卷2(诗42–72)

圣经注释 / 工作神学项目出品

我们所有人都被不安全感所折磨,对经济损失的忧虑一向排在我们担忧之事的前列。在诗篇的第二部分,我们看到许多经文都与包围着人们的恐惧和他们寻求帮助的方法有关。借此,我们可以学习在一个不确定的世界中确立何为真实或虚假的希望。

 

神在灾难中的同在(诗46)

回到目录 回到目录

有时候,灾难威胁着我们的工作场所、工作本身,或者我们的幸福感。这些灾害包括自然的(飓风、龙卷风、洪水、台风、野火),经济的(大型金融机构的衰退、破产、崩溃)以及政治的(政策、优先事项,战争)。诗篇46强调灾难在世界范围内的影响,我们在当今全球经济中也能看到。在伦敦和北京做出的货币决定,会影响印第安那州或印度尼西亚农民的农作物收成价格。中东地区的政治动荡,可能会影响世界上任何一个小镇的汽油价格,反过来,通过一连串的事件,可能会决定一家当地的餐厅是否能正常运营。甚至在古代不那么“全球化”的经济环境下,人们也完全知道国与国之间发生的事情迟早会影响到他们的生活。地球的熔化意味着,有一天万国的一切权力都会被看做像蜡制的城堡一样短暂。世界的动乱意味着贸易、政府、金融和各种工作变得不可靠。

但无论灾难有多大,神还是比它更大。
上帝是我们的避难所和力量,
是我们在患难中随时的帮助。所以地虽改变,
山虽摇动到海心
其中的水虽匉訇翻腾,
山虽因海涨而战抖,我们也不害怕。(诗 46:1-3)。


在困难和危险的处境下,我们可以冷静地、自信地、甚至高兴地处理我们的工作,接触我们的同事。我们最终的信靠在于神,当我们的力量耗尽的时候,他会亲自给我们提供力量和幸福的避难所。不只是我们个人,而且我们的社区和全世界都要来到神的恩典之下。全球性的灾难不能胜过神的护理。回顾神在以前的环境中——在我们自己的和神的子民的环境中——是如何照顾我们的,可以使我们安心,知道神“在其(城)中“(诗46:5)与我们同在,他也在和地球上的各个地方(诗46:10)。有时候,我们的侍奉甚至可能成为神在灾难中帮助其他人的方法之一。

 

面对不道德的人成功时的焦虑(诗49, 50, 52, 62)

回到目录 回到目录

有时候,敬虔的人对于神的统治有误解,导致他们产生不必要的焦虑。他们认为义人显然应得好的生活,而恶人显然会落入灭亡之中。但事情并不总是遵循着这个剧本。当恶人昌盛时,基督徒觉得世界已经颠倒了,他们的信仰被证明是无用的。诗篇49:16-17如此回答:“见人发财家室增荣的时候,你不要惧怕。因为他死的时候,甚么也不能带去。他的荣耀不能随他下去。”敬畏不能确保商业上的成功,而不敬虔也不是注定失败。将生命致力于赚钱的人最终肯定会失败,因为他们将必会失去的东西当做了珍宝(路加福音12:16-21)。参考:www.theologyofwork.org/cn,《路加福音与工作》“为富人担心(路加福音6:25;12:13-21;18:18-30)” 

人并不只是在死后要面对神的审判。当一个成功的恶人最终走向灭亡,人们会注意到。他们了解这个人的生活与最终淹没他/她的灾难之间的联系。诗篇52:7描述了这样一种情况:“看哪,这就是那不以神为他力量的人,只倚仗他丰富的财物,在邪恶上坚立自己!”因此,诗篇62:10 告诉我们,不要行邪路或依靠财富来寻求安全:“不要仗势欺人,也不要因抢夺而骄傲。若财宝加增,不要放在心上。”在艰难的时候,我们容易看到那些因腐败行为或裙带主义而蓬勃发展的人,相信如果我们要摆脱贫困的话也必须这样做。但事实上,那样做只是确保了我们会分享他们在人前的羞耻和在神前的定罪。

另一方面,如果我们决定让神成为我们的依靠,我们必须彻底地去行,而不是肤浅地去做。诗篇50:16宣称:“但神对恶人说:你怎敢传说我的律例,口中提到我的约呢?”通过欺骗来获得财富是一件坏事。欺骗的同时假装对神忠诚,是一件很可怕的事。

我们最好询问一下其他人是如何看待我们的工作和行事的。我们是否用所谓“神的祝福”、“神的旨意”或“神的赞成”来为自己采取道德捷径、歧视,或恶劣对待他人的行为辩护?也许我们应该更加谨慎,不要将我们明显的成功归功于神的旨意,而是预备承认:“我不配得到这些”。

Book 2 (Psalms 42–72)

Bible Commentary / Produced by TOW Project

All of us suffer from feelings of insecurity, and financial ruin is high on our list of worries. In the second book of the Psalter we see a number of texts that relate to the fears that beset people and the paths to which they turn for help. We thus learn about the true and the false grounds for hope in a world of uncertainty.

