卷3(诗73-89)

圣经注释 / 工作神学项目出品

卷三包含了大量的哀歌和抱怨。神圣的审判——无论是积极的还是消极的——在很多诗篇中大量涌现。默想这些诗歌,仿佛一面镜子让我们查看自己是否忠心,并审视我们对那位寻求与万物和好的神之实际感受。

 

个人失败的工作后果(诗73)

回到目录 回到目录

借着诗人的作品,诗篇73描绘了诱惑和诚实的四重旅程。​[1]在第一阶段,他承认神良好的审判是力量的来源。“神实在恩待以色列那些清心的人。”(诗73:1)然而,很快(第二阶段),他被诱惑,想要抛弃神的道。“至于我,”他说,“我的脚几乎失闪。我的脚险些滑跌。我见恶人和狂傲人享平安,就心怀不平。”(诗73:2)他发现自己专注于恶者明显的成功,在接下来的十节经文中以让人着迷的细节描述了自己的心情。他特别指出那些“凭恶意说(话)”的和说“欺压人的话”的人。(诗73:8)在羡慕中,他开始认为自己的正直是毫无意义的,“我实在徒然洁净了我的心,徒然洗手表明无辜”(诗73:13)。他说自己几乎要加入恶人之列(诗73:14-15)。

不过,在最后一刻他进入了“神的圣所”,这意味着他开始从神的角度来“思想”事物(诗73:17)。他看到神会使恶人“掉在沉沦之中”(诗73:18)。这是第三阶段的开始,他看到那些缺乏正直的人的成功只是暂时的。最终他们都在转眼之间被惊恐灭尽了,如梦初醒一样(诗73:19-20)。他意识到,当他想要加入恶人的队伍时,他变得“愚蠢无知”(诗73:22)。在第四阶段,他重新使自己忠于神的道路。“然而我常与你同在。你搀着我的右手。”(诗 73:23, 24)

我们是否也在一定程度上遵循着这四个阶段的旅程?我们可能开始时心怀正直和对神的信靠。然后,我们看到其他人似乎通过欺骗和欺压侥幸成功。有时,我们对于神要多久之后才施行审判显得很不耐烦。在神迟延时,恶人似乎“常享安逸”,“财宝加赠”,而正直的人似乎因生活的不公平“终日遭灾难,每早晨受惩治”(诗73:12、14)。但神何时审判是神的事,而不是我们的决定。其实,因为我们自己并不完美,我们不要急于让神来审判恶人。

在过分关注别人不配有的成功时,我们也陷入为自己寻求不公平优势的诱惑中。在工作中我们特别容易屈服于这种冲动,因为工作似乎有一套不同的规则。我们看到狂傲的人(诗73:3)得到认可,欺负他人,得到不应当的奖励(诗73:6)。我们看到人们行恶欺诈,但繁荣昌盛了好多年。在工作上管理我们的人看起来很愚蠢(诗73:7),但他们却被提拔。也许我们也应该这样做。也许神真的不知道或不关心我们的行为(诗73:11),至少在工作是这样。

像诗篇作者一样,我们的补救办法是记住,与神一起工作——就是按照他的方式工作——本身就是一件乐事。“但我亲近神是与我有益”(诗73:28)。当我们这样做时,我们再次完全接纳神的建议,回到他的道路上。例如,我们通过抢夺他人工作的功劳、用我们的错误来责怪他人、或者利用他人来为我们做事,可能会使我们——至少一开始看来如此——更快地爬上成功的阶梯。但是,升职和额外的收入是否能抵消空虚的感觉和被当作骗子揭穿的担忧?成功能弥补失去的友谊、补偿失去信任我们周围之人的能力吗?如果我们照顾好周围的人、分享成功的荣誉并承担起失败的责任,可能看起来我们会有一个比较慢的开始。但我们的工作不会更愉快吗?当我们需要支持的时候,当我们需要信任的同事,需要他们在我们中间时,我们的处境难道不会比狂傲侮辱人的人更好吗?神实在是善待正直人。

John E. Hunter, Finding the Living Christ in the Psalms (Zondervan, 1972) develops this idea in the article “The Man Who Looked Four Ways,” although we have not followed his stages exactly.

