“当记念安息日,守为圣日” (出20:8-11; 申5:12)

圣经注释 / 工作神学项目出品

安息日的问题不仅在申命记,出埃及记和旧约当中,而且在基督教神学和实践都是一个复杂的问题。从新约时代开始,守安息日的第四条诫命对外邦信徒的确切适用性就一直存在争议(罗14:5-6)。然而,安息日的基本原则能够直接适用于工作的问题。

 

安息日和我们做的工作(申5:13)

回到目录 回到目录

第四条诫命的第一部分要求在七日中有一日停止做工。一方面,这是对以色列人民无与伦比的恩赐。古代没有其他民族有特权在七天中休息一天。另一方面,这需要对上帝的供应有超凡的信心。六天的工作必须足以种植庄稼、收割庄稼、抬水捣衣,并从被造物中获得生计。当以色列每周休息一天时,周围的国家继续铸剑,给箭装翎并训练士兵。以色列不得不相信上帝,相信每周一天的休息不会导致经济和军事上的灾难。

现今我们面对同样的、信靠上帝供应的问题。如果我们听从上帝的诫命而遵守神自己的工作和休息的循环,我们能否在现代经济中与人竞争呢?我们一定需要工作七天来完成工作(或两三个工作)、清扫房子、准备饭菜、修剪草坪、洗车、支付帐单、完成家庭作业,并且购买衣服吗? 还是我们相信,即使每周休息一天,上帝也可以供应我们的需要?我们是否可以花时间崇拜上帝,祷告,并与他人聚在一起学习和彼此鼓励?如果我们这样做,我们的总体生产力会增加还是减少?第四条诫命没有说明,上帝将会让我们如何解决这个问题。它只是告诉我们每七天休息一天。

 

基督徒已经把安息日转变成主日(星期日,基督复活的日子)。但安息日的本质并不是在一个星期中选择那一天合适的问题(罗14:5-6)。安息日问题背后的矛盾其实是工作休息的问题。工作和休息都包括在第四条诫命中。“六日要劳碌做你一切的工” (申5:13)。六天的工作与一天的休息一样,都是这条诫命的一部分。虽然许多基督徒有面临让工作侵占休息时间的危险,但是另一些基督徒或许有与之相反的危险。他们可能推卸工作并试图过休闲和懒散的生活。这比忽略安息日更糟糕,因为“人若不看顾亲属,就是背了真道,比不信的人还不好,不看顾自己家里的人,更是如此”(提前5:8)。我们真正需要的是安排好工作以及休息的时间和地点,让我们自己、我们的家人、我们的工人和顾客都得益处。这不一定意味着享有星期日(或星期六)不间断的二十四小时的休息。工作和休息的时间分配可以会由于临时的需要或生活不同阶段的变化而改变。

如果过度劳动是我们的主要危险,那么我们需要找到一种方式来遵守第四条诫命,而不是在属灵的(星期日崇拜)和属世的(星期一到星期六工作)时间之间建立一个新的、虚假的律法主义竞争条件。如果逃避工作是我们的危险,那么我们需要学习如何在服务神和我们的邻舍中寻求喜乐和意(弗4:28)。

 

安息日和别人为我们做的工作

回到目录 回到目录

十诫的两个版本之间的少数差异,主要体现在申命记第四条诫命上的不同。首先,在安息日不被强迫工作的对象扩展到“你的牛或驴,或你的任何牲畜”(申5:14a)。其次,上帝给出了为什么你不能强迫奴隶在安息日工作的原因:“使你的仆婢可以和你一样安息。你也要记念你在埃及地作过奴仆”(申5:14b-15a)。这条诫命最后的提醒是,在其他国家的军事和经济竞争中,安稳休息的能力是上帝的恩赐,因为他用“用大能的手和伸出来的膀臂”保护着以色列民(申5:15b)。

这条诫命的两个文本有一个的重要区别,就是它们分别建立在创造和救赎上。在出埃及记中,安息日的根据是六天的创造之后有一天的休息(创1:3-2:3)。申命记则增加了上帝救赎的元素。“耶和华—你神用大能的手和伸出来的膀臂将你从那里领出来。因此,耶和华—你的神吩咐你守安息日”(申5:15)。把两者结合在一起,我们可以看到,守安息日的双重基础是神造我们的方式和救赎我们的方式。