God’s presence in the midst of disaster (Psalm 46)

Back to Table of Contents

At times, disaster threatens our places of work, the work itself, or our sense of well-being. These disasters include the natural (hurricanes, tornadoes, floods, typhoons, wildfires), the economic (recessions, bankruptcy, collapse of major financial institutions), and the political (sudden change in policy, priorities, war). Psalm 46 highlights the world-spanning breadth disaster can take, and we see this today in the global economy. Currency decisions made in London and Beijing impact the price farmers from Indiana or Indonesia get for their crops. Political turmoil in the Middle East may affect the price of gasoline in a small town anywhere in the world, and this in turn, through a chain of events, may determine whether a local restaurant stays in business. Even if the ancient economies were not so “global,” people knew full well that what happened among the nations could sooner or later change their lives. The melting of the earth implies that someday all the powers of the nations will be seen to have been as ephemeral as castles made of wax. Turmoil in the world means uncertainty for trade, government, finance and every kind of work.

No matter how great the disaster, God is greater still.

God is our refuge and strength,
a very present help in trouble.
Therefore we will not fear, though the earth should change,
though the mountains shake in the heart of the sea;
though its waters roar and foam,
though the mountains tremble with its tumult. (Ps. 46:1-3)

God’s help during the collapse of Arthur Andersen

Arthur Andersen, the auditing firm handling Enron, began to unravel as a result of the Enron scandal. Robert Wright was a senior partner who decided that his primary goal would be to get jobs elsewhere for the people in his division when Andersen collapsed.  He began looking to sell the division to a firm that would agree to retain the employees, and he discovered he needed to rely on God. Click here to continue reading.

In the middle of difficult, threatening circumstances, we can approach our work and our co-workers calmly, confidently, even gladly. Our ultimate trust is in God, whose own self provides a refuge of strength and well-being when our strength runs out. Not just us individually, but our communities and the whole world come under God’s grace. Global disaster is no match for God’s providence.  Reviewing the way God has taken care of us in previous circumstances—our own and the people of God’s—assures us that God is with us “in the midst of the city” (Ps. 46:5) and everywhere on earth (Ps. 46:10). At times, we may even have the privilege of serving as one of God’s means for helping other people in the midst of disaster.

 

Anxiety when unscrupulous people succeed (Psalms 49, 50, 52, 62)

Back to Table of Contents

Sometimes the godly have a skewed perspective on how God governs, and this causes them needless anxiety. They think that the righteous should obviously do well in life while the wicked just as obviously fall into ruin. But things don’t always follow this script. When the wicked thrive, Christians feel that the world has turned upside down and that their faith has proven vain. Psalm 49:16–17 answers this: “Do not be afraid when some become rich, when the wealth of their houses increases. For when they die they will carry nothing away; their wealth will not go down after them.” Godliness does not ensure commercial success, and impiety does not ensure failure. Those who devote their lives to making money must finally fail, for they have made a treasure of something they must lose (Luke 12:16–21). See "Concern for the Wealthy (Luke 6:25; 12:13-21; 18:18-30)" in Luke and Work at www.theologyofwork.org.

It is not merely a matter of the wicked having to face God’s judgment after death. When someone who is evil but successful finally falls into ruin, people notice. They understand the connection between how that person lived and the calamity that ultimately swamped him or her. Psalm 52:7 describes such a situation: “See the one who would not take refuge in God, but trusted in abundant riches, and sought refuge in wealth!” For this reason, Psalm 62:10 tells us not to seek security by following the path of the wicked or in the acquisition of wealth: “Put no confidence in extortion, and set no vain hopes on robbery; if riches increase, do not set your heart on them.” In hard times we are apt to look to those who have prospered by corrupt practices or by cronyism and believe that we must do the same if we are to escape poverty. But we in fact only guarantee that we will share in their disgrace before people and their condemnation before God.

On the other hand, if we do decide to make God our trust, we must do so fully and not superficially. Psalm 50:16 declares, “But to the wicked God says: ‘What right have you to recite my statutes, or take my covenant on your lips?’” It is a bad thing for someone to use fraud in order to gain wealth. It is a terrible thing to do this while feigning allegiance to God.

We would do well to ask what others see when they observe our work and the way we do it. Do we justify taking ethical shortcuts, or discrimination, or treating people badly by babbling about “blessing” or “God’s will” or “favor?” Perhaps we should be more reluctant to ascribe our apparent successes to God’s will and be more ready to say simply, “I don’t deserve it.”