国家性的不法行为的经济后果(诗81, 85)

回到目录 回到目录

尽管在诗篇73篇中我们注意到针对个人的审判,但卷3的大部分内容是以色列全民受到神的审判。在一国的人民如何工作的背景下,全民所受的审判可以说与本文的主旨有关。这也表明基督徒作为神国的代理人,可以参与的一项重要的工作就是制定国家政策。但我们可以看到,当一个国家的政府变得邪恶时,国家的经济就会受到损害。诗篇81就是一个例子,因为它以神对以色列国的审判作为开端。“无奈我的民不听我的声音。以色列全不理我。我便任凭他们心里刚硬,随自己的计谋而行。”(诗81:11-12)然后它继续描述由此造成的经济后果。“甚愿我的民肯听从我……他也必拿上好的麦子给他们吃,又拿从磐石出的蜂蜜,叫他们饱足。”(诗 81:13, 16)在这里,我们看到国家违反神的盟约会带来怎样的匮乏和经济困难。要是人们忠于神的道路,他们就会经历繁荣。相反,他们却放弃了神的道路,陷入饥饿之中(诗81:10)。

同样,诗篇85描述了以色列忠于神的命令时所产生的经济福利。人民体验着和平与安全、富有成效的工作,以及逐渐的繁荣(诗85:10-13)。没有好的政府,我们无法期待长期的繁荣。在许多地方,基督徒大声反对政府的政策,但我们也需要有建设性的参与。在你的城镇、地区或国家,对于建立和维护一个好的政府,你能做些什么?

 

神在审判中的恩典(诗86)

回到目录 回到目录

虽然神的审判在“诗篇”第3卷中处于显要地位,但我们也能从中找到神的恩典。“主阿,求你怜悯我,”诗篇86篇说,“主啊,你本为良善,乐意饶恕人,有丰盛的慈爱赐给凡求告你的人。”(诗 86:3, 5)这篇诗篇来自于一个因为强大敌人的欺压而倍感挫败的人。“因我是困苦穷乏的。”(诗 86:1)“骄傲的人起来攻击我,又有一党强横的人寻索我的命。他们没有将你放在眼中。”(诗 86:14)“恨我的人”是一个不断的威胁。(诗86:17)“救你婢女的儿子。” (诗 86:16下)

这首诗没有要求公义,而是乐于宣告神是“不轻易发怒”的(诗86:15)。它只求神的恩典。“求你向我转脸,怜恤我。”(诗 86:16上)“我在患难之日要求告你,因为你必应允我。”(诗 86:7)

我们每个人在工作时都会面临反对。有时,这种敌意非常危险、直接针对个人。我们可能被别人压迫,或者我们可能有过失,或者是两者的混合。我们在工作中可能感到没有价值,在关系中感觉不到爱,觉得没有能力改变环境或我们自己。无论我们反对的来源是什么——即使我们看到的敌人就是我们自己——我们还是可以要求神的恩典来拯救我们。神的恩典打破了环绕在我们的生活和工作周围的模糊性,并向我们显明了我们不配得的恩惠(诗86:17)。

当然,神施行拯救——不管是拯救我们还是我们的敌人——不是为了施加进一步的伤害。恩典带来更新。“耶和华啊,求你将你的道指教我。”(诗86:11上)诗人的请愿是为了他或她,但是接受神的恩典就意味着把自己全然交托。“求你使我专心敬畏你的名。主我的神啊,我要一心称赞你。我要荣耀你的名,直到永远。”(诗86:11-12)

与神心意相通,我们也变得仁慈,甚至可以仁慈对待反对的人。诗篇要求敌人为他们的仇恨感到“羞愧”(诗86:17),但是在这样做的时候,他们会“要来敬拜”神(诗86:9),并进入神的恩典。恩典意味着怜悯不仅给了我们,而且还给了我们的敌人——为了在敌人面前彰显神的能力,使他的名得荣耀(诗86:9)。

Book 3 (Psalms 73–89)

Bible Commentary / Produced by TOW Project

Book 3 of Psalms contains a great deal of lamentation and complaint. Divine judgment—both positive and negative—comes to the fore in many of the psalms here. Contemplating these psalms gives us a mirror in which to explore our own faithfulness—or lack of it—as well as to express our actual feelings to the God who is able to reconcile everything to himself.

