卷4(诗90–106)

圣经注释 / 工作神学项目出品

卷4把世界的破碎——包括人必死的命运——放在神主权的背景下加以解释。我们没有一个人能够使自己的生活——更不用说全世界——变成它应有的样子。我们受苦,我们不能保护所爱的人免受苦难。然而,神仍然掌权;我们修正这个罪恶世界的指望全在于祂。

 

在堕落的世界中工作(诗90, 101)

回到目录 回到目录

卷4开始于忧郁的诗篇90。“你使人归于尘土……我们度尽的年岁,好像一声叹息。”(诗 90:3, 9)这首诗篇将我们的注意力集中在生活的困难和短暂上。“我们一生的年日是七十岁。若是强壮可到八十岁。但其中所矜夸的,不过是劳苦愁烦,转眼成空,我们便如飞而去。”(诗 90:10)生命的短暂,使我们生活和工作的各个方面都蒙上阴影。我们只有这么多年日来赚取足够的钱财供养我们的家庭、为困难时期或晚年积存养生的资源、为公共利益做些贡献、做好神安排我们在世上的工作。年轻时,我们可能太缺乏经验,以至于没有得到我们想要的工作。当年纪大的时候,我们面临着技能和能力的下降,有时候还要面临年龄歧视。在这两者之间,我们担心是否有足够的时间完成所有的目标。工作本应是与神创造性地同工(创世记2:19),但时间的压力使得工作感觉像“劳苦愁烦”。

那么我们该怎么办呢?无论工作看来多么辛苦,邀请神来到我们的工作中。“愿你的作为向你仆人显现……愿你坚立我们手所作的工。我们手所作的工,愿你坚立。”这并不意味着只是将我们主的提醒放在我们的工作场合,而是意味着让神进入“我们手中的工作”。这包括我们意识神在我们工作中的同在、承认神赋予我们工作的目的,忠实按照神的原则工作、服务我们周围的人——他们乃是以神的形象造成的(创1:27;9:6;雅3:9)。

诗篇101:2说明了我们是如何装备做神的工作的。“我要用智慧行完全的道。你几时到我这里来呢?我要存完全的心,行在我家中。”在神和人们面前培养良好的品格,是我们的第一要务。如果我们有孩子,我们的工作之一就是帮助他们学习神的道,培养敬虔的品格。当我们妥善照顾好家庭、让孩子有机会茁壮成长、预备好面对生活中艰难的机会时,我们就在做神的工作。对于虚无主义者和愤世嫉俗者来说,生活的残酷成为他们不道德和自私的借口。对于信徒来说,这是更应该培养品格的原因。

与神同在的创造力(诗104)

回到目录 回到目录

从一开始,神就想让人类的工作成为一种创造形式,而且这种创造服在神自己的创造之下,或者与它相伴(创 1:26-31;2:5,15-18)。人类工作的意义是成就神的创造意图,使每个人与其他人、也与神建立关系,并荣耀神。诗篇104给了这个创造性伙伴关系的一个令人愉快的描述。它在开头展示了一幅神创造荣耀的宽广画卷(诗篇104:1-9)。这自然引向了神在世界上养活各样动物、鸟类和海洋的积极工作 (诗104:10-12,14,16-18,20-22,25)。神也丰富地供养着人类(诗 104:13-15, 23)。神的工作使自然和人类多结果实成为可能。“他从楼阁中浇灌山岭。因他作为的功效,地就丰足。”(诗篇104:13)

人类的工作是运用神所给予的资源继续建造。我们必须收集和使用植物。“他使草生长,给六畜吃。使菜蔬发长,供给人用。”(诗 104:14,原文用NRSV脚注f的译文)。又得酒能悦人心,得油能润人面,得粮能养人心。(诗 104:15)神如此丰富地供养,部分是通过一周工作6天的人类来实现的。因此,虽然这首诗指出万物都仰赖神提供食物,而神要打开他的手来供应它们(诗篇104:27-28),但人们仍然要努力运用神的恩赐。诗篇104甚至进一步提到了完成神所造世界之工作的工具——帐篷、衣服、横梁、火和船(分别在诗篇104:1,2,3,4,26出现)。有趣的是,这首诗高兴地将这些工具的使用归到神自己以及人的身上。我们神同工;神的丰富供应部分是通过人的努力赐下。

即使如此,请记住,在创造中,我们仅是神的初级合作伙伴。根据创世记,人类是诗篇104中提到的最后一个创造物。但是与创世纪不同,在这儿我们是悄无声息地到场的。我们只是神的又一个创造物,与牛、鸟、野山羊、驯鹿和狮子一起忙着自己的事(诗篇104:4-23)。每个生物都有着适合自己的活动——对于人类来说,那就是从早到晚的工作——但在每一种活动的背后,是神在提供一切所需的(诗篇104:21)。在他里面,只要我们能以圣灵的力量谦卑地工作,培养他以恩典赐给我们的美丽世界,我们的工作也可以做得非常好。

Book 4 (Psalms 90–106)

Bible Commentary / Produced by TOW Project

Book 4 of Psalms places the brokenness of the world—including human mortality—in the context of God’s sovereignty. None of us is able to make our own life—let alone the whole world—as it should be. We suffer, and we cannot shield those we love from suffering. Yet God remains in charge, and our hope for all things to be put right rests in him.

