在工作中产生真正的价值(诗127)

圣经注释 / 工作神学项目出品

诗篇107讨论大规模经济活动,而诗篇127和128则论到家庭——工业革命前经济生产的基本单位。诗篇127一开始就提醒人们,所有好的工作都是扎根于神的。

除非耶和华建造房屋,否则那些建造房子的人也会徒劳无功。除非耶和华守城,否则守卫的放哨也是徒劳无功。你们清晨早起,夜晚安歇,吃劳碌得来的饭,本是枉然。惟有耶和华所亲爱的。必叫他安然睡觉。(诗篇127:1-2)

“房屋”和“城市”都是指同一件事,其目的都是为了给其中的居民提供货物和安全。最终,所有的经济活动都是为了使家庭能够茁壮成长。这段经文显然断言,单靠勤劳是不够的(对比箴言26:13-16中的懒惰)。除了表面所见以外,这首诗还有更深层的意义。努力工作可以创造一个大而美丽的房子,但不能创造一个幸福的家庭。一个热心的企业家可以创造一个成功的企业,但工作本身不能创造一个美好的生活。只有神才能赋予这一切宝贵的价值。

在今天的大多数经济体中,农业以外的工作通常不是在家庭中进行,而是在较大的组织中进行。但是,诗篇127的信息不仅适用于古代家庭,也一样适用于今天的制度化工作场所。要繁荣发展,每一个工作场所都必须产生有价值的东西。只投入时间是不够的——工作必须产生其他人需要的商品或服务。

在这方面,基督徒或许能够赋予工作一些特别的意义。在每一个工作场所都有一种诱惑,那就是制造能够快速赚钱、但没有任何持久价值的商品。企业可以在短期内通过削减材料的质量来提高利润。销售人员可能会利用买家的不熟悉来销售可疑的产品和配件。教育机构可以提供吸引学生、但不能开发长期能力的课程。如此等等。我们越了解使用我们商品和服务的人的真正需求,我们就越能为我们商品的真正价值做出贡献,也越能帮助我们的工作机构抵制这些诱惑。最终,真正的价值在于神,所以我们可能有着独特的能力来担当这个角色。但我们必须谦卑、不断的倾听神的带领。到处大声地散布我们不成熟的意见是毫无成效的,而且人们会觉得厌烦,不会再聆听。

Producing true value at work (Psalms 127)

Bible Commentary / Produced by TOW Project

As Psalm 107 speaks of large-scale economic activity, so Psalms 127 and 128 speak of the household, the basic unit of economic production until the time of the Industrial Revolution. Psalm 127 begins with a reminder that all good work is grounded in God.

Unless the Lord builds the house, those who build it labor in vain. Unless the Lord guards the city, the guard keeps watch in vain. It is in vain that you rise up early and go late to rest, eating the bread of anxious toil; for he gives sleep to his beloved. (Psalm 127:1–2)

Both the “house” and the “city” refer to the same thing, the goal of providing goods and security for the residents. Ultimately, all economic activity is aimed at enabling households to thrive. The passage obviously asserts that diligent labor alone is not enough (compare Proverbs 26:13–16, on laziness). Beyond the obvious point, there is a deeper meaning. Hard work can produce a large and beautiful house, but it cannot create a happy home. A zealous entrepreneur can create a successful business but cannot by work alone create a good life. Only God can make it all worthwhile.

Bonnie Wurzbacher on Bringing Meaning to Work (Click to watch)

In most economies today, work other than farming is not usually performed in households, but in larger organizations. But the message of Psalm 127 applies to today’s institutionalized workplaces much as it does to ancient households. To thrive, every place of work must produce something of value. Putting in hours is not enough—the work has to result in goods or services that others need.

Believers may be able to offer something of special significance in this regard. In every workplace there is a temptation to produce items that can turn a quick buck, but don’t offer any lasting value. Businesses can increase profits—in the short term—by cutting the quality of materials. Sales people may be able to take advantage of buyers’ unfamiliarity to sell dubious products and accessories. Educational institutions can offer classes that attract students without developing lasting capabilities. And so on. The more we understand the genuine needs of the people who use our goods and services, and the more we contribute to the true value of what we produce, the more we can help our work institutions resist these temptations. Because true worth is ultimately grounded in God, we may have a unique ability to serve this role. But it must be done with humility and constant listening. It will accomplish nothing to loudly throw around our half-baked opinions until people are sick of hearing from us.