣。

在我们今天的工作中,可以如何应用这一点呢?安息日的原则是,我们必须拿出一部分时间不要做工,让这段时间具有独特的崇拜性质。这并不是说安息日是唯一的礼拜时间,也不是说工作不能成为一种崇拜形式。但安息日的原则让我们以不同于日常工作的方式,专注于神一段时间,并以独特的方式享受他的祝福。至关重要的是,它给我们的空间,让我们崇拜上帝,并展现其蕴含的社会关切、同情心和爱。安息日的崇拜,使我们一周的工作变得饶有趣味。

www.theologyofwork.org上“休息与工作”一文,对安息日的话题进行了深入的讨论 。考虑到基督徒并未就安息日的问题达成完全一致的看法,工作神学项目在 “路加福音和工作” 一文中 “安息日和工作” 一节里,探讨了一个略微不同的观点。

Rabbinic traditions on this point are widespread. Most obviously, see m. Sabb 7:2 and m. Besa 5:2.

Lutz Doering, “Sabbath Laws in the New Testament Gospels,” in F. García Martínez and P.J. Tomson, The New Testament and Rabbinic Literature (Leiden/New York: Brill, 2009), 208-220.

Robert A. Guelich, Mark 1-8:26 (Dallas: Word, 1989), 121-130.

The Sabbath is referred to as holy in Exodus 31:14-15, picking up on the command in the Decalogue to “keep it holy” (Exodus 20:8), recognizing that God himself has “consecrated” it (Exodus 20:11). This notion of holiness links the Sabbath to the temple, which is characteristically understood as “holy” (see, for example, Psalm 5:7 or Psalm 11:4) and, of course, has at its heart the “Holy of Holies.”

建造者耶稣(可 6:1-6)

回到目录 回到目录

在耶稣的家乡发生的一件事件,非常难得地让我们了解了一点他成为旅行传教士之前的工作。当时的情况是,耶稣老家的朋友和熟人不能相信,这个大家熟悉的本地男孩已经成为了伟大的教师和先知。他们抱怨说,“他手所做的是何等的异能呢? 这不是那木匠么?不是马利亚的儿子雅各、约西、犹大、西门的长兄么?他妹妹们不也是在我们这里么?”(可:2-3)。这是圣经唯一一处直接提及耶稣职业的地方。(在马太福音13:55中 ,耶稣被称为“木匠的儿子”,而路加和约翰没有提到他的职业。)希腊语原文(tekton)指的是用任何一种材料从事建造的工匠,[1] 而巴勒斯坦一般采用石头或砖头。英文翻译为“木匠”,可能反映出这样一个事实:圣经第一次翻译为英文时,木材是伦敦最常见的建筑材料。

无论如何,耶稣有许多比喻取材于建筑工地。这些比喻里,参杂了多少耶稣的个人经验呢?他是否曾经帮助建造过篱笆,挖过酒榨,或者在葡萄园里建过守望塔,并了解地主和租户之间紧张的关系(马可福音12:1-12)?他是否曾有位顾客盖楼盖到一半就没有钱了,因此欠着耶稣一大笔债务(路加福音14:28-30)?他是否记得约瑟教他如何把地基建立在磐石之上,使建筑能够抵挡风和洪水(马太福音7:24-27)?他是否雇佣过帮手,不得不面对他们对薪酬的抱怨(马太福音20:1-16 )以及谋取地位的竞争(马可福音9:33-37)呢?他是否曾经在监工手下干活,而那人想要拉他一起诈骗业主(路加福音16:1-16)?简而言之,耶稣比喻中的智慧,有多少得益于他曾在一世纪经济活动中当过商人呢?即使不考虑别的问题,知道耶稣拥有木匠的经验,也可以帮助我们更具体地看待他的比喻。

Ken M. Campbell, “What was Jesus’ Occupation?” Journal of the Evangelical Theological Society 48/3 (September 2005), 501-519.

工作的比喻(可4:26-29,13:32-37)

回到目录 回到目录

马可福音中,只有两个比喻不见于其他福音书。这两个比喻都有关工作,而且都很简短。

第一个比喻是马可福音4:26-29,比较了神的国与地里撒种的工作。它与紧随其后的、更广为人知的芥菜种之比喻,以及四种土壤的比喻相似(马可福音4:1-8)。虽然这个比喻以农业为背景,但却故意减弱了农民所起的作用。“那人却不晓得”种子为何长成庄稼(可4:27)。相反,这个比喻的重点在于,神的国度成长的动力乃是神不可描述的大能。尽管如此,农民必须“黑夜睡觉,白日起来”耕种作物(马可福音4:27),并用镰刀(马可福音4:29)收割成熟的庄稼。上帝的奇迹是为那些完成本分工作的人所预备的。