Working in a fallen world (Psalms 90, 101)

Back to Table of Contents

Book 4 begins with the somber Psalm 90. “You turn us back to dust…our years come to an end like a sigh” (Ps. 90:3, 9). This psalm focuses our attention on the difficulty and the brevity of life. “The days of our life are seventy years, or perhaps eighty, if we are strong; even then their span is only toil and trouble; they are soon gone, and we fly away” (Ps. 90:10). The brevity of life shades every aspect of our life and work. We have only so many years in which to earn enough to support our families, save something for times of hardship or old age, contribute to the common good, do our share in God’s work in the world. When young, we may be too inexperienced to get the kind of work we want. When old, we face declining skills and abilities and sometimes age discrimination. In between, we worry whether we are on a fast enough track to achieve our objectives. Work was meant to be a creative co-laboring with God (Genesis 2:19). But the pressure of time makes work feel like “toil and trouble.”

What then are we to do? Invite God to inhabit our work, no matter how toilsome it may seem. “Let your [God’s] work be manifest to your servants….Prosper for us the work of our hands—O prosper the work of our hands!” This does not mean merely placing reminders of our Lord in our places of work. It means getting God into the “work of our hands.” This includes our awareness of God’s presence at work, our recognition of God’s purpose for our work, our commitment to work according to God’s principles, and our service to those around us, who after all are made in God’s image (Genesis 1:27; 9:6; James 3:9).

Psalm 101:2 illustrates how we become equipped for doing God’s work. “I will study the way that is blameless. When shall I attain it? I will walk with integrity of heart within my house.” Cultivating good character before God and people is our first task. If we have children, one of our jobs is to help them learn the knowledge of God’s ways and grow in godly character. We are doing God’s work when we manage our homes well and give our children the chance to grow up strong and be prepared for the hardships of life. For the nihilist and the cynic, the cruelty of life justifies immorality and selfishness. For the believer, it is all the more reason to cultivate character.

Human creativity with God (Psalm 104)

Back to Table of Contents

From the beginning, God intended human work as a form of creativity under or alongside God’s own creativity (Genesis 1:26-31; 2:5, 15-18). Human work is meant to fulfill God’s creative intent, bring each person into relationship with other people and with God, and glorify God. Psalm 104 gives a delightful depiction of this creative partnership. It begins with a broad canvas of the glory of God’s creation (Psalms 104:1-9). This leads naturally to God’s active work in sustaining the world of animals, birds and sea creatures (Ps.104:10-12, 14, 16-18, 20-22, 25). God provides richly for human beings as well (Ps. 104:13-15, 23). God’s work makes possible the fruitfulness of nature and humanity. “From your lofty abode you water the mountains; the earth is satisfied with the fruit of your work” (Ps. 104:13).

The work of humans is to build further, using what God gives. We have to gather and use the plants. “You cause the grass to grow for the cattle and plants for people to cultivate” (Ps. 104: 14, alternate reading from NRSV footnote f). We make the wine and bread and extract the oil from the plants God causes to grow (Ps. 104:15). God provides so richly, in part, by populating his creation with people who labor six days a week. Thus, while this psalm speaks of all creatures looking to God for food, and God opening his hand to supply it (Ps. 104:27-28), people still have to work hard to process and use God’s good gifts. Psalm 104 goes so far as to name some of the tools used for the work of God’s world—tents, garments, beams, fire, ships (Ps. 104:1, 2, 3, 4, 26, respectively). Intriguingly, the Psalm happily ascribes use of such tools to God himself, as well as to human beings. We work with God, and God’s ample provision comes in part through human effort.

This church janitor crafts high-end bow ties for stars like Beyoncé

Reflecting on his work as a church janitor and bow-tie craftsman, Christopher Chaun Bennett says, "In the end it's really about my doing God's work, serving." Read Boston Globe reporter David Filipov's article and watch the accompanying video interview with Bennett here.

Even so, remember that we are the junior partners in creation with God. In keeping with Genesis, human beings are the last creatures mentioned in Psalm 104. But in distinction from Genesis, we come on the scene here with little fanfare. We are just one more of God’s creatures, going about their business alongside the cattle, birds, wild goats, coneys, and lions (Ps. 104:14-23). Each has its proper activity—for humans it is work and labor until the evening—but underneath every activity, it is God who provides all that is needed (Ps. 104:21). Psalm 104 reminds us that God has done his work supremely well. In him our work may be done supremely well also, if only we work humbly in the strength his Spirit supplies, cultivating the beautiful world in which he has placed us by his grace.