申命记的补充,强调了神对那些在他人的权柄之下工作的人的关心。不仅是你必须休息,那些为你工作的人(奴隶,其他以色列人,甚至动物)都必须得到安息。当你“记念你在埃及地作过奴仆”时,它提醒你不要把自己的休息当作一种特权,而是像耶和华赐你安息一样使他别人也能够休息。他们遵循哪种宗教或选择在安息日做什么事情并不重要。他们是工人,上帝指示我们为工作的人提供休息。我们可能习惯于考虑守安息日,以使我们自己得以休息。但我们考虑过让那些为我们服务的人休息呢?许多人为了使他人生活更方便而长时间的工作,甚至损害了他们自己的人际关系,睡眠节奏和社交机会。

那些阻止人们长时间工作的所谓“清教徒法规(blue laws)”——无论你理解为保护工人的健康还是限制工人的工作机会,都已经从大多数发达国家消失了。毫无疑问,这为工人和他们服务的人们带来了许多新的机会。但这是我们应该参加的吗?当我们深夜在商店里购物,在星期天早上打高尔夫,或观看过了午夜的体育赛事时,我们是否考虑到,这些活动可能会影响到当时工作的人呢?也许我们的活动有助于增加一个本来不存在的工作机会。另一方面,也许我们只是让一个本有更为方便的工作时间之人,不得不在一个痛苦的时间工作。

众所周知,快餐连锁店 Chick-fil-A 在星期日不开门。人们通常认为,这是其创始人Truett Cathy对第四条诫命的特殊解释。但根据公司的网站,“他的决定是属灵的,但也实际可行。他相信,所有特许经营Chick-fil-A的运营商和餐厅的员工都应该有机会休息,花时间与家人和朋友在一起。如果他们愿意的话,可以去敬拜神。”当然,从关心为你工作的人角度来解读第四条诫命可算是一种特殊的解释,但绝不是宗派主义或者律法主义的解释。这个问题很复杂,没有一个标准的答案。但作为消费者和(在某些情况下)雇主,我们确实拥有某些选择,可能对他人休息和工作的时间和条件造成影响。

“Observe the Sabbath Day and Keep It Holy” (Exodus 20:8-11; Deuteronomy 5:12)

Bible Commentary / Produced by TOW Project

The issue of the Sabbath is complex, not only in the books of Deuteronomy and Exodus and the Old Testament, but also in Christian theology and practice. The precise applicability of the fourth commandment, keeping the Sabbath, to Gentile believers has been a matter of debate since New Testament times (Rom. 14:5-6). Nonetheless, the general principle of the Sabbath applies directly to the matter of work. 

The Sabbath and the Work We Do (Deuteronomy 5:13)

Back to Table of Contents

The first part of the fourth commandment calls for ceasing labor one day in seven. On the one hand, this was an incomparable gift to the people of Israel. No other ancient people had the privilege of resting one day in seven. On the other hand, it required an extraordinary trust in God’s provision. Six days of work had to be enough to plant crops, gather the harvest, carry water, spin cloth, and draw sustenance from creation. While Israel rested one day every week, the encircling nations continued to forge swords, feather arrows, and train soldiers. Israel had to trust God not to let a day of rest lead to economic and military catastrophe.

Making time off predictable and required

Read more here about a new study regarding rhythms of rest and work done at the Boston Consulting Group by two professors from Harvard Business School. It showed that when the assumption that everyone needs to be always available was collectively challenged, not only could individuals take time off, but their work actually benefited. (Harvard Business Review may show an ad and require registration in order to view the article.) Mark Roberts also discusses this topic in his Life for Leaders devotional "Won't Keeping the Sabbath Make Me Less Productive?"

We face the same issue of trust in God’s provision today. If we heed God’s commandment to observe God’s own cycle of work and rest, will we be able to compete in the modern economy? Does it take seven days of work to hold a job (or two or three jobs), clean the house, prepare the meals, mow the lawn, wash the car, pay the bills, finish the school work, and shop for the clothes, or can we trust God to provide for us even if we take a day off during the course of every week? Can we take time to worship God, to pray, and to gather with others for study and encouragement, and if we do, will it make us more or less productive overall? The fourth commandment does not explain how God will make it all work out for us. It simply tells us to rest one day every seven.

