与神同在的创造力(诗104)

圣经注释 / 工作神学项目出品

从一开始,神就想让人类的工作成为一种创造形式,而且这种创造服在神自己的创造之下,或者与它相伴(创 1:26-31;2:5,15-18)。人类工作的意义是成就神的创造意图,使每个人与其他人、也与神建立关系,并荣耀神。诗篇104给了这个创造性伙伴关系的一个令人愉快的描述。它在开头展示了一幅神创造荣耀的宽广画卷(诗篇104:1-9)。这自然引向了神在世界上养活各样动物、鸟类和海洋的积极工作 (诗104:10-12,14,16-18,20-22,25)。神也丰富地供养着人类(诗 104:13-15, 23)。神的工作使自然和人类多结果实成为可能。“他从楼阁中浇灌山岭。因他作为的功效,地就丰足。”(诗篇104:13)

人类的工作是运用神所给予的资源继续建造。我们必须收集和使用植物。“他使草生长,给六畜吃。使菜蔬发长,供给人用。”(诗 104:14,原文用NRSV脚注f的译文)。又得酒能悦人心,得油能润人面,得粮能养人心。(诗 104:15)神如此丰富地供养,部分是通过一周工作6天的人类来实现的。因此,虽然这首诗指出万物都仰赖神提供食物,而神要打开他的手来供应它们(诗篇104:27-28),但人们仍然要努力运用神的恩赐。诗篇104甚至进一步提到了完成神所造世界之工作的工具——帐篷、衣服、横梁、火和船(分别在诗篇104:1,2,3,4,26出现)。有趣的是,这首诗高兴地将这些工具的使用归到神自己以及人的身上。我们神同工;神的丰富供应部分是通过人的努力赐下。

即使如此,请记住,在创造中,我们仅是神的初级合作伙伴。根据创世记,人类是诗篇104中提到的最后一个创造物。但是与创世纪不同,在这儿我们是悄无声息地到场的。我们只是神的又一个创造物,与牛、鸟、野山羊、驯鹿和狮子一起忙着自己的事(诗篇104:4-23)。每个生物都有着适合自己的活动——对于人类来说,那就是从早到晚的工作——但在每一种活动的背后,是神在提供一切所需的(诗篇104:21)。在他里面,只要我们能以圣灵的力量谦卑地工作,培养他以恩典赐给我们的美丽世界,我们的工作也可以做得非常好。

Human creativity with God (Psalm 104)

Bible Commentary / Produced by TOW Project

From the beginning, God intended human work as a form of creativity under or alongside God’s own creativity (Genesis 1:26-31; 2:5, 15-18). Human work is meant to fulfill God’s creative intent, bring each person into relationship with other people and with God, and glorify God. Psalm 104 gives a delightful depiction of this creative partnership. It begins with a broad canvas of the glory of God’s creation (Psalms 104:1-9). This leads naturally to God’s active work in sustaining the world of animals, birds and sea creatures (Ps.104:10-12, 14, 16-18, 20-22, 25). God provides richly for human beings as well (Ps. 104:13-15, 23). God’s work makes possible the fruitfulness of nature and humanity. “From your lofty abode you water the mountains; the earth is satisfied with the fruit of your work” (Ps. 104:13).

The work of humans is to build further, using what God gives. We have to gather and use the plants. “You cause the grass to grow for the cattle and plants for people to cultivate” (Ps. 104: 14, alternate reading from NRSV footnote f). We make the wine and bread and extract the oil from the plants God causes to grow (Ps. 104:15). God provides so richly, in part, by populating his creation with people who labor six days a week. Thus, while this psalm speaks of all creatures looking to God for food, and God opening his hand to supply it (Ps. 104:27-28), people still have to work hard to process and use God’s good gifts. Psalm 104 goes so far as to name some of the tools used for the work of God’s world—tents, garments, beams, fire, ships (Ps. 104:1, 2, 3, 4, 26, respectively). Intriguingly, the Psalm happily ascribes use of such tools to God himself, as well as to human beings. We work with God, and God’s ample provision comes in part through human effort.

This church janitor crafts high-end bow ties for stars like Beyoncé

Reflecting on his work as a church janitor and bow-tie craftsman, Christopher Chaun Bennett says, "In the end it's really about my doing God's work, serving." Read Boston Globe reporter David Filipov's article and watch the accompanying video interview with Bennett here.

Even so, remember that we are the junior partners in creation with God. In keeping with Genesis, human beings are the last creatures mentioned in Psalm 104. But in distinction from Genesis, we come on the scene here with little fanfare. We are just one more of God’s creatures, going about their business alongside the cattle, birds, wild goats, coneys, and lions (Ps. 104:14-23). Each has its proper activity—for humans it is work and labor until the evening—but underneath every activity, it is God who provides all that is needed (Ps. 104:21). Psalm 104 reminds us that God has done his work supremely well. In him our work may be done supremely well also, if only we work humbly in the strength his Spirit supplies, cultivating the beautiful world in which he has placed us by his grace.