在安息日工作(馬太福音12:1-8)

聖經註釋 / 工作神學項目出品

有計劃地要求休息

更多閱讀,請參考兩位哈佛商學院教授在波斯頓諮詢集團的最新研究。 這項報告顯示,那種認爲每個人都必須隨時在崗的假設已經被很多人挑戰。現在,個人不僅可以休息,而且休息實際上讓他們的工作更高效。(《哈佛商業評論》可能在網站上顯示廣告,或要求註冊才能閱讀這篇文章。)Mark Roberts在他關於領袖生命的靈修書籍"Won't Keeping the Sabbath Make Me Less Productive"中也討論了這個話題。

耶穌和祂的反對者之間主要的衝突領域之一,就是守安息日。在這段話中,耶穌被宗教領袖批評,因爲祂允許自己的追隨者在安息日掐麥穗吃。法利賽人認爲這是一項工作,在安息日是禁止的,但耶穌同時反駁了他們的詮釋和動機。祂認爲,採摘剛好足夠食用的糧食來充飢,不算是不守安息日,因爲大衛王和聖殿中的祭司也曾這樣做,卻沒有引起上帝的斥責(太12:3-5)。再者,真正遵守摩西律法的動機應該是同情和憐憫(太12:6)。上帝喜愛憐憫(允許飢餓的人摘穀物吃),而非獻祭(守安息日),彌迦書6:6-8已經揭示了這一點。每個星期一天的休息乃是上帝的應許,意思是我們不用爲了維持生計而不停地工作。這不是爲了審判人在安息日緩解飢餓或需要而制定的律法。

www.theologyofwork.org/cn網站上,馬可福音與工作一文中,"馬可福音1:21-45"以及 "馬可福音2:23-3:6"兩節,以及路加福音與工作一文中"路加福音6:1-113:10-17"一節,連同專文休息與工作,以及如何將猶太人安息日的律法應用在基督徒的生活中。

Working on the Sabbath (Matthew 12:1-8)

Bible Commentary / Produced by TOW Project

Making time off predictable and required

Read more here about a new study regarding rhythms of rest and work done at the Boston Consulting Group by two professors from Harvard Business School. It showed that when the assumption that everyone needs to be always available was collectively challenged, not only could individuals take time off, but their work actually benefited. (Harvard Business Review may show an ad and require registration in order to view the article.) Mark Roberts also discusses this topic in his Life for Leaders devotional "Won't Keeping the Sabbath Make Me Less Productive?"

One of the chief areas of conflict between Jesus and his opponents was in keeping the Sabbath. In this passage, Jesus is criticized by religious leaders for allowing his followers to pluck and eat grain on the Sabbath. The Pharisees regarded this as work, which was forbidden on the Sabbath. Jesus dismisses both their interpretation and their motivation. He argues that plucking just enough grain to satisfy immediate hunger does not break the Sabbath, because both King David and the temple priests did so without incurring God’s rebuke (Matt. 12:3-5). Moreover, true adherence to the Law of Moses should be motivated by compassion and mercy (Matt. 12:6). God’s love of mercy (allowing hungry people to pick grain to eat) is higher than God’s desire for sacrifice (following Sabbath regulations), as had already been revealed in Micah 6:6-8. The gift of a day of rest each week is a promise from God that we do not have to work incessantly just to make ends meet. It is not a judgment against relieving someone’s hunger or need on the Sabbath.

The connection between the Jewish Sabbath and the Christian worship on Sunday, and the application of Jewish Sabbath law to the Christian life are discussed in greater depth in the sections on "Mark 1:21-45" and "Mark 2:23-3:6" in Mark and Work, the sections on "Luke 6:1-11; 3:10-17" in Luke and Work,  and in the article Rest and Work at www.theologyofwork.org.