马可福音13:32-37第二个特有的比喻,强调了耶稣的门徒需要守望祂的第二次来临。有趣的是,耶稣说:“这事正如一个人离开本家,寄居外邦,把权柄交给仆人,分派各人当作的工又吩咐看门的儆醒”(马可福音13:34)。他离开的时候,要求每个仆人都继续各自的工作。神的国不像一个去远方的主人,承诺以后会叫仆人一道前来会合。正好相反,主人还会回来,并安排仆人在他回来之前发展生意、照顾好产业。

无论他们的职业如何,这两个比喻都预设耶稣的门徒应成为勤奋的工人。我们不会在这里讨论其他比喻,但请读者参考www.theologyofwork.org中的马太福音与工作 以及 路加福音与工作两篇文章,做更广泛的探索。

Rhythms of Work, Rest and Worship (Mark 1-4, 6, 13)

Bible Commentary / Produced by TOW Project

The First Days of the Movement (Mark 1:21-45)

Back to Table of Contents Back to Table of Contents

A major block of material (Mark 1:21-34) takes place on the Sabbath, the day of rest. Within this block, some of the action is located in the synagogue (Mark 1:21-28). It is significant that the weekly routine of work, rest, and worship is integrated into Jesus’ own life and is neither ignored nor discarded. In our own age, where such a practice has been greatly diminished, it is important to remind ourselves that this weekly rhythm was endorsed by Jesus. Of course, it is also significant that Jesus does his work of both truth and healing on this day. This will later bring him into conflict with the Pharisees. It also highlights that the Sabbath is not just a day of rest from work, but also a day of active love and mercy.[1]

As well as the weekly rhythm, there is also a daily rhythm. Following the Sabbath, Jesus rises while it is still “very dark” to pray (Mark 1:35). His first priority of the day is to connect with God. The emphasis on the solitude of Jesus in this time of prayer is important, stressing that this prayer is not a public performance, but a matter of personal communion.

Work as Prayerful Activity (Click Here to Read)

In this sermon based on Mark 6, George Cladis argues that we should link the tasks we do at work to prayerful activity, meeting needs for our God of extravagant love. You can make a difference for the Kingdom of God in your home, your cubicle, your office, your trade—wherever you conduct your work as prayerful activity.

Daily prayer seems to be an extremely difficult practice for many workplace Christians. Between early morning family responsibilities, long commutes, early working hours, a desire to get ahead of the day’s responsibilities, and late nights needed to accomplish the day’s work (or entertainment), it seems almost impossible to establish a consistent routine of morning prayer. And later in the day is harder still. Nowhere does Mark depict judgment against those who do not or cannot pray daily about the work that lies ahead of them. But he does depict Jesus — busier than anyone around him — praying about the work and the people God sets before him every day. Amid the pressures of working life, daily prayer may seem to be a personal luxury we can’t afford to indulge. Jesus, however, couldn’t imagine going to his work without prayer, much as most of us couldn’t imagine going to work without shoes.

Regular time set apart for prayer is a good thing, but it is not the only way to pray. We can also pray in the midst of our work. One practice many have found helpful is to pray very briefly at multiple times during the day. “Daily Devotions for Individuals and Families,” found in the Book of Common Prayer (pages 136-143) (available online here), provides brief structures for prayer in the morning, at noon, in the later afternoon and at night, taking account of the rhythms of life and work during the day. Even briefer examples include a one- or two-sentence prayer when moving from one task to another, praying with eyes open, offering thanks silently or out loud before meals, keeping an object or verse of Scripture in a pocket as a reminder to pray and many others. Among the many books that help establish a daily prayer rhythm are Finding God in the Fast Lane by Joyce Huggett[2] and The Spirit of the Disciplines by Dallas Willard.[3]

David Shepherd, Seeking Sabbath: A Personal Journey (Oxford: Bible Reading Fellowship, 2007) is a helpful and thought-provoking reflection on the significance of the Sabbath for the contemporary world and highly recommended for further reading.

Joyce Huggett, Finding God in the Fast Lane (Eagle, 1993).

Dallas Willard, The Spirit of the Disciplines: Understanding How God Changes Lives (San Francisco: Harper and Row, 1988).

The Lord of the Sabbath (Mark 2:23-3:6)

Back to Table of Contents Back to Table of Contents

The Purpose of the Sabbath (Click Here to Read)

In this daily reflection from The High Calling Mark Roberts considers how the teaching of Jesus about the purpose of the Sabbath speaks to us today: "In a world so filled with busyness, where electronic communication invades every moment, where people are running ragged and neglecting their most important relationships, we need the gift of rest."