Christians have translated the day of rest to the Lord’s Day (Sunday, the day of Christ’s resurrection), but the essence of the Sabbath is not choosing one particular day of the week over another (Rom. 14:5-6). The polarity that actually undergirds the Sabbath is work and rest. Both work and rest are included in the fourth commandment. “Six days you shall labor and do all your work” (Deut. 5:13). The six days of work are as much a part of the commandment as the one day of rest. Although many Christians are in danger of allowing work to squeeze the time set aside for rest, others are in danger of the opposite—of shirking work and trying to live a life of leisure and dissipation. This is even worse than neglecting the Sabbath, for “whoever does not provide for relatives, and especially for family members, has denied the faith and is worse than an unbeliever” (1 Tim. 5:8). What we need are times and places for both work and rest, which together are good for us, our family, workers, and guests. This may or may not include twenty-four continuous hours of rest falling on Sunday (or Saturday). The proportions may change due to temporary necessities or the changing needs of the seasons of life.

If overwork is our main danger, then we need to find a way to honor the fourth commandment without instituting a false, new legalism pitting the spiritual (worship on Sunday) against the secular (work on Monday through Saturday). If avoiding work is our danger, we need to learn how to find joy and meaning in working as a service to God and our neighbors (Eph. 4:28). 

The Sabbath and the Work People Do for Us

Back to Table of Contents

Of the few variations between the two versions of the Ten Commandments, the majority occur as additions to the fourth commandment in Deuteronomy. First, the list of those you cannot force to work on the Sabbath is expanded to include “your ox or your donkey, or any of your livestock (Deut. 5:14a). Second, a reason is given why you cannot force slaves to work on the Sabbath: “So that your male and female slave may rest as well as you. Remember that you were a slave in the land of Egypt” (Deut. 5:14b-15a). Finally, a reminder is added that your ability to rest securely in the midst of military and economic competition from other nations is a gift from God, who protects Israel “with a mighty hand and an outstretched arm” (Deut. 5:15b).

An important distinction between the two texts on this commandment is their grounding in creation and redemption, respectively. In Exodus, the Sabbath is rooted in the six days of creation followed by a day of rest (Gen. 1:3-2:3). Deuteronomy adds the element of God’s redemption. “The Lord your God brought you out from there with a mighty hand and an outstretched arm; therefore the Lord your God commanded you to keep the sabbath day” (Deut. 5:15). Bringing the two together, we see that the foundations for keeping the sabbath are both the way God made us and the way he redeems us.

Dinnertime Sabbath at Bandwidth.com

Bandwidth.com, a telecommunications company based in North Carolina, has a policy that everyone should leave work by 6 pm in order to spend dinner time with the people they love. If necessary, people may work from home after 8 pm or so, but workers are expected not to work or communicate with one another between 6 and 8. Co-founder Henry Kaestner says the biblical Sabbath is an inspiration for the policy, not because of its religious particularity, but because it gives everyone time for rest and relationship.

Kaestner doesn’t claim the policy would work everywhere, but says it has been embraced by workers at Bandwidth.com regardless of religious affiliation.

Henry Kaestner, panel discussion at Movement Day, New York City, October 10, 2013.

These additions highlight God’s concern for those who work under the authority of others. Not only must you rest, those who work for you—slaves, other Israelites, even animals—must be given rest. When you “remember that you were a slave in the land of Egypt,” it reminds you not to take your own rest as a special privilege, but to bring rest to others just as the Lord brought it to you. It does not matter what religion they follow or what they may choose to do with the time. They are workers, and God directs us to provide rest for those who work. We may be accustomed to thinking about keeping the Sabbath in order to rest ourselves, but how much thought do we give to resting those who work to serve us? Many people work at hours that interfere with their relationships, sleep rhythms, and social opportunities in order to make life more convenient for others.

The so-called “blue laws” that once protected people—or prevented people, depending on your point of view—from working at all hours have disappeared from most developed countries. Undoubtedly this has opened many new opportunities for workers and the people they serve. But is this always something we should participate in? When we shop late at night, golf on Sunday morning, or watch sporting events that continue past midnight, do we consider how it may affect those working at these times? Perhaps our actions help create a work opportunity that wouldn’t otherwise exist. On the other hand, perhaps we simply require someone to work at a miserable time who otherwise would have worked at a convenient hour.

The fast-food restaurant chain Chick-fil-A is well known for being closed on Sundays. It is often assumed this is because of founder Truett Cathy’s particular interpretation of the fourth commandment. But according to the company’s website, “His decision was as much practical as spiritual. He believes that all franchised Chick-fil-A Operators and Restaurant employees should have an opportunity to rest, spend time with family and friends, and worship if they choose to do so.” Of course, reading the fourth commandment as a way to care for the people who work for you is a particular interpretation, just not a sectarian or legalistic one. The issue is complex, and there is no one-size-fits-all answer. But we do have choices as consumers and (in some cases) as employers that affect the hours and conditions of other people’s rest and work.