建造者耶稣(可 6:1-6)

圣经注释 / 工作神学项目出品

在耶稣的家乡发生的一件事件,非常难得地让我们了解了一点他成为旅行传教士之前的工作。当时的情况是,耶稣老家的朋友和熟人不能相信,这个大家熟悉的本地男孩已经成为了伟大的教师和先知。他们抱怨说,“他手所做的是何等的异能呢? 这不是那木匠么?不是马利亚的儿子雅各、约西、犹大、西门的长兄么?他妹妹们不也是在我们这里么?”(可:2-3)。这是圣经唯一一处直接提及耶稣职业的地方。(在马太福音13:55中 ,耶稣被称为“木匠的儿子”,而路加和约翰没有提到他的职业。)希腊语原文(tekton)指的是用任何一种材料从事建造的工匠,[1] 而巴勒斯坦一般采用石头或砖头。英文翻译为“木匠”,可能反映出这样一个事实:圣经第一次翻译为英文时,木材是伦敦最常见的建筑材料。

无论如何,耶稣有许多比喻取材于建筑工地。这些比喻里,参杂了多少耶稣的个人经验呢?他是否曾经帮助建造过篱笆,挖过酒榨,或者在葡萄园里建过守望塔,并了解地主和租户之间紧张的关系(马可福音12:1-12)?他是否曾有位顾客盖楼盖到一半就没有钱了,因此欠着耶稣一大笔债务(路加福音14:28-30)?他是否记得约瑟教他如何把地基建立在磐石之上,使建筑能够抵挡风和洪水(马太福音7:24-27)?他是否雇佣过帮手,不得不面对他们对薪酬的抱怨(马太福音20:1-16 )以及谋取地位的竞争(马可福音9:33-37)呢?他是否曾经在监工手下干活,而那人想要拉他一起诈骗业主(路加福音16:1-16)?简而言之,耶稣比喻中的智慧,有多少得益于他曾在一世纪经济活动中当过商人呢?即使不考虑别的问题,知道耶稣拥有木匠的经验,也可以帮助我们更具体地看待他的比喻。

Ken M. Campbell, “What was Jesus’ Occupation?” Journal of the Evangelical Theological Society 48/3 (September 2005), 501-519.

Jesus the Builder (Mark 6:1-6)

Bible Commentary / Produced by TOW Project

The Art of Making, The Carpenter (Click to watch)

The Art of Making, The Carpenter from Deep Green Sea on Vimeo.

An incident in Jesus’ hometown gives a rare insight into his work prior to becoming a traveling preacher. The context is that Jesus’ hometown friends and acquaintances can’t believe that this familiar local boy has become a great teacher and prophet. In the course of their complaints, they say, “What deeds of power are being done by his hands! Is not this the carpenter, the son of Mary and brother of James and Joses and Judas and Simon, and are not his sisters here with us?” (Mark 6:2–3). This is the only passage in the Bible to directly state Jesus’ trade. (In Matthew 13:55, Jesus is called “the carpenter’s son,” and Luke and John do not mention his profession.) The underlying Greek (tekton) refers to a builder or craftsman in any kind of material,[1] which in Palestine would generally be stone or brick. The English rendering “carpenter” may reflect the fact that in London wood was the more common building material at the time the first English translations were made.

In any case, a number of Jesus’ parables take place at construction sites. How much of Jesus’ personal experience might be reflected in these parables? Did he help construct a fence, dig a wine press, or build a tower in a vineyard, and observe the strained relations between the landowner and the tenants (Mark 12:1-12)? Did one of his customers run out of money halfway through building a tower and leave an unpaid debt to Jesus (Luke 14:28-30)? Did he remember Joseph teaching him how to dig a foundation all the way to solid rock, so that the building can withstand wind and flood (Matthew 7:24-27)? Did he ever hire assistants and have to face grumbling about pay (Matthew 20:1-16) and pecking order (Mark 9:33-37)? Was he ever supervised by a manager who asked him to join in a scheme to defraud the owner (Luke 16:1-16)? In short, how much of the wisdom in Jesus’ parables was developed through his experience as a tradesman in the first-century economy? If nothing else, remembering Jesus’ experience as a builder can help us see the parables in a more concrete light.

Ken M. Campbell, “What was Jesus’ Occupation?” Journal of the Evangelical Theological Society 48/3 (September 2005), 501-519.



    Our free online resources depend on your support! For a limited time, all donations will be matched dollar-for-dollar, up to $100,000. Don't miss this opportunity to help Christians connect the Bible to everyday work.

    Donate