We have noticed already, in our discussion of Mark 1:21-34, that the Sabbath is integrated into the weekly rhythms of Jesus. The clash that takes place between Jesus and the Pharisees is not over whether to observe the Sabbath but over how to observe it. For the Pharisees, the Sabbath was primarily defined in negative terms. What, they would ask, is prohibited by the commandment to do no work (Exodus 20:8-11; Deuteronomy 5:12-15)?[1] To them, even the casual action of the disciples in picking ears of grain constitutes a kind of work and thus ignores the prohibition. It is interesting that they describe this action as “not lawful” (Mark 2:24), even though such a specific application of the fourth commandment is lacking in the Torah. They regard their own interpretation of the law as authoritative and binding, and do not consider the possibility that they might be wrong. Even more objectionable for them is Jesus’ act of healing (Mark 3:1-6), which is depicted as the key event leading the Pharisees to plot against Jesus.

Making Time Off Predictable and Required (Click Here to Read)

Read more here about a new study regarding rhythms of rest and work done at the Boston Consulting Group by two professors from Harvard Business School. It showed that when the assumption that everyone needs to be always available was collectively challenged, not only could individuals take time off, but their work actually benefited. (Harvard Business Review may show an ad and require registration in order to view the article.) Mark Roberts also discusses this topic in his Life for Leaders devotional "Won't Keeping the Sabbath Make Me Less Productive?"

By contrast with the Pharisees, Jesus regards the Sabbath positively. The day of freedom from work is a gift for humanity’s good. “The Sabbath was made for humankind, not humankind for the Sabbath” (Mark 2:27). Moreover, the Sabbath affords opportunities to exercise compassion and love. Such a view of the Sabbath has good prophetic antecedent. Isaiah 58 links the Sabbath with compassion and social justice in the service of God, culminating with a description of God’s blessing on those who will “call the Sabbath a delight” (Isaiah 58:13-14). The juxtaposition of compassion, justice, and Sabbath suggests that the Sabbath is most fully used as a day of worship by the demonstration of compassion and justice. After all, the Sabbath itself is a remembrance of God’s justice and compassion in delivering Israel from slavery in Egypt (Deuteronomy 5:15).

The first Sabbath account (Mark 2:23-28) is triggered by the disciples’ action of picking ears of grain.[2] While Matthew adds that the disciples were hungry, and Luke describes their action of rubbing the ears of grain between their hands before eating them, Mark simply describes them as picking the grain, which conveys the casual nature of the action. The disciples were probably absently picking at the seeds and nibbling them. The defence that Jesus offers when challenged by the Pharisees seems a little strange at first, because it is a story about the house of God, not the Sabbath.

Have you never read what David did when he and his companions were hungry and in need of food? He entered the house of God, when Abiathar was high priest, and ate the bread of the Presence, which it is not lawful for any but the priests to eat, and he gave some to his companions. (Mark 2:25–26)

Scholars are divided over how — or even whether — Jesus’ argument works according to principles of Jewish exegesis and argumentation.[3] The key is to recognize the concept of “holiness.” Both the Sabbath and the house of God (with its contents) are described as “holy” in Scripture.[4] Sabbath is sacred time, the house of God is sacred space, but lessons that may be derived from the holiness of one may be transferred to the other.

Jesus’ point is that the holiness of the house of God does not preclude its participation in acts of compassion and justice. The sacred spaces of earth are not refuges of holiness against the world, but places of God’s presence for the world, for his sustenance and restoration of the world. A place set apart for God fundamentally is a place of justice and compassion. “The sabbath  [and by implication, the house of God] was made for humankind, and not humankind for the sabbath” (Mark 2:27). Matthew’s version of this account includes the detail, “I desire mercy and not sacrifice,” from Hosea 6:6 (Matthew 12:7). This makes explicit the point that we see with more reserve in Mark.

The Purpose of the Sabbath, Part 2 (Click Here to Read)

In this daily reflection from The High Calling Mark Roberts considers how the question and the action of Jesus make it clear that the Sabbath is a day for saving life, not just in the particular sense of rescuing someone from a life-threatening situation, but also in the larger sense of bringing people to wholeness. ​

The same point emerges in the second Sabbath controversy, when Jesus heals a man in a synagogue on the Sabbath (Mark 3:1-6). The key question that Jesus asks is, “Is it lawful to do good or to do harm on the Sabbath, to save life or to kill?” The silence of the Pharisees in the face of this question serves as a confirmation that the Sabbath is honoured by doing good, by saving life.

How does this apply to our work today? The Sabbath principle is that we must consecrate a portion of our time and keep it free from the demands of work, allowing it to take on a distinctive character of worship. This is not to say that the Sabbath is the only time of worship, nor that work cannot be a form of worship itself. But the Sabbath principle allows us time to focus on God in a different way than the working week allows, and to enjoy his blessing in a distinctive way. Crucially, too, it gives us space to allow our worship of God to manifest itself in social compassion, care, and love. Our worship on the Sabbath flavors our work during the week.