The workplace consequences of personal failings (Psalm 73)

Back to Table of Contents

Psalm 73 depicts a four-fold journey of temptation and faithfulness, playing it out in the psalmist's work.[1] In the first stage he acknowledges that God’s favorable judgment is a source of strength. “Truly God is good to the upright, to those who are pure in heart” (Psalms 73:1). Yet quickly (stage two) he becomes tempted to forsake God’s ways. “But as for me,” he says, “my feet had almost stumbled and my feet had nearly slipped, for I was envious of the arrogant” (Ps. 73:2). He finds himself preoccupied with the apparent success of the wicked, which he describes in obsessive detail over the next ten verses. He notes in particular those who “speak with malice” and “threaten oppression” (Ps. 73:8). In his envy, he begins to think his own integrity had been pointless, “All in vain I have kept my heart clean” (Ps. 73:13) he says, noting that he has come to the edge of joining the wicked himself (Ps. 73:14-15).

At the last minute, however he goes “into the sanctuary of God,” meaning he begins to “perceive” things from God’s point of view (Ps. 73: 17). He sees that God will make the wicked “fall to ruin” (Ps. 73:18). This begins the third stage, in which he sees that the success of people who lack integrity is only temporary. All of them eventually “are destroyed in a moment,” and become “like a dream when one awakes” (Ps. 73:19-20). He realizes that when he was thinking of joining the wicked he had been “stupid and ignorant” (Ps. 73:22). In the fourth stage, he re-commits himself to God’s ways. “I am continually with you,” he says, and “you guide me with your counsel” (Ps. 73:23, 24).

Do we also follow this four-stage journey to some degree? We also may begin with integrity and faithfulness to God. Then we see that others seem to be getting away with deception and oppression. Sometimes we become impatient with how long God is taking to execute his judgment. While God tarries, the wicked seem to be “always at ease,” and “they increase in riches,” while the upright seem to be “plagued and punished” by the unfairness of life (Ps. 73:12, 14). But the timing of God’s judgment is God’s business, not ours. In fact, because we are not perfect ourselves, let us not be eager for God to judge the wicked. 

Paying too much attention to the undeserved success of others, we become tempted to seek unfair advantages for ourselves too. It is especially tempting to succumb to this impulse at work, where it may seem like there is a different set of rules. We see arrogant people (Ps. 73:3) gain recognition and bully others into giving them an undue share of the rewards (Ps. 73:6). We see people commit fraud, yet prosper for years. Those with power over us at work seem foolish (Ps. 73:7), yet they get promoted. Maybe we should do the same ourselves. Perhaps God doesn’t really know or care how we act (Ps 73:11), at least not at work.

Like the Psalmist, our remedy is to remember that working alongside God—that is in accordance to his ways—is a delight in itself. “For me it is good to be near God” (Ps. 73:28). When we do this, we open ourselves again to God’s counsel, and return to his ways. For example, it may be that we can climb the ladder of success faster—at least at first—by taking credit for others’ work, blaming others for our mistakes, or getting others to do our work for us. But will the promotion and the extra income be worth the feeling of hollowness and the fear of being exposed as a fraud? Will success make up for the loss of friendships and the inability to trust anyone around us? If we take care of the people around us, share credit for success, and take our share of blame for failures, it may seem like we get off to a slower start. But won’t our work be more enjoyable? And when we need support, when we need trust in co-workers, and them in us, won’t we be in a better position than the arrogant and abusive? Truly, God is good to the upright.

