神在审判中的恩典(诗86)

圣经注释 / 工作神学项目出品

虽然神的审判在“诗篇”第3卷中处于显要地位,但我们也能从中找到神的恩典。“主阿,求你怜悯我,”诗篇86篇说,“主啊,你本为良善,乐意饶恕人,有丰盛的慈爱赐给凡求告你的人。”(诗 86:3, 5)这篇诗篇来自于一个因为强大敌人的欺压而倍感挫败的人。“因我是困苦穷乏的。”(诗 86:1)“骄傲的人起来攻击我,又有一党强横的人寻索我的命。他们没有将你放在眼中。”(诗 86:14)“恨我的人”是一个不断的威胁。(诗86:17)“救你婢女的儿子。” (诗 86:16下)

这首诗没有要求公义,而是乐于宣告神是“不轻易发怒”的(诗86:15)。它只求神的恩典。“求你向我转脸,怜恤我。”(诗 86:16上)“我在患难之日要求告你,因为你必应允我。”(诗 86:7)

我们每个人在工作时都会面临反对。有时,这种敌意非常危险、直接针对个人。我们可能被别人压迫,或者我们可能有过失,或者是两者的混合。我们在工作中可能感到没有价值,在关系中感觉不到爱,觉得没有能力改变环境或我们自己。无论我们反对的来源是什么——即使我们看到的敌人就是我们自己——我们还是可以要求神的恩典来拯救我们。神的恩典打破了环绕在我们的生活和工作周围的模糊性,并向我们显明了我们不配得的恩惠(诗86:17)。

当然,神施行拯救——不管是拯救我们还是我们的敌人——不是为了施加进一步的伤害。恩典带来更新。“耶和华啊,求你将你的道指教我。”(诗86:11上)诗人的请愿是为了他或她,但是接受神的恩典就意味着把自己全然交托。“求你使我专心敬畏你的名。主我的神啊,我要一心称赞你。我要荣耀你的名,直到永远。”(诗86:11-12)

与神心意相通,我们也变得仁慈,甚至可以仁慈对待反对的人。诗篇要求敌人为他们的仇恨感到“羞愧”(诗86:17),但是在这样做的时候,他们会“要来敬拜”神(诗86:9),并进入神的恩典。恩典意味着怜悯不仅给了我们,而且还给了我们的敌人——为了在敌人面前彰显神的能力,使他的名得荣耀(诗86:9)。

God’s grace in the midst of judgment (Psalm 86)

Bible Commentary / Produced by TOW Project

Although God’s judgment takes the fore in Book 3 of the Psalms, we also find God’s grace. “Be gracious to me, O Lord,” Psalm 86 implores, “for you, O Lord are good and forgiving, abounding in steadfast love to all who call on you” (Ps. 86:2, 5). The psalm comes from someone feeling worn down by opposition from those more powerful. “I am poor and needy” (Ps. 86:1). “The insolent rise up against me; a band of ruffians seeks my life” (Ps. 86:14). “Those who hate me” are a constant threat (Ps. 86:17).  “Save the child of your serving girl” (Ps. 86:16b).

The psalm does not claim righteousness, but rejoices that God is “slow to anger” (Ps. 86:15). It asks only for God’s grace. “Turn to me and be gracious to me” (Ps. 86:16a). “In the day of my trouble I call on you, for you will answer me” (Ps. 86:7).

At times all of us face opposition at work. Sometimes it is very directly personal and dangerous. We may be oppressed by others, or we may be at fault, or a mixture of both. We may feel unworthy in our work, unloved in our relationships, incapable of changing either our circumstances or ourselves. No matter the source of opposition to us—even if we have seen the enemy and it is us—we can ask for God’s grace to save us. God’s grace cuts through the ambiguity that surrounds our life and work and shows us a sign of God’s favor (Ps 86:17) beyond what we deserve.

Of course, God does not save anyone—neither ourselves or our enemies—for the purpose of inflicting further harm. With grace comes reform. “Teach me your way, O Lord, that I may walk in your truth” (Ps. 86:11a). The psalmist’s petition is for him- or herself, but accepting God’s grace means turning ourselves to him ahead of ourselves. “Give me an undivided heart to revere your name. I give thanks to you O Lord my God, with my whole heart” (Ps. 86:11-12).

With God’s heart, we also become merciful, even to those who oppose us. The psalm asks that opponents “be put to shame” (Ps. 86:17) for their hatred, but that in doing so they will “come and bow down before you, O Lord” (Ps. 86:9) and so also come into God’s grace. Grace means mercy not only for us, but also for our opponents, to show God’s power to his enemies so that his name is glorified (Ps. 86:9).