The topic of Sabbath is discussed in depth in the article, Rest and Work at www.theologyofwork.org. Recognizing that there is no single Christian perspective about the Sabbath, the Theology of Work Project explores a somewhat different point of view in the section on "Sabbath and Work" in the article Luke and Work.

Rabbinic traditions on this point are widespread. Most obviously, see m. Sabb 7:2 and m. Besa 5:2.

Lutz Doering, “Sabbath Laws in the New Testament Gospels,” in F. García Martínez and P.J. Tomson, The New Testament and Rabbinic Literature (Leiden/New York: Brill, 2009), 208-220.

Robert A. Guelich, Mark 1-8:26 (Dallas: Word, 1989), 121-130.

The Sabbath is referred to as holy in Exodus 31:14-15, picking up on the command in the Decalogue to “keep it holy” (Exodus 20:8), recognizing that God himself has “consecrated” it (Exodus 20:11). This notion of holiness links the Sabbath to the temple, which is characteristically understood as “holy” (see, for example, Psalm 5:7 or Psalm 11:4) and, of course, has at its heart the “Holy of Holies.”

Jesus the Builder (Mark 6:1-6)

Back to Table of Contents Back to Table of Contents

The Art of Making, The Carpenter (Click to Watch)

The Art of Making, The Carpenter from Deep Green Sea on Vimeo.

An incident in Jesus’ hometown gives a rare insight into his work prior to becoming a traveling preacher. The context is that Jesus’ hometown friends and acquaintances can’t believe that this familiar local boy has become a great teacher and prophet. In the course of their complaints, they say, “What deeds of power are being done by his hands! Is not this the carpenter, the son of Mary and brother of James and Joses and Judas and Simon, and are not his sisters here with us?” (Mark 6:2–3). This is the only passage in the Bible to directly state Jesus’ trade. (In Matthew 13:55, Jesus is called “the carpenter’s son,” and Luke and John do not mention his profession.) The underlying Greek (tekton) refers to a builder or craftsman in any kind of material,[1] which in Palestine would generally be stone or brick. The English rendering “carpenter” may reflect the fact that in London wood was the more common building material at the time the first English translations were made.

In any case, a number of Jesus’ parables take place at construction sites. How much of Jesus’ personal experience might be reflected in these parables? Did he help construct a fence, dig a wine press, or build a tower in a vineyard, and observe the strained relations between the landowner and the tenants (Mark 12:1-12)? Did one of his customers run out of money halfway through building a tower and leave an unpaid debt to Jesus (Luke 14:28-30)? Did he remember Joseph teaching him how to dig a foundation all the way to solid rock, so that the building can withstand wind and flood (Matthew 7:24-27)? Did he ever hire assistants and have to face grumbling about pay (Matthew 20:1-16) and pecking order (Mark 9:33-37)? Was he ever supervised by a manager who asked him to join in a scheme to defraud the owner (Luke 16:1-16)? In short, how much of the wisdom in Jesus’ parables was developed through his experience as a tradesman in the first-century economy? If nothing else, remembering Jesus’ experience as a builder can help us see the parables in a more concrete light.

Ken M. Campbell, “What was Jesus’ Occupation?” Journal of the Evangelical Theological Society 48/3 (September 2005), 501-519.

Parables at Work (Mark 4:26-29 and 13:32-37)

Back to Table of Contents Back to Table of Contents

Mark contains only two parables that are not also found in the other Gospels. Both of them concern work, and both are very short.

The first of these parables, in Mark 4:26-29, compares the kingdom of God to growing grain from seed. It has similarities to the more familiar parable of the mustard seed, which follows immediately afterwards, and to the parable of the sower (Mark 4:1-8). Although the parable is set in the workplace of agriculture, the role of the farmer is deliberately minimized. “He does not know how” the grain grows (Mark 4:27). Instead, the emphasis is on how the kingdom’s growth is brought about by the inexplicable power of God. Nonetheless, the farmer must “rise night and day” to cultivate the crop (Mark 4:26) and go in with his sickle (Mark 4:28) to reap the harvest. God’s miracle is given among those who do their assigned work.

 The second uniquely Marcan parable, in Mark 13:32-37, illustrates the need for Jesus’ disciples to watch for the second coming of Jesus. Intriguingly, Jesus says, “It is like a man going on a journey, when he leaves home and puts his slaves in charge, each with his work, and commands the doorkeeper to be on the watch” (Mark 13:34). While he is away, each servant is charged to keep doing his work. The kingdom is not like a master who goes to a far country and promises to eventually call his servants to join him there. No, the master will be coming back, and he gives his servants the work of growing and maintaining his household for his eventual return.

Both parables take it as a given that Jesus’ disciples are diligent workers, whatever their occupation. We will not discuss the other parables here, but refer instead to the extensive explorations in Matthew and Work and Luke and Work at www.theologyofwork.org.