卷1(诗1-41)

圣经注释 / 工作神学项目出品

诗篇第一卷主要由大卫从个人角度讲说,而非从以色列国家的角度来叙述。它们涉及大卫的私事,适用于我们自己在工作中遇到的情况。后面几卷则更多涉及生活和工作的社会和社区层面。

 

工作中的个人诚信(诗1)

回到目录 回到目录

开篇两首诗建立了贯穿整个诗篇的主题。诗篇1描述了人的正直,指出这就是每个读者应有的生活。对于我们对工作和对成功的渴望,这首诗特别有用。它说义人“要像一棵树栽在溪水旁,按時候结果子,叶子也不枯干。 凡他所做的尽都順利。“( 诗篇1:3 )。符合道德的工作往往会带来繁荣。这是一个一般的事实,不是一个绝对的定律。有时候,由于按道德行事,人们反而在工作场合或其他地方经受苦难。但是,敬畏神、诚信的人还是更可能获得好的结果。这既是因为他们明智地生活,也因为神的祝福临在他们身上。

 

顺服神(诗2)

回到目录 回到目录

诗篇2着重于大卫的家室。神拣选了这个王国及其神殿——锡安,做为神国的焦点。有一天,外邦人或者要降服于它,或者将面对神的愤怒。因此,诗篇2:11-12 说:“当存畏惧事奉耶和华,又当存战兢而快乐。当以嘴亲子,恐怕他发怒,你们便在道中灭亡,因为他的怒气快要发作。凡投靠他的,都是有福的。”耶稣成就了神对大卫的应许。对我们来说,教训就是必须重视基督的国度超过其他所有事。良好的职业道德有价值,但我们不能把繁荣作为我们的优先考虑的事情。我们不能服事神又服事玛门( 马太福音6:24 )。

 

敌对者(诗4,6,7,17)

回到目录 回到目录

在诗篇1和2之后,卷1中有许多大卫向神抱怨敌人的诗篇。这些诗篇对于今天的读者来说可能很困难,因为大卫有时听起来复仇心很强。但我们不应该错过这样一个事实:当敌人围绕他时,他就把问题交给神。他不妄自行事。

这些诗篇也可以用于工作的场合。在工作中经常会出现冲突和对抗,有时这些斗争可能很剧烈。职场争斗会导致抑郁和失眠。诗篇4:8 是关于个人仇敌的祷告,它说:“我必安然躺下睡觉,因为独有你-耶和华使我安然居住。”当我们把一件事交给神时,我们可以有平安。然而,当我们正好处在这样的斗争中时,我们会觉得求助祷告似乎是徒劳。但是神垂听并回应我们的祷告:“你们一切作孽的人,离开我吧!因为耶和华听了我哀哭的声音。”(诗篇6:8)。另一方面,在这样的冲突中,我们必须小心保持我们的正直品格。如果我们在工作中卑鄙行事、不诚实或不守道德,那么我们呼求神也没有用。“耶和华-我的上帝啊,我若行了这事,若有罪孽在我手里,我若以恶报那与我交好的人……就任凭仇敌追赶我,直到追上,……使我的荣耀归于灰尘。”(诗7:3-5)。诗17:3 表达了同样的意思。

权柄(诗8)

回到目录 回到目录

诗篇8是卷1中的例外,因为它不专属于大卫。它关心的是所有人类的权柄,不仅是大卫的统治。虽然神创造了整个宇宙(诗8:1-3),但他选择人来统治被造物(诗8:5-8)。这是一个很高的呼召。“你叫他比天使微小一点,并赐他荣耀尊贵为冠冕。你派他管理你手所造的,使万物都服在他的脚下。”(诗8:5-6)。当我们行使权力、领导他人时,我们是做为神的代表在掌权。我们的管理不能是专断的或自利的,而是要服务于神的旨意。其中最主要的是照顾地球的生物(诗8:7-8),保护疲乏的和软弱的,特别是儿童(诗8:2)。

如果我们在工作中获得权力,可能很容易将我们的地位视为对我们辛勤工作或智慧的奖赏,并利用我们的地位为自己渔利。但是诗篇8提醒我们,权力不是奖赏,而是义务。我们应该对上级、董事会、受托人、选民或任何我们所服务的、地上的治理权负责,甚至仅仅这样还不够——我们也必须对神负责。例如在考虑能源政策时,政治领导人有责任留意目前最佳的环境科学和经济科学建议,无论它们是否符合当前的政治风向。同样,商业领袖也应注意预防他们的产品和服务对儿童可能造成的伤害——无论是身体上、精神上、文化上还是精神上的。这不仅适用于玩具、电影、电视和食品,也适用于零售、运输、电信和金融服务等。

商业道德(诗15, 24, 34)

回到目录 回到目录

诗人用了许多篇幅讨论职业道德。诗篇15:1和5说:“耶和华啊,谁能寄居你的帐幕?谁能住在你的圣山?⋯⋯他不放债取利,不受贿赂以害无辜。 行这些事的人必永不动摇。”如果我们同意在当代的处境下允许谋取利润(“圣经禁止取利吗?”www.theologyofwork.org,译者注:只有英文),这首诗篇的应用将是——我们不能在工作场所中利用别人。使不良借贷人陷入更大债务的贷款,或者信用卡公司故意偷偷提高费用和利率,欺骗不知情的持卡人。从更广泛的意义上说,任何针对弱势(或“无辜”)群体并使他们处境恶化的产品或服务,都违反了诗篇的道德规范。良好的商业道德,以及其他工作领域中的相似标准,要求客户真正可以从商品和服务中受益。

诗篇24:4-5 补充说,上帝接受“手洁心清、不向虚妄、起誓不怀诡诈的人。他必蒙耶和华赐福,又蒙救他的神使他成义。”这里所谓的虚妄指的是伪证。像现代世界一样,在古代经商也很难避免有时陷入诉讼困境。这段经文让我们诚实地作证,不要通过欺骗扭曲正义。当别人不道德的时候,我们的诚实可能会付出代价,诸如在升迁、商业交易、选举、成绩和出版物方面受损失。但从长远来看,与神的祝福和辩白相比,这些挫折是微不足道的(诗24:5)。

诗篇34:12-13同样涉及道德问题:“有何人喜好存活,爱慕长寿,得享美福?就要禁止舌头不出恶言,嘴唇不说诡诈的话。”这句话可以指任何形式的谎言、诽谤或欺诈。这里的“爱慕长寿,得享美福”只是表示,如果你骗人或诽谤他人,你可能会树敌。在极端的情况下,这可能会导致你死于敌手,但即使不是,敌人环绕的生活也不是一种享受。如果你希望长寿,值得信赖的朋友远比不义之财更有益。正直的生活从属世角度看可能代价不菲。在腐败的国家,不行贿的商人或不受贿的公务员或许会没有稳定收入。“义人多有苦难,”就连诗篇也承认。“但耶和华救他脱离这一切,”(诗34:19)。诚实行事可能会、也可能不会带来繁荣,但正直在神眼中本身就是回报。

面对制度压力信靠神(诗20)

回到目录 回到目录

诗篇20教导我们相信神而不是人力,比如军事力量。“有人靠车,有人靠马,但我们要提到耶和华-我们上帝的名。”(诗20:7)。金融资产,不亚于军事资产,可以变成错误相信人力的基础。对此,我们应该记得,在古代世界,只有上层阶级的士兵才会有马和战车。普通士兵会从农民中抽调,充作步兵。一个令人不安的现实是,即使适度的财富和能力也经常吸引我们离开神。

 

神在我们工作的困难中(诗23)

回到目录 回到目录

“耶和华是我的牧者”(诗23:1)。如果我们信靠神,就有安宁,知道神看护我们,就像牧羊人看守羊群一般。这句话提醒我们从神的角度看待我们的工作——工作主要不是满足自我的工具,而是我们参与神在世界的使命的一部分。“他⋯⋯为自己的名引导我走义路”(诗23:3,重点为本注释作者所加)。我们工作是为了荣耀他而不是为了我们自己的荣耀——我们需要不时听到这振聋发聩的提醒。

这样敬虔看待工作的观点通常驱使我们更深进入我们的工作,而不是远离。在诗篇23详细描述了牧人的工作,让我们可以看出这一点。牧羊人在荒野中找水、好草场和路。他们用棍棒击退猎食者,用他们的话语和同在来安慰羊群。诗篇23篇首先准确反映了牧羊人的工作。这赋予了它有意义的精神冥想所必需的现实基础。

尽管我们努力在工作中荣耀神,却并不意味着道路会一帆风顺。我们有时会发现自己行在“死荫的幽谷”(诗23:4)。这可能是失去合同、糟糕的教学任务,或者我们工作中的孤立感和无意义感。或者是长期的斗争,如恶毒的办公室环境或找不到工作。这些都是我们想要避免的事情。但诗篇23篇提醒我们,在任何情况下,神都与我们同在。“我...也不怕遭害,因为你与我同在,”(诗23:4a)。他为我们做的不是假设性的,而是真实有形的。牧羊人有棍和杖;神拥有带领我们平安度过生命中最糟境况所需要的各种工具(诗23:4b)。即使是在有时敌对的世界中,“在我的仇敌面前”,神也会照顾我们(诗23:5)。当事情平顺的时候我们很容易记住这点,但是我们需要在挑战和逆境中记住它。神通过我们生活中的挑战在我们里面动工,虽然我们经常想不到这一点。

诗篇23篇结尾的诗句,提醒我们与神同行最后要到的终点。“我要永远住在耶和华的殿中”(诗23:6b)。如“诗篇127篇”和其他诗歌一样,房屋或家庭不仅是人们吃饭和睡觉的住所,也是基本的工作和经济生产单位。因此,住在耶和华的殿中并不意味着我们可以息了劳苦并得到报酬,坐等老死。相反,它应许我们会找到一个工作和生活都要兴盛的地方。这节经文的前半部分直接告诉我们说,这是对我们现在和永恒生活的应许。“我一生一世必有恩惠慈愛隨著我”(诗23:6)。这样的应许——就是无论我们生活和工作的情况如何,神都将与我们同在、都会带来美好和爱的应许——与我们期盼避开一切可能临到之逆境相比较,是一种更深的安慰。

神在我们工作中的引导(诗25)

回到目录 回到目录

人类生活是一系列的选择,其中许多都涉及到职业。我们应该养成把所有这些决定交给神的习惯。诗篇25:12 教导说:“谁敬畏耶和华?耶和华必指示他当选择的道路。”神如何教导我们该选择的道路?诗篇25篇给出了几种方式,首先是“耶和华啊,求你将你的道指示我。求你以你的真理引导我,教训我”(诗25:4-5)。这就需要我们经常阅读圣经——认识神的道、学习真理的主要途径。一旦我们认识了神的道,我们就需要把它们付诸实践,大多数情况下并不需要神进一步的特别指导。“凡遵守他的约和他法度的人,耶和华都以慈爱诚实待他。”(诗25:10)。他的圣约和命令当然是在圣经里。

诗篇25:7 补充说:“求你不要记念我幼年的罪愆和我的过犯。”承认我们的罪,请求神的怜悯是我们得到祂指引的另一种方式。当我们诚实地对待神和我们自己,坦陈我们罪的时候,神就会顺利地引领我们的心。“赦免我的罪,”“赦免我一切的罪,”诗篇作者如此求告神(诗 25:11, 18)。当我们被上帝宽恕时,它使我们不再自以为义。否则,这将成为神引领我们的强大障碍。同样,在我们与神和人交往中,谦卑能使我们超越阻碍上帝引导的壁垒。“他必按公平引领谦卑人,将他的道教训他们,”诗篇25:9 告诉我们。

“我的眼目时常仰望耶和华,”诗篇继续说( 诗25:15 )。当我们寻找神所关心的事情如正义、信实、和好、平安、信心、盼望和爱(诗篇没有将这些特定的事物命名——他们是圣经其他部分的例子)时,我们就能得到神的指引。“愿纯全、正直保守我”,诗篇25:21说。正直意味着生活在一套连贯一致的价值观中,而不是以诚实和同情来对待我们的家人,却以欺骗和残忍来对待我们的客户或同事。因此,仔细考虑如何在工作中应用我们最高的价值,被证明是神带领的方式,至少在某种程度上,我们的最高价值是由经文和对基督的忠诚所塑造的。

虽然这些指导方法可能看起来很抽象,但是当我们将其用于工作场合时,它们可能非常实用。关键在于我们要在圣经学习、认罪、祷告和道德推理上具体深入。当我们将实际的、具体的工作情况带到神和神的话语中时,我们可能会发现神的回答正是我们需要的具体指引。有关神对我们的职业或在工作上的呼召的指引的更多信息,请参见www.theologyofwork.org上的职业概述中的识别神在某种特定工作的指引”一文(译者注:只有英文)。

Book 1 (Psalms 1–41)

Bible Commentary / Produced by TOW Project

Book 1 consists largely of psalms spoken by David individually, rather than by Israel as a nation. They address matters that concern David, personally, and this makes them applicable to the situations we face at work on our own. Later books bring in the social and communal aspects of life and work.

Personal Integrity in Work (Psalm 1)

Back to Table of Contents

The two opening psalms establish themes that run through the entire Psalter. Psalm 1 describes personal integrity, indicating that this is how every reader should live. It specifically applies this to work and to our desire for success. It says of the righteous, “They are like trees planted by streams of water, which yield their fruit in its season, and their leaves do not wither. In all that they do, they prosper” (Psalms 1:3). Work done ethically tends to prosper. This is a general truth and not an infallible rule. Sometimes people suffer because of acting ethically, at work or elsewhere. But it is still true that people who fear God and have integrity will likely do well. This is both because they live wisely and because God’s blessing is upon them.

Obedience to God (Psalm 2)

Back to Table of Contents

Psalm 2 focuses on the house of David. God has chosen this kingdom and its temple, Zion, to be the focus of the kingdom of God. Someday Gentiles will submit to it or face God’s wrath. Thus, Psalms 2:11–12 says, “Serve the Lord with fear, with trembling, kiss his feet, or he will be angry, and you will perish in the way; for his wrath is quickly kindled. Happy are all who take refuge in him.” Jesus fulfilled the promises to David. For us, the lesson is that we must value Christ’s kingdom above all things. A good work ethic is valuable, but we cannot make prosperity our priority. We cannot serve God and money (Matthew 6:24). 

Foes and opponents (Psalms 4, 6, 7, 17)

Back to Table of Contents

After Psalms 1 and 2, Book 1 has many psalms in which David complains to God about his enemies. These psalms can be difficult for readers today since David sometimes sounds vengeful. But we should not miss the fact that when foes are around him, he commits the problem to God. He does not take matters into his own hands.

These psalms have application to the workplace. Frequently conflicts and rivalries will appear among people on the job, and sometimes these fights can be vicious. Occupational battles can lead to depression and loss of sleep. Psalm 4:8 is a prayer about personal enemies, and it says, “I will both lie down and sleep in peace; for you alone, O Lord, make me lie down in safety.” When we commit a matter to God, we can have tranquility. When we are in the midst of such a battle, however, our prayers for help may seem futile. But God hears and responds: “Depart from me, all you workers of evil, for the Lord has heard the sound of my weeping” (Psalm 6:8). On the other hand, we must be careful to maintain our integrity when in the midst of such conflicts. It will do no good for us to call out to God if we are being mean, dishonest, or unethical on the job. “O Lord my God, if I have done this, if there is wrong in my hands, if I have repaid my ally with harm… then let the enemy pursue and overtake me… and lay my soul in the dust” (Ps. 7:3–5). Psalm 17:3 makes the same point.

Authority (Psalm 8)

Back to Table of Contents

Psalm 8 is an exception in Book 1, as it does not pertain specifically to David. Its concern is with all human authority, not only David’s rule. Although God created the entire universe (Ps. 8:1-3), he chose to appoint human beings to rule over the creation (Ps. 8:5-8). This is a high calling. “You have made them a little lower than God, and crowned them with glory and honor. You have given them dominion over the works of your hands; you have put all things under their feet” (Ps. 8:5-6). When we exercise authority and leadership, we do so as God’s delegates. Our rule cannot be arbitrary or self-serving, but must serve God’s purposes. Chief among these are caring for the creatures of the earth (Ps. 8:7-8) and protecting the weak and vulnerable, especially children (Ps. 8:2).

If we gain authority in work, it is tempting to regard our position as a reward for our hard work or intelligence and to exploit our authority for personal gain. But Psalm 8 reminds us that authority comes not as a reward, but as an obligation. It is right that we should be accountable to superiors, boards of directors, trustees, voters or whatever earthly forms of governance we serve under, but that alone is not sufficient. We must also be accountable to God. Political leaders, for example have a duty to pay attention to the best environmental and economic science available when considering energy policy, whether or not it accords with current political winds. Similarly, business leaders are called to anticipate and prevent possible harm to children —whether physical, mental, cultural, or spiritual—from their products and services. This applies not only to toys, movies, television, and food, but also to retailing, transportation, telecommunications, and financial services, among others.

Business ethics (Psalms 15, 24, 34)

Back to Table of Contents

The Psalter says a good deal about workplace ethics. Psalm 15:1 and 5 say, “O Lord, who may abide in your tent? Who may dwell on your holy hill?…[Those] who do not lend money at interest, and do not take a bribe against the innocent. Those who do these things shall never be moved.” If we allow that interest is not necessarily prohibited in the contemporary context (see “Does the Bible Prohibit Charging Interest?” at www.theologyofwork.org), the application of this Psalm is that we are not to take advantage of others in the workplace. Loans that put distressed borrowers into greater debt would be an example, as would credit cards that intentionally entrap unsavvy cardholders with unexpected fees and interest rate escalations. In an expanded sense, any product or service that targets vulnerable (or “innocent”) people and leaves them worse off is a violation of the Psalter’s ethics. Good business ethics—and its counterparts in other fields of work—requires that customers genuinely benefit from the goods and services offered to them.

Psalm 24:4–5 adds to this that God accepts “Those who have clean hands and pure hearts, who do not lift up their souls to what is false, and do not swear deceitfully. They will receive blessing from the Lord, and vindication from the God of their salvation.” The falsehood described here is perjury. As in the modern world, so also in the ancient world, it was difficult to be involved in business without sometimes getting ensnared in lawsuits. The passage moves us to testify honestly and not pervert justice by fraud. When others are unscrupulous, our honesty might cost in lost promotions, business transactions, elections, grades and publications. But in the long run such setbacks are trivial in comparison to God’s blessing and vindication (Ps. 24:5).

Ethics also comes to the fore in Psalm 34:12–13: “Which of you desires life, and covets many days to enjoy good? Keep your tongue from evil, and your lips from speaking deceit.” This could refer to any kind of deceit, slander or fraud. The reference to “many days to enjoy” simply points out that if you swindle people or slander them, you are likely to create enemies. In extreme cases, this could lead to your death at their hands, but even if not, life surrounded by enemies is not enjoyable. If life is your chief desire, trustworthy friends are far more profitable than ill-gotten gain.  It is possible that a life of integrity will be costly in worldly terms. In a corrupt country, a business person who does not give bribes or a civil servant who does not take them could be unable to make a steady income. “Many are the afflictions of the righteous,” the Psalm acknowledges. “But the Lord rescues them from all,” it adds (Ps. 34:19). Working with integrity may or may not result in prosperity, but integrity in God’s eyes is its own reward. 

Trusting God in the face of institutional pressure (Psalm 20)

Back to Table of Contents

Psalm 20 teaches us to trust God rather than human power, such as military might. “Some take pride in chariots, and some in horses, but our pride is in the name of the Lord our God” (Ps. 20:7). Financial assets, no less than military assets, can be the basis for a false faith in human power. For that matter, we should recall that in the ancient world only the upper class soldiers would have horses and chariots. The ordinary soldiers would be drawn from the peasants and be on foot. It is a disturbing reality that even modest wealth and power often draw us away from God.

God’s presence in our struggles at work (Psalm 23)

Back to Table of Contents

“The Lord is my shepherd” (Psalm 23:1). If we trust God, we have the tranquility of knowing that God watches over us, like a shepherd watching over the sheep. This is a reminder to see our work from God’s perspective—not primarily as an instrument for our gratification, but as our part in God’s mission in the world. “He leads me in the right for his name’s sake” (Ps. 23:3, emphasis added). We work to honor him and not for our own glory—a powerful reminder that we need to hear on a regular basis.

Such a godly perspective on our work generally drives us into our work more deeply, not away from it. In Psalm 23, we see this in the way the narrative of the Psalm is driven by the details of the work of shepherding. Shepherds find water, good grazing and paths in the wilderness. They ward off predators with sticks and staffs, and comfort the sheep with their words and their presence. Psalm 23 is first of all an accurate representation of the shepherd’s work. This gives it the grounding in reality needed to be meaningful as a spiritual meditation.

While we seek to honor God in our work, this does not mean the road will be easy. We sometimes may find ourselves in the “darkest valley” (Ps. 23:4). This could come as the loss of a contract, a teaching assignment that has gone bad, or feelings of isolation and meaninglessness in our work. Or it could come as a longer-term struggle, such as a toxic office environment or inability to find a job. These are things we’d prefer to avoid. But Psalm 23 reminds us that God is near in all circumstances. “I fear no evil for you are with me” (Ps. 23:4a). His work on our behalf is not hypothetical, but tangible and real. A shepherd has a rod and staff, and God has every instrument needed to bring us safely through the worst of life (Ps. 23:4b). God will take care of us even in a sometimes-hostile world, “in the presence of my enemies” (Ps. 23:5). It is easy to remember this when things are calm, but here we are called to remember it in the midst of the challenge and adversity. While we would often rather not think about this, it is through the challenges of our lives that God works out his purposes in us.

Will Messenger: What does calling mean if you hate your job? (Click to listen)

Psalm 23 concludes by reminding us of the destination of our journey with God. “I shall dwell in the house of the Lord forever” (Ps 23:6b). As in Psalm 127 [WGM1] and elsewhere, the house or household is not only a shelter where people eat and sleep, but the basic unit of work and economic production. Thus, dwelling in the house of the Lord does not mean waiting until we die to so that we can cease working and receive our reward. Rather it promises that the time is coming when we will find a place where our work and life can thrive. The first half of the verse tells us directly that this is a promise for our present lives as well as eternity. “Goodness and love will follow me all the days of my life” (Ps. 23:6). The promise that God will be with us, bringing goodness and love in all of the circumstances of our life and work is a deeper kind of comfort than we can ever get from hoping to avoid every adversity that could befall us.

God’s guidance in our work (Psalm 25)

Back to Table of Contents

Human life is a series of choices, and many of these involve vocation. We should develop the habit of taking all such decisions to God. Psalm 25:12 teaches, “Who are they that fear the Lord? He will teach them the way that they should choose.” How does God teach us the way to choose? Psalm 25 notes several ways, beginning with “Make me to know your ways, O Lord. Lead me in your truth, and teach me” (Ps. 25:4-5). This requires reading the Bible regularly, the primary way we get to know God’s ways and learn his truth. Once we know God’s ways, we need to put them into practice without needing special guidance from God in most cases. “The paths of the Lord are steadfast love and faithfulness for those who keep his covenant and decrees” (Ps. 25:10). His covenant and decrees are found, of course, in the Bible.

“Do not remember the sins of my youth or my transgressions,” adds Psalm 25:7. Confessing our sins and asking God’s mercy is another way we receive guidance from God. When we are honest with God—and ourselves—about our sins, it opens the door for God’s guidance in our hearts. “Pardon my guilt,” and “forgive all my sins” the psalm asks (Ps. 25:11, 18). When we are forgiven by God, it frees us to cease trying to justify ourselves, which otherwise is a powerful barrier to God’s guidance. Similarly, humbleness in our dealings with God and people gets us beyond the defensiveness that blocks God’s guidance. “He leads the humble in his way,” Psalm 25:9 informs us.

“My eyes are ever toward the Lord,” continues the psalm (Ps 25:15).We receive God’s guidance when we look for evidence about the things God cares about, such as justice, faithfulness, reconciliation, peace, faith, hope and love. (The psalm does not name these particular items—they are examples from other parts of the Bible.) “May integrity and uprightness preserve me,” says Psalm 25:21. Integrity means living all of life under a coherent set of values, rather than, for example, being honest and compassionate with our families, but deceitful and cruel with our customers or co-workers. Thinking clearly about how to apply our highest values at work thus turns out to be a means of God’s guidance, at least to the degree that our highest values are formed by scripture and faithfulness to Christ.

Although these means of guidance may seem abstract, they can be very practical when we put them to use in workplace situations. The key is to be specific in our Bible study, confession, prayer, and moral reasoning. When we bring our actual, specific work situations to God and God’s word, we may find God answering with the specific guidance we need. For more about God’s guidance in relation to our vocation or calling in work, see “Discerning God’s guidance to a particular kind of work” in Vocation Overview at www.theologyofwork.org.



https://www.theologyofwork.org/