John E. Hunter, Finding the Living Christ in the Psalms (Zondervan, 1972) develops this idea in the article “The Man Who Looked Four Ways,” although we have not followed his stages exactly.

The economic consequences of national wrongdoings (Psalm 81, 85)

Back to Table of Contents

Despite the attention to personal judgment we have seen in Psalm 73, in most of Book 3, it is the nation of Israel that comes under judgment. The topic of national judgment, per se, is relevant to this article to the extent that it establishes the context for people carrying out their work in that nation. It also suggests an important type of work the Christians can engage in while representing the Kingdom of God, namely national policy making. But we can note that when a national government becomes evil, the country’s economy suffers. Psalm 81 is an example, for it begins with God’s judgment against the nation of Israel. “My people did not listen to my voice; Israel would not submit to me. So I gave them over to their stubborn hearts” (Ps. 81:11-12). Then it goes on to describe the economic consequences. “O that my people would listen to me….I would feed you with the finest of the wheat, and with honey from the rock I would satisfy you” (Ps. 81:13, 16). Here, we see how national violations of God’s covenant bring about scarcity and economic hardship. Had the people been faithful to God’s ways, they would have experienced prosperity. Instead they have abandoned God’s ways and find themselves going hungry (Ps. 81:10).

Likewise, Psalm 85 describes the economic benefits that accrue when Israel is faithful to God’s commands. The people experience peace and security, productive work, and increased prosperity (Ps. 85:10-13). Without good government, none of us can hope to prosper for long. In many places Christians are highly visible in opposing government policies we disagree with, but constructive engagement is needed too. What can you do to help establish or preserve good government in your town, region or nation?

God’s grace in the midst of judgment (Psalm 86)

Back to Table of Contents

Although God’s judgment takes the fore in Book 3 of the Psalms, we also find God’s grace. “Be gracious to me, O Lord,” Psalm 86 implores, “for you, O Lord are good and forgiving, abounding in steadfast love to all who call on you” (Ps. 86:2, 5). The psalm comes from someone feeling worn down by opposition from those more powerful. “I am poor and needy” (Ps. 86:1). “The insolent rise up against me; a band of ruffians seeks my life” (Ps. 86:14). “Those who hate me” are a constant threat (Ps. 86:17).  “Save the child of your serving girl” (Ps. 86:16b).

The psalm does not claim righteousness, but rejoices that God is “slow to anger” (Ps. 86:15). It asks only for God’s grace. “Turn to me and be gracious to me” (Ps. 86:16a). “In the day of my trouble I call on you, for you will answer me” (Ps. 86:7).

At times all of us face opposition at work. Sometimes it is very directly personal and dangerous. We may be oppressed by others, or we may be at fault, or a mixture of both. We may feel unworthy in our work, unloved in our relationships, incapable of changing either our circumstances or ourselves. No matter the source of opposition to us—even if we have seen the enemy and it is us—we can ask for God’s grace to save us. God’s grace cuts through the ambiguity that surrounds our life and work and shows us a sign of God’s favor (Ps 86:17) beyond what we deserve.

Of course, God does not save anyone—neither ourselves or our enemies—for the purpose of inflicting further harm. With grace comes reform. “Teach me your way, O Lord, that I may walk in your truth” (Ps. 86:11a). The psalmist’s petition is for him- or herself, but accepting God’s grace means turning ourselves to him ahead of ourselves. “Give me an undivided heart to revere your name. I give thanks to you O Lord my God, with my whole heart” (Ps. 86:11-12).

With God’s heart, we also become merciful, even to those who oppose us. The psalm asks that opponents “be put to shame” (Ps. 86:17) for their hatred, but that in doing so they will “come and bow down before you, O Lord” (Ps. 86:9) and so also come into God’s grace. Grace means mercy not only for us, but also for our opponents, to show God’s power to his enemies so that his name is glorified (Ps